We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great all-round place to have a drink and/or eat with a group”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Tavern

Marina Tavern
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: The popular Marina Tavern is an ideal spot for a laid-back meal or drinks. What you'll love about the Marina Tavern: - A choice of indoor or outdoor deck seating. - Great spot overlooking the Hamilton Island Marina. - Laid-back, relaxed atmosphere that's perfect for families or groups. - Generous, pub-style meals - including steaks, schnitzel and fresh salads.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great all-round place to have a drink and/or eat with a group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Easy to get seats there and pretty good menu. Order at the bar, with buzzer for pick-up alert. Good views of marina and central to goings-on around the marina area. Watch out for the kamikaze birds, tho!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank nswperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    350
    163
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food at the Taver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Reasonable priced great food at the tavern good atmoshpere. Only the Brids want to invade the place, so help the busy staff by taking your finished plate back to the bistro.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank timeoff621209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely view on a still night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Great location, up high looking over the marina, which was lovely on the still night that we were there. Bit of a local pub/sports club atmosphere, due the fact perhaps that we were there on a Friday night and several different sports were showing all at once on different screens. Out on the front balcony we felt removed from that.

Limited menu of snitzels, steak, pasta, burgers etc. also lamb cutlets which were very good. Good value for the island I thought and I would return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank est_888_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best value for food on the island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The food here is typical pub style, well prepared and tasty. Ambience is mixed with several big screen TVs showing sports channels - but all different ones so the noise was a factor. Of all the restaurants on the island, we ate here the most. For more upmarket, go to Mariners.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lotuseaters42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good quality tavern food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

The service was very friendly on the two occasions my family and I had dinner at the tavern. The steak was excellent, a little over cooked for my liking (ordered medium rare, came out medium - not a huge deal). All the family were happy with the quality of the food. It's good quality tavern food. As per the Island, everything is a bit pricey, but that's what you get when you stay on an island and they have to fly everything in. They have no kids menu which is disappointing, so we had to order off the snacks menu. I'm not a fan of the kids eating just deep fried stuff, but it was on a limited basis. However, providing the little one with some real food options would be a good improvement.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Tavern also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Marina Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing