We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gym”

Hamilton Island Sports Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you're looking for ways to exercise, the Hamilton Island Sports Club offers plenty of diverse ways to make up for some holiday indulgence. As well as access to the Sports Club, qualia guests have exclusive access to qualia's own fitness centre.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great gym”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Pros:
- If you are into proper strength training, this gym has the best equipment I've seen for a holiday place: dumbbell rack, with maximum to FIFTY (50kg), squat bar, bench press, cable crossover machines, enough barbell plates (15, 20kg) to get a serious workout
- About 15 or so treadmills, about 20 bikes. The area is massive. As other posters have said this is undergoing renovation. They have decided to replace all the squash courts with a proper gym.
- It is apparent they do a Bodypump style class in the mirrored area
- From what I've seen, the tennis courts are very well maintained. 4 grass courts I think.

Cons:
- if you like your squash, they don't do squash anymore. All three squash courts replaced by a gym.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“renovations in progress”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

staff are lovely however they are obviously under a massive renovation from our last visit. buggy parks out the front are not defined so now guests are parking everywhere which is problematic .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Club”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Weight area, classes like yoga, Cardio machines and tennis and basketball also. Nice staff. Maybe the weight area could be a bit bigger and offer some towel service (don't everybody bring their own towel)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carlosgoseguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great day out on the Catamaran”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Having never sailed before, decided to try this. First timers must take the lessons (and really, I'd recommend it because I'm not sure how you could figure it on your own!). I think it was about $20 each for a quick lesson on the beach, and then you're paired up and off you go, out to sea.
Instructor was really helpful. And for those of you afraid of capsizing... he does zip around to all the participants in a boat to check on you, which is nice.
Cheap, and a fun way to release your adventurous side!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank j_girl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much on offer!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved the Aqua classes offed at the Reef View Pool. I also did a Pump class while I was there. All the staff are very motivating and packed with energy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamilton Island Sports Club also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Hamilton Island Sports Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing