We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average and too expensive for an Island resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed 2 nights there as a break in our travels, to rest, and a good spot in the Whitsundays islands
Of course, you have the minimum requirements you can expect from this kind of island resort : big swimming pools, beautiful beaches, included buffet breakfast, spacious, nice and clean room
But as said, this is the minimum anyone can expect when you pay this price.
Yes we had some rest and we enjoyed our stay but we were disappointed by the way this hotel is working :
- once you’re there, you have only the hotel area, no others stores, restaurants or bars ; all are part of the hotel so you pay everything outside of the room rate. And really, we didn’t find this method fair as the price was high
- free wifi only in the lobby and they told me at the reception that it’s a chance in Australia which I know now it’s false ! You have a lot of places with free wifi everywhere not only in the lobby (you can imagine with the size of the hotel going in the lobby to have wifi !)
- we asked for 2 photocopies and we had to pay for !!! 1$ ! And when I asked why they told « we already offer free wifi », is it a serious customer oriented answer ? (I work with customers every day and I don’t answer that way). And for 2 copies, is this hotel has some money issues ?
- You have this free outside movie every night which is nice, but they don’t even offer a drink, and they do popcorn for 5$ (could it be a free tea area close !)
- You have to pay for almost any activities you want to do
- We tested the seafood buffet. It was great but really expensive (70$ per person). We had better seafood experience in Asia or the Caribbeans.
If the hotel was having an « all inclusive » option, we would had taken it but not at all. So at the end, a weekend will cost you a lot you only for basics (eatings ,relaxing) and a lot more if you want to move.
I don’t think the hotel will continue to work with this system and by discussing with others customers, they were saying it was better in the past…

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrive at the resort to a friendly staff member who greeted us with a shell necklace and drink. Check in was easy and fast and our room was ready before normal check in time. Everything is so clean! Rooms were out dated but nice, and pools were amazing and warm. First night has dinner at Mermaids, paid $140 for three course meals for two people.. Meals were small but so tasty well worth it! Bakery is great for lunch lots of options like pizza wraps and pies etc. living reef is amazing with big sharks ! Still haven't seen nemo. Tried snorkeling in lovers come however water was too murky to see. Can see fish swimming around from outside the water though. Pack your reef shows because beaches are coral not sand. Swim up bar was amazing however $16 for a cocktail in a normal sized plastic cup.. Beers $7+ spirits $10 .

Basically make sure you have a credit card with no limit because things are quite expensive !!
Loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaypea456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

What a let down. Beautiful location but thats about it
- advertised mocktail, photograph and necklace on arrival. We were herded like cattle up the jetty without even a welcome
- rooms are dated and balcony is 1m wide. Lucky to fit chair
- food is overpriced and quite bland. We paid $110 for buffet (2 adults abd 1 chikd) Most of the dishes were cold or had run out
- Advertise snorkelling at Lovers Cove but its constantly booked out with weddings so cant use it
-kids club is $50 per child for 3 or 4 hours
- no in room kids channels and only pg rated movies available for kids
- staff are unfriendly, unhelpful and really appear not to care
- only 2 reef/island trip companies available

A very expensive holiday. Great view but terrible experience

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbrid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading some dodgey reviews I was worried about what we might find but the reviews were wrong. Our stay was amazing in everyway and the island/resort is just beautiful! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic and as far as cost of things on the island, quite acceptable. If your a big drinker, grog is a little expensive but $7.50 for a beer or $16 for a cocktail is comparable to many holiday destinations. The weather was perfect for our stay just to top off our perfect family getaway. Our 11mth old had a fantastic time also!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brige1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We recently stayed at the resort while attending a wedding on Daydream. The rooms were well kept and spacious. There was plenty to do for the whole family and the staff was extremely friendly. It would have been nice to see some of the bars/restaurants on the other side of the Island open, but as it was low season when we went it was understandable why they were closed. The meals we had at the main resort and mermaids were fantastic. We would have liked to see the shop sell a few more supplies, as travelling with kids you sometimes need a few extra items. It was a great break, thanks :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mishgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We went to the resort with our 1 and 3 year old children and stayed in one of the Coral Sea View rooms on the ground floor. We enjoyed our stay, but I would have been unhappy with the value and the room, if we had paid full price - got a bargain "3 night winter special". The staff are very friendly and helpful and the views, beaches, pools and are beautiful. The gardens were immaculate. Lunch and dinner at Mermaids restaurant was great.

Negatives:
- Dated and tacky resort
- Noisy corridors, especially when other guests return from weddings (weddings every day)
- Very uncomfortable bed and pillows
- No decent coffee available anywhere in the resort

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CT021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My friend and I were on a cruise that stopped at Daydream Island. We hadn't had breakfast and woul have struggled to make time if we had waited to be served. We let the Daydream staff know, and they were so accommodating, going out of their way to make sure we were taken care of--even though we were only visiting.
The decor is kitschy but fun--if you're thinking about going, these guys are good eggs

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluevelvetvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
11.4 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
9.8 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
301 reviews
11.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
593 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
11.2 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort

Address: 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range: $213 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daydream Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daydream Island in the Whitsundays has commenced its demolition and construction program ahead of its long-awaited redevelopment expected to be completed in August 2018. Following the damage caused in March by Cyclone Debbie, Daydream Island has invested $86 million in the redevelopment of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Daydream Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island
Daydream Island Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing