We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only decent restaurant on the island”
Review of Romanos

Romanos
Price range: $28 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Romano's is positioned over the waters of the Hamilton Island Marina and offers fantastic Italian fare and a fresh seafood menu that changes daily. 'Waterfront Italian'
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
249 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The only decent restaurant on the island”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's obscenely expensive, like everything else on Hamilton Island, but at least the food is good, and it's not a trivial thing in this resort. Service was charming and excellent (thanks, Sophie!) and the view of the harbor is gorgeous

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABD119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    279
    154
    46
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Restauarant To Visit”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have visited Hamilton Island 4 times now and each time Romanos has been a resturant to return to. We have just spent another holiday to the Whitsundays visited Romanos twice, both times again were just as good as the first time we went there, although the staff ave changed each time we visit the island again this time again we found the staff to be just as friendly, classy and they laughed with us throughout the evening. They made us both feel that we could eat there every night whilst we were on the island and still be given the same great service. Well done to the staff, they did a great job. The food was very yummy, you couldn't fault it. They must have one good chef there. Excellent food, Excellent service. The Atmosphere, well if you get down stairs by the water, its beautiful. We sat upstairs,inside the last visit as there was a function or two on downstairs, it was still pleasant, but I would be asking for downstairs by the water. The tables have white table cloths, all table service with a smile or two and all I can say is give it ago, you will not regret it, one to remember. Thankyou again to all you wonderful staff, you do a great job and look forward to returning again one day. Kaylene and Alan

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Italian on the Marina”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Really nice restaurant, They were fully booked out and we still had our food in a timely fashion. Lovely, simple pastas - as they should be!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mandiimandii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

As you'll discover on Hamilton Island, dining options are (a) limited and (b) over-priced. We ate at Romano's once and found it to be very tasty - and very reasonably priced for the quality - so we went back again the following night. Both times we had delicious Italian food served by an attentive wait staff. I would recommend the mushroom gnocchi - I loved it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a lovely meal at Romanos and I would highly recommend it. The food was high quality Italian such as carpaccio, stuffed zucchini flowers, a delicious pasta marinara and beautifully cooked fresh fish. The cocktails were a nice Italian variation of the usual lists and the one with lychee was divine! The waitresses were very attentive, friendly and professional. We would definitely return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldtapestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romanos also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Romanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing