We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great for a conference”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I recently attended a conference on Daydream Island. The Island is very pretty & in a beautiful location. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful & the food was excellent. Whilst some of the guest rooms would benefit from an update & modernization of technology (ie: modern TV's, WiFi access in all the buildings), the island's landscape & outdoor vista's made up for what was lacking indoors. Visited the spa for a treatment & massage & this was the highlight for me. The spa staff provided a fabulous service & it is an absolutely gorgeous facility.
Would definitely recommend a visit & stay.
Happy conference delegate.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    616
    384
    234
    204
See reviews for
698
780
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently organised a Conference at this venue and was absolutely delighted at the service of the staff, the attention to detail across the property and the stunning location. Whilst it's not the homogenous sterile venue, it's colourful, relaxed and well maintained. It provided a stunning backdrop for the conference and delegates were all very happy. Wi-fi was challenging for delegates but with enough preparation you can work around that. Very happy.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinklify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend at Daydream, we stayed in a garden balcony room which had direct access to the pools, just my partner, my almost 2 year old and I.
I had been to daydream before 5 years ago on a day trip and must say I remember thinking then it was a bit dated, and unfortunately the resort still is, the rooms need a refurb, but in the current financial climate and the fact I read the place is for sale explains why it's looking a bit tired, that said the grounds are maintained to a fantastic standard and the gardens are stunning, the place just needs new decor and furniture!
The living reef is stunning and my little girl loved seeing Nemo everytime we walked by, the beaches are amazing and the weather was great.
We enjoyed the breakfast each morning and couldn't fault it. We dined in Mermaids one night and the food was 5 star. Was not keen on The Fishbowl restaurant, it's horrible design to sit in and scary fake pirates everywhere, no need!
The pool bar Splashes was super busy on the Saturday during the day, it was a bit gross with heaps of blokes standing in it getting drunk and smoking, surely they should ban smoking in the pool! Gross.
We loved the wild fish feed and the movie night under the stars.
My 2 year old had such a great time and I think all kids would, that said you would need a fair bit of coin on you if you took a family of 5, we were watching our $$$ and still spent about $200 a day and that's with out any trips, just a couple of drinks and food.
Maybe they should look at getting a some all inclusive package going?
Any way if the food was a touch better and the place had some $$$ spent on it, it will be world class and we will go back!

Room Tip: Coral garden room was great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Food. It's what people look forward to and talk about on holidays. It's what people ask about when you get home. People plan the country, city, town and the hotel based on food and the proximity to good food.
As a resort island, there are no options other than what the hotel decides to dish up. It's time to sack all the kitchen staff, look into new suppliers and methods of obtaining fresh supplies and a complete review of the menu.
Those creating the menu have no idea how to cook for those with special requirements. I'm not talking about anything extreme, even simple things like lactose free, gluten free or just vegetarian seems to elude the chefs of daydream.
Breakfast - no cheeses. The cook would make sunny side up (only) but not cook them properly so some of the whites were still clear - very dangerous on an island with no doctor!
The boiled eggs are pot luck - about half are not hard boiled and you'll get an unpalatable in-between instead.
The fruits were often off. A selection of fruits (tinned) would be rehashed and put out meal after meal and day after day. Each day something new was rancid. The first day it was the apricots and berries, the next it was the pears and so on. Maybe they should put less out and top up fresh if the need but always bring out fresh produce each day - no rehashing.
I'm not sure the chefs properly date mark each pot, bowl and container in the kitchen.

No Room Service - and this is meant to be 4.5 stars??

Awful coffee - again 4.5 stars and poor coffee? Those auto machines are hideous.

At Mermaids there were lots of staff but very little service...they seemed more interested in chatting than serving.

Massively, rediculously and incredibly overpriced. With no where to go I guess they figure they've got you so you're forced to eat the bad food. If your vegetarian you still have to pay the $49 buffet fee but you can only find 2 out of the 25 items that you can eat!

The resort is great but is massively let down by the food. If they can fix that, it's a winner.

Room Tip: Garden suit with balcony was great. No room service. I did not try the day spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed there with my partner for the one night. I must say the room was ordinary and outdated... There was a off putting smell as we walked into the room. You can tell the beds were very cheap as they were hard as nails - The rooms need to be refurbished in my opinion. The staff were lovely and nothing was a problem.

It is also quiet noisy. If your looking for peace and tranquility -I wouldn't suggest this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronaele1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daydream Island hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were at loose ends in Airlie Beach, and one of the staff on our boat extolled this place, so we got a one night stay before flying back to Sydney. The setting is wonderful; there is a reef right off the point, and a man made reef cuts through the resort. You can sit next to it and watch the rays and the sharks and everything else to your hearts content. They feed the rays several times a day, and kids can take a turn petting them and feeding them. Several lovely pools, one with a swim up bar(which was the reason our source liked this place). The staff was great, especially the water sports guys. Rooms were fine, beds comfortable, and we had an ocean view without the price. We ate at Mermaids, which was good for one night, although I suspect I'd get tired of the food if I stayed longer than a few days. All in all, a very nice place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: We actually went on standby , and our room was fine. Very large, ocean view, and Wallaby view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardengoddess54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly:
Good : It's the Whitsundays, the staff, the rain forest walk.
Bad : The rooms, esp bedding and towels and the furnishings.
Ugly : The Kim il-Sung / Cell block "H" corridors

The repulsive : The stench of sewage at about 4:00am (Both nights we stayed).

The wacko : It was raining and a bit cool so we went to the main bar and the (wonderful) staff organised an impromptu trivia competition. As there was little else to do we thought ok, then the killer blow - it was $10 (not sure each or per team), the first prize was some cheap plonk. Not even a fat man in Coolum would stoop that low.

We pre-paid 3 nights and tried within 30 mins to cancel, unfortunately we could only get out of the last day, they obviously a highly refined cancellation policy - for good reason. When the boat took us back to the mainland it was like Escape from Alcatraz !

Is this the worst resort in Australia - probably.

PS We were advised to book this 'idyllic' resort by Airlie Beach Tourism, being new to the area we took their advice - be warned if you do the same.

Stayed Dec 2013.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
6.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
261 reviews
11.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,369 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
11.1 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
556 reviews
7.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Property: Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing