We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't make the same mistake we did” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of H2O Sportz - CLOSED

H2O Sportz
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Don't make the same mistake we did”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We read the poor reviews but rationalized them away as being for "other" tours than the one we were booked on but in hindsight I wish we had gone with another company. We wanted to snorkel and see Whitehaven beach. We went to H2O (not the hotel tour desk) and asked if they had a trip that went snorkeling on Hook Island and to Whitehaven beach. We were told that they went snorkeling near Hook island and went to the beach on the snorkel safari. So, we booked the snorkel safari. When we got on board I asked a crew member whether we went snorkeling first or to the beach and she said they would not being going to the beach. We were in absolute shock as we had specifically asked whether the tour included both before we booked it. I spent the remainder of the snorkel safari trip trying to find a way to get us to Whitehaven beach only to discover that H2O was the only company going to Whitehaven that afternoon. While still on the H2O boat, I called the H2O office and explained the circumstances but they said the trip to Whitehaven was full. When we returned to dock I went to the H2O office and again explained the situation showing them the brochure which said the snorkel safari went to the beach. They responded with indifference and were unwilling to accommodate us in any way. It was a blatant bait and switch tactic and I strongly urge others to avoid this company.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KRCLofCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    4
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“sam was great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

This review is long overdue. We had a great experience getting our PADI certification with Sam at H2O Sportz. We did the pool/classroom portion of our certification in San Francisco, and planned to do the open water portion in the Whitsundays. I had some issues with equalization on the first day, but Sam helped me work through the issues and then helped both my husband and me complete our certification on a tight time schedule. All of the diving instructors and the boat captains that we met at H2O Sportz were great. We hope to dive with them again, especially Sam.

For the Queen!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Went out on the beach safari tour which I think is the best, the tour takes you to hill inlet then to whitehaven beach which alot of the other company's don't, you get to see two of the most spectacular places on earth. Had the best time & got to see whales going there & coming back as well,well worth the price,the crew are fantastic would highly recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank Wirwindz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fantastic day so much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had a 1/2 day trip to a fringe reef snorkeling. Our crew were Nick, Dan and Amanda and they made our trip so much fun. Right from the start with our safety lecture. I have never heard a safety lecture put in such a way before we were all laughing and couldnt wait to get started. These 3 lively young people made what was an incredible experience soooo much fun. Would recommend to anyone. And the snorkeling on the reef was just incredible. Loved the whole adventure.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank donnaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“"Dreams are made of this"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We booked a 1/2 day to Whitehaven Beach with H2O......wanted to see if it is as good as in pictures! We were lucky with weather...sunny and warm and Sea was good so we made good time on journey. First we visited a Beach look-out point and the pictures did not lie......simply amazing!....swirls of vivid turquoise and azure blue seas edged by white sands and green forests.....it was breath-taking!! We then made our way to Whitehaven Beach for swimming...7km of pure white sand....one of the World`s Top 10 beaches. We had quite a laugh posing for photos in our Lycra Stinger Suits.....the height of Fashion!! Crew provided cold drinks and fresh fruit which was refreshing....then we headed home.....LOVED IT!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H2O Sportz also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing