We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a photo!”
Review of Hamilton Island Target Sports - CLOSED

Reviewed January 4, 2013

Husband and son had a great time trying to get a bullseye. They took the full package and used a variety of different guns. Enjoyed the experience.

Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_hiactivities, Division Manager Retail and Activities at Hamilton Island Target Sports, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear on the road

Thank you for your five star rating of Hamilton Island Target Sports. Our state of the art Fuji photo system with the camera mounted directly in front of the big bore gun provides one of the most unique photo opportunities of any activity in Australia. With a new range planned and construction to commence in february we hope to see you back soon to experience an even better Target Sports!

David Boyd
Division Manager Retail and Activities
Hamilton Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 93 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I's experience was great: friendly instructors, good fun, reasonable value, something to remember. But be warned: the shooting range (less a range, more of a shipping container) is out past the airport and is too far to walk (hilly). We got the orange bus, but couldn't get on the first TWO that came as they were full. Fine if you've got a buggy, otherwise an hour activity will fill out the whole afternoon.

Thank EmmaAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_hiactivities, Manager at Hamilton Island Target Sports, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Emma

Thnak you for your positive review of Target Sports. I was sorry to hear about your transport issues and I have discussed with the team on how we can ensure this operates with additional capacity during peak times. We currently have plans to rebuild the range complex which will commence in February 2013. We hope to see you back soon to experience our new facility.

Warm Whitsunday Regards

David Boyd
Divsion Manager Retail and Activities
Hamilton Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I grew up around guns (not from my family, but living on the prairies of Alberta, everyone had a 22). My father in law is a hunter, but our boys have never handled anything beyond their pellet guns (plastic pellets .. Air soft)

So when it rained on our first day, we headed to the range to let the boys try it out (when I mentioned it a month ago, they wouldn't stop asking).

It was a ton of fun and good value. The 99 package allows them to shoot the .22 rifle, a .22 handgun, a glock and a .44 magnum. My wife joined in also.

They loved it. The staff is very attentive, the groups are very small (we had ourselves and an instructor) and made a real effort to interact.

Very enjoyable.

Thank MichaelWeening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Novel experience, good value for money with target sheets to take away and photos provided for small cost. very popular. Great safety precautions and instructors very patient.

Thank owlfancier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_hiactivities, divsion manager at Hamilton Island Target Sports, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Robyn

Thank you for your great 5 star review of Target Sports and I have passed on your great feedback. You may be interested to know that we are rebuilding the facility in February 2013 so it will be even better in 2013. Look foward to seeing return to enjoy an even better Target Sports!

Warm Whitsunday Regards

David Boyd
Divison Manager Business Development
Retail and Activities
Hamilton Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had fun at the shooting range. Instructor was great and we loved getting our photo taken with the big hand gun

Thank robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Island Target Sports also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing