We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of Sails

Sails
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sails Steak and Seafood Grill overlooks Catseye Beach - meaning breakfast, lunch and dinner are served with very pleasant views. What you'll love about Sails Steak and Seafood Grill: - Sample some of Australia's best seafood and prime beef, cooked to perfection, in a spectacular poolside setting. - Both the lunch and dinner menus include a selection of delicious seafood. - The generous buffet breakfast - which is offered daily. - With a relaxed, tranquil vibe, Sails Steak and Seafood Grill is perfect for families or groups of friends. - If you're staying at the Reef View Hotel, Palm Bungalows, or any holiday home booked through Hamilton Island Holiday Homes, you can also take advantage of our Kids Stay & Eat Free offer - where children up to 12 years can eat free when dining with their parents, and when they choose an item from the kids' menu.
Strathdickie, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“beautiful”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

great food, great portions, service great, great views, variety of food great. very relaxing. Made feel very welcome, nothing was a problem with the staff, whatever request that was put to them was dealt with quickly and with a smile

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ma-ree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    335
    279
    108
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aus
Level Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loud, bistro setting, too many kids”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Kids eat free here, so there is a lot of families. Food is quick and nice, don't expect too much. You order your own meals and buy drinks from a different area. Wouldn't go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Straight forward meals in paradise”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you have a simple palate, this is the place for you - steaks, pasta, and a buffet for the kids. Good quality food. We ate here most nights. Also a good place if you're in a large group as we were for our wedding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the money you pay...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We were really disappointed with Sails. It came with big promise (as it is supposedly the replacement for the old steak restaurant) but was very poor. All 4 steaks that we ordered were very chewy and almost indelible. To top this off with a couple of share entrees (ribs were good) and a bottle of wine it cost us $80 per head...

Not very good when it is pub style (no real table service - pay and order at counter and get your own water) and we could have gone over to Bommie and just had an exceptional steak and wine for the same price!

Not worth your time when there are so many better restraunts on the island (see: Coca Chu [cheaper than sails and much better food], Bommie, Beach Club, Manta Ray, Mariners)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisjones19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Steak was over cooked”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We ate here 2 times and each time my steak was over cooked. I ordered a medium rare fillet but got well done, which is very annoying especially when you are paying $42!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank angie333pangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails also viewed

Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Sails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing