We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adventurious but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bommie

Bommie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $69
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the Hamilton Island Yacht Club, the award-winning Bommie is one of the most superb places to eat on the island. Bommie takes its name from the Aboriginal word 'bombora' - which refers to the shallow, isolated and colourful reef patches found in the waters surrounding Hamilton Island.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Adventurious but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Lovely setting with the full moon over the marina and the water between the Yacht Club and the coast. The menu contains familiar lines presented in refreshingly innovative ways. The scollops were interesting but not quite hot enough; the requested salad entre perfect; the steak expertly cooked to order ('well done'). The 'corn' veggie main looked great but lacked flavour variations. The bread though was sensational! We enjoyed the wine, the place, great service but felt the food was not quite there yet. But maybe we chose inappropriately.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lu888ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    103
    72
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hongkong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good service, great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner here the other night and when our waitress noticed that there was a mistake with my meal, she quickly rectified the situation by changing my meal to the proper one and giving me a small appetizer plate while waiting.. Great service recovery!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ching62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle,
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

For a very classy fine dining experience you cannot go past this restaurant .The atmosphere was wonderful. Service outstanding. The food is brilliantly presented and extremely palatable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlynNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Simply magnificent - decadent food, great service, the views, the fireworks (well, we got lucky with that!).

We will be back if only for the White Chocolate desert - which - you as the waitress insisted - must NOT share or you will start a war with your partner!!

Best meal on the Island.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you want to experience the best of the best - then Bommies is for you. Absolutely beautiful. The taste, the art on the plate, the service. It doesn't matter what you order, it will be a taste sensation. This is not a restaurant that children can attend, but having a child free restaurant adds to the ambience. Kids would hate it anyway! It is not cheap, in fact it is very expensive. It is a one off, memorable experience that you just have to do while holidaying on Hamo. Organise a babysitter, put on some nice clothes and have a wonderful night. Oh and book early - we had to wait five nights before we could get a reservation.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bommie also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Bommie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing