We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good resort with the potential to be a great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights with husband and 2 kids, 5 and 7. Had a coral balcony room near the northern watersports hut. Good location close to the pools and Mermaids Restaurant. Gardens and pools beautiful. Rooms decent. Housekeeping good. Bathrooms need a re-furb. Great big atrium/lobby area, but lounge cushions are dirty and uninviting. They need re-covering. A lick of paint in common areas and some new sun lounges would spruce it up. A good selection of activites offered and reasonably priced. Lots for the kids to do. Food at Mermaids was excellent. Pricey, but what else would you expect - it's a island. Food at the Fishbowl cheaper, and pretty good. Pre-packaged sandwiches for lunch, pretty ordinary. Here's a tip, 1.5L Mt Franklin $6, 600ml $5. Get the big bottle and a few coffee cups and share. Spa treatments were nice, very pricey, but again, that's to be expected. Kids Club / babysitting convenient and worth the money. As per previous reviews, I would not call it 4.5star. I would say 3.5star. It has the potential to be a great resort. Keep in mind that price does not reflect the star rating. It's expensive because it's an island, not because it's a luxurious room and resort. Also, it's in the tropics, so you have to expect a bit of mould here and there. I loved it. I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ernz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed in a reef suite but our friends stayed in Garden rooms and also ocean rooms. In all honesty the garden rooms are nice, quiet and secluded. Besides you’re really only going to sleep there. The breakfast buffet was good like all western buffets. The lagoon bar had good food well priced and more for the kids. This is also where they have the open air cinema too. Splashes was a little bit more pricey but quality is definitely here. This place does alright Pizza too. We recommend this place to family’s by far, good value for money.

Room Tip: Reef suites are more Secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Been to daydream six times now and always enjoy it. The value wipes thefloor with hamilton island. Food was a lot better this time and great. The rooms are nice although bathrooms could do with a little more attention. Facilities and pools, spas etc are great.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QldSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Before you consider visting Daydream , take into account that you will probably spend more on drinks than the accomodation will cost you . $8 for a small plastic cup of beer , $3.50 for a can of coke and $26 for a bottle of wine that would normally set you back around $5- 6 in a bottle shop . Pack as much alcohol that you expect to consume and drink water at the restaurant .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sippy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed for a few days in March and wasn't impressed at all and left.

In summary, i would say:-
- It is a perfect island in a stunning location, great setting and well kept gardens
- Plenty to do and see
- It is very tired and tacky hotel that is more 2 star than 4.5 start.
- It is in serious need of modernisation and investment
- Far too expensive for what it offers to be.
- Will return after the investment though would avoid until then

It is all a bit sad really as the quality of the hotel in no way does justice to the stunning island and its location. Our 3 days stay was very disappointing - Wouldn't go back until some serious investment occurs.

The hotel infrastructure was nearer 2 star than 5 star, was very tired, tacky and stuck in the early 80s. When we stayed, the room had a damp smell, paint and render was coming off the external walls, drainage and guttering were broken and leaking, sofas smelt of damp and everywhere was generally grubby. The design of the complex was also a bit tacky, with the golf course, poor ocean theme bar, multic-coloured decor and chairs etc..

In addition the service was poor. There was no room service, no in-room wifi, most of the restaurants were shut with only one place open every night. The staff were helpful though they had the resigned look of wanting to be somewhere else. In general the food was bad and expensive - the only exception was the Mermaid's restuarant which was surprisingly good despite the grumpy head waiter.

It was also far too expensive for what it offered. On the same trip we staying in place in Coff's Harbour for half the price though it was far more up to date and didn't pretend to be 4.5 star. It was only worth a 3rd of what we paid.

Though there were glimses of what it could be like. The Chapel and Lovers Cove have be done very tastefully and if the whole hotel was of this standard it would have been great.

It very much feels as if the whole project a private dream of one person, who doesn't now have the money to invest to bring it up to a proper standard or doesn't want to admit that it might only get better in different ownership. Think the only option is to sell it to a major hotel firm who can afford the investment - When it is updated it should be stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c21980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

This is our second visit to Daydream Island, the first one was in 1994, before the kids arrived. The island is situated amongst the Whitsunday Island groups. The scenery here is absolutely magnificent, different shades of blue with the background of the other island surrounding this island. Our room is beachfront along the the Coral beach, half way down from the jetty, which is perfect. In terms of activities, it's fairly limited and lack of variety. April seems to be a good time to come here, weather is fine and temp around mid 20C. Watch out for Easter hustle bustle, avoid it if you can. The resort was upgraded in 2000, but the lobby is in need of some revamping, it reminds me of the 1990's deco, and the furnitures in need of replacing.

For the fitness fanatics, the run along the track to the Southern end is perfect, but short ( about 1km) one way, so follow this with a work out in the gym. The gym is in desperate need for maintenance work, the rowing machines are broken, very limited hand weights , broken knobs for the weight machines and on the bike, and only one mat and one huge Swiss ball are available. If you are still needing more exercise, try the tennis, watch out for the torn bits in the middle of the court ( artificial grass). The water aerobics is good to cool off in the pool, fun and light exercise.

Our 5 year old son loves the kids club, he's probably the oldest one there, a nice playground and swings, sand pit etc, but no organised activities. However, there is a video playing ( VHS, haven't seen this for a while!!) and Nintendo Wii available for the kids to play. Our son ( mini golf enthusiast) absolutely loves the mini golf, the best we have ever seen ( and we have been to quite a few recently). Kids will also love the outdoor movies, get there early, get a take away from the Fish Bowl, and enjoy the movie, weather here is so pleasant for this, best still there is NO mosquitos or flies around!!! Nearly stepped on a tree snake though, I was told it's not poisonous, but wasnt about to test it!

For the adrenaline junkie, try the jet sky tour, the mixture of speed and bumps. With a bit of commentary from the leader, you travel in a group of four jetskis to the surrounding islands. For the unexperienced riders, instruction is provided, but make sure you keep up with the speed! For the romantics, try the sunset cruise and watch the sunset from the Lovers cove. peace and serenity. Try the spa too, expensive but very professional and high quality products and therapists.

Now food..... lack of variety and on the expensive side. There seems to be a long queue for the hot buffet, so get there early or very late.

This island is mainly for families with young kids, older kids and teens may find it a bit boring. All in all a good relaxing holiday for the family.

Room Tip: coral wing ,half way down from the jetty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelJunkieOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Rooms were a bit dated. Rooms were of adequate size. Roomservice came everyday, but the floor needed a mop. Lots of activities that the staff tried to get you involved. Nice and friendly staff. Nice pools where the kids had lots of fun.

Overall good place to bring a family for a holiday.

Room Tip: seaview rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank hotel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
11.4 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
6.7 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
291 reviews
11.3 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
59 reviews
11.1 mi away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
573 reviews
11.2 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Address: 4740, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price Range: $242 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing