We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Meal on the Island”
Review of Marina Tavern

Marina Tavern
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The popular Marina Tavern is an ideal spot for a laid-back meal or drinks. What you'll love about the Marina Tavern: - A choice of indoor or outdoor deck seating. - Great spot overlooking the Hamilton Island Marina. - Laid-back, relaxed atmosphere that's perfect for families or groups. - Generous, pub-style meals - including steaks, schnitzel and fresh salads.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Meal on the Island”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had our first meal here after a long days flight. Was nice and relaxing, typical bar meal. Had the Chicken parmigiana which was nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewdropinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    374
    173
    42
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from Hamilton Island. We had some delightful visits to the Marina Tavern. Some of the previous comments are a little harsh and the thing to remember is that this a pub. It is not fine dining. It is not a resort, it is a pub and as a pub it is a good one. Meals could be considered a bit pricey but that is the same for the entire island. The quality and quantity of the food is excellent and consistent. It has a great TAB and pokie room upstairs and a fantastic balcony to watch the marina from. Overall 9 out of 10

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dippertydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Rough”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a rough, horrible 'pub' wiyh surly staff who aggressively ID'd my kids although they were accompanied by ourselves. I understand that laws must be adhered to but the manner in which it was done was unacceptable. By the way the kids are 18, 19 and 21.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SM123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great pub food here”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday at Hamilton Island and had a couple of meals at Marina Tavern. We were very happy with the service and standard of the food and was tempted by the delicious rump steak with mushroom sauce for $29, which for memory was the highest prices for a meal, when we saw other customers ordering it. The steak was cooked just as we had asked for and came with chips, salad and nice mushroom sauce. All the other meals coming out looked tempting and nicely presented from burgers, seafood or schnitzels at this eatery and were reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4happy_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fab food..fab view”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had lunch here with our teens. Food presentation was lovely & were in big portions... Benefiting big appetites of teens. Naturally a bit dear on the price side... But that is the case with any Hamilton island eateries. With such big portions one cant complain. Fabulous view of marina. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 32neneness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Tavern also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Marina Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing