We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular view , disappointing snacks menu”
Review of Bommie

Bommie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $69
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the Hamilton Island Yacht Club, the award-winning Bommie is one of the most superb places to eat on the island. Bommie takes its name from the Aboriginal word 'bombora' - which refers to the shallow, isolated and colourful reef patches found in the waters surrounding Hamilton Island.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular view , disappointing snacks menu”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

No-one can deny the location, view and architecture. Drinks are priced as you might expect and the service is very good. From previous visits it was disappointing to see that the snack menu has become quite 'posh' and expensive. The light snack menu previously had a Bommie Burger and simple kebabs and cheese platter options which are not available anymore. Ill go back if not just for cold one and the view in the late afternoon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LSL_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    107
    74
    21
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location and experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is an amazing building, with amazing views and amazing food. I know, that's a lot of amazings... We had a wonderful dinner for two. They have the best wine list on the island too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but not wow”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

If you're up for a fine dining experience in an island setting, this is for you. Restaurant was nice but not amazing. We preferred the sunset drinks on the yacht club deck outside Bommie that run in the late afternoon. Beautiful as the sun goes down. Bommie was a bit ho-hum for me but a lovely experience all the same.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mlmgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwekwe, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Evening!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a lovely, elegant evening with terrific attentive service and stunning food paired with a delicious wine. If you are looking for a fine dining experience you cannot go past Bommie Restaurant.

After ordering our wine we were presented amuse-bouche - a tantalising taste of the Whitsunday's. A short wait later our mains of pork rib on the bone and the trio of beef were delivered - both delicious and perfectly sized portions. We also ordered a side of broccolini with burnt butter, pine nut, sage and lemon.

A decaf cappuccino served with petit four compliments of the chef finished the meal perfectly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Over-priced, unexciting food”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I was unable to eat my seafood risotto as it had sandy clams in it and the first feeling of grit between my teeth put me on edge. it was also very fishy-tasting. VERY pricey but a nice property.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank amberlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bommie also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Bommie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing