We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss seeing the feeding”

Daydream Island Living Reef
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.64*
and up
Whitsunday Islands Hopper Pass
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daydream Island’s amazing Living Reef is a must see on the island. Located at the entrance to the resort, it is one of the world’s largest man-made living coral reef lagoons and features more than 80 species of marine fish and 50 species of coral. This microcosm of the Great Barrier Reef continues to capture the imagination of tourists young and old; with guests having the opportunity to hand feed resident stingrays, sharks and barramundi.
North Lakes, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Don't miss seeing the feeding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Informative and seeing the sting rays feeding was the high light fr me. Plenty of colourful fish and some coral.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brungford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    81
    32
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great - kids and adults loved the daily shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The staff were great, very informative talks and hands on shows kids can be part of - loved the rays - such characters !

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank getawayn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nothing is for free on Daydream - Reef overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Even though I spent over £3,000 for a week on Daydream Island, each day we witnessed a small group of paying customers who paid a significant amount to be closer to the fish. Rip off!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rikuwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Living Reef....WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My 10yr old and even my jaded 13yr old enjoyed a fish feeding tour. The staff are friendly and helpful and are willing to answer any question regarding the reef life. Would recommend this as a must see and do experience while visiting the island :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not every day you can pat a sting-ray!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Such an amazing & informative way to get to know the animals on the Barrier Reef.

We did a guided tour on Daydream with Damien - he was friendly yet professional. He took us around the whole Living Reef and explained the different creatures & then pulled out a reef shark for us to pat, amazing.

We then went and fed the sting-rays, and he went to a great deal of effort to get our kids (aged 3 & 4) to relax enough so they weren't scared, something we really appreciated as parents. The kids loved it, tho they were a bit scared.

It seemed very well-run, with conservation in mind rather than a circus for tourists.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inez_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daydream Island Living Reef also viewed

Whitsunday Island, Whitsunday Islands
Whitsunday Island, Whitsunday Islands
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Daydream Island Living Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing