We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation Lagoon 108”
Review of Lagoon Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitsunday Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lagoon Lodge
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were 2 couples and the accommodation suited us. It was a trifle expensive but thats Hamilton Island. The view was to die for and we took full advantage of the self contained aspect of this apartment. Could do with a spruce up but on the whole it was pretty good. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Lagoon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2011

Lagoon 206 was the perfect choice we made during our trip to Hamilton Island last October/2011.
My husband, my mum and I were there for 5 nights and we enjoy a lot our stay.
The rooms were spacious and clean, the flat screen TV on the living room was amazingly big (Fells like home!) and the view from our balcony was superb day and night. Having the buggy on our disposal was also pretty fun, my mum loved it!
The suggestion of buying grocery products ahead via Cole Online was also very nice from Hamo Rent (loved they service, they even allowed us to have a late check out).
We like to be on top, but no elevator is available on the Lagoon… so be prepare to climb 2 floors every time you have to go in and out.
We’ve made a suggestion of having softer bath towels, but I am pretty sure this can be easily manageable .
Oh yes, Lagoon 206 does have a small discount on renting kayaks, snorkel equipments and all water sports equipaments from the Reef hotel… but it is not free as for those who are staying on the hotel facilities.
Regarding Hamilton Island: If you like trails, try the Passage Peak (wonderful view from the top). Sunset at the One Tree Hill is also pleasant specially with a glass of sparkling wine ;)
PS: Renting on weekends can reach double of the price if compared with week days! (

Room Tip: Rooms on the top has better views...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

When we booked this apartment it was advertised as 5 star, our opinion is that it fell way short of that standard. The room was not clean, the bedding was damp, it needed refurbishing, the balcony was not covered and overall the apartment did not come close to living up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Geoff018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We spent 5 nights on Hamilton Isalnd from 11 - 16 December 2010.
The island is so green and lush, full of beautiful trees and plants. We stayed in Lagoon Lodge private apartments on the beach side of the island - Catseye Beach. These are individually owned apartments so you never know what the apartment will be like and no two are the same. Ours were rated as Luxury Apartments on hamiltonisland.biz - but they were quite old and the kitchens and bathrooms needed some serious attention, this is something you can't tell from the photos on the website. The views from our large balcony were fantastic however, and well worth trudging up two flights of stairs each time we came back. Several problems in each unit with appliances not working: washing machine and DVD player in one apartment and dishwasher and a missing TV remote in another. We were a party of 8 and had two apartments, each came with a 4 seat golf buggy which are essential for getting around. We could walk to the main pool and beach form our apartment, but if we wanted to go to the marina where the shops and many restaurants are, we needed the buggy. I suppose you could walk there but there's a huge hill to get over, and in 28 degrees celsius with 70% humidity that's not for me thanks.
We loved the swim-up bar in the main pool which has two happy hours each day: 1.30 - 2.30 and 3.30 to 4.30. There are only 4 cocktails that you can get at a slightly cheaper price during happy hour, plus beer and basic spirits are a couple of dollars cheaper. This pool probably needs to be cleaned more often, I found lots of things floating in it which was a bit off-putting.
Even though it was stinger season, most people were swimming in the ocean without stinger suits. When we hired a paddle ski and kayak we weren't advised to wear stinger suits, so we wondered if we would be safe or not. There are signs up around the island warning of the irikandji jellyfish dangers during the summer months, but it didn't seem as if the beach sports staff were too concerned about warning guests. The water in the ocean was so warm at this time of year, there was absolutely no chill factor at all, just beautiful.
We dined at two eateries while there: Sails Restaurant at the Reef Resort and the Marina Tavern. I felt both were affordable and not as expensive as I had been led to believe from other reviews I had read. There were a number of mains for under $30, which is not too bad. I have written reviews on the restuarants separately. We thought that buying alcohol on the island would be prohibitively expensive, but we found at the bottle shop that there were several brands of white wine for under $20 per bottle. Buying alcohol from the bars though can be expensive, but this was expected.
There are a number of clothing shops. The resort boutique at the Reef Resort is ridiculously expensive and a bit of a joke, beautiful clothes but out of most people's reach - a cotton sun dress was $299!
There are a few clothing shops down at the marina, one of them was a surf shop called "Offshore" and their prices were about the same as you would pay at a surf shop anywhere. A great place for souvenirs is Trader Pete's - they have everything you could think of, and more! The general store is well stocked and not as expensive as I had been led to believe from reading previous reviews. We had ordered online from Coles to be delivered, which is probably a slightly cheaper way to go. However they only deliver Mon - Fri, and as we arrived on Saturday we did need to buy a few things to get us through the first two days before our Coles delivery on the Monday.
We had fantastic weather and only 1 day of rain, but we swam in the pool anyway as it was still hot. Our buggy had weather flaps which were a great bonus for driving in the rain - we saw many people getting wet in their buggys without the plastic weather flaps.
The watersports were great and the staff there are very helpful and friendly. We did the Jet Ryder jet boat ride, Parasailing and Tube ride and everyone had a ball.
We will try to go back if we can get a good deal on flights. This time we would book a more modern apartment, but all of these are on the Marina side of the island, which means you can't walk to the beach.
The Go Karts are bit of a rip-off so we didn't end up going on those, the kids thought the track was too small and the price was too high - $47 for 10 mins. As we are from Caloundra we are only a few minutes drive from the Big Kart Track which is much better value for money.
Overall Hamilton Island is a fantastic holiday destination for all types of people. One thing they could do with is a Teen Lounge, for the 13 - 17 year olds to hang out on couches and beacn bags watching DVD's or playing video games and meeting other kids their own age.

4  Thank Caloundra_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed 6 nights in Lagoon 206 with our 3 year old boy (and my Mum who came up for the last couple of days). Absolutely beautiful and spacious apartment - great position - very well appointed - two bedroom, two bathroom, 3 tvs (huge screen in lounge area) - lovely big verandah with gorgeous view of catseye beach and bbq - fully air conditioned. Having the buggy included for the stay was fabulous. Hamilton Island is absolutely gorgeous and for a family you couldn't do better than to stay here. Only possible negative is that the verandah rails are possibly a little low for my liking - I kept a very close eye on my boy, although he never showed any interest in scaling the wall!!!

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank Andy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Not for the ancient... i.e. over 50's
The geography is fantastic.
The atmosphere is tricky to nail down, helpful staff, but you can't quite get away from the fifties british holiday camp feel of the place. Much emphasis on 'green' and 'electric' clean energy, - but total noise pollution around the pool, with inappropriate volume and content. (Bad language rap at full volume with kids running around. Why?) Not particularly clean or litter free in the common shopping and pub areas, - a real shock in Oz.
Restaurants that wouldn't survive anywhere in Europe, the US or Oz mainland without its' captive market - very expensive for quite average food. Do the profits generated go towards the upkeep of the natural environment? Loud music in the pub led to loud conversations, - with language used by young male clients not acceptable for a family environment. (Pub quiz had one inappropriate subject matter for family groups.)
Apartment qualities may vary, but the one that we were in had broken items in it, namely the door was off the tumble drier, explanation " it works if you jam it back on" patio screen door damaged because previous clients had locked themselves out, -fridge furniture and broken gas tap on cooker hob!! Missing items - no bedside lamp, dry-cleaning style metal hangers in the wardrobe.
I am sad to say that it felt as though the holiday island was really aimed at the single 18 to 30 age bracket, and all in all it's not really acceptable or good value for a £1000 for a six night stay in self-catering accommodation.

2  Thank norm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

what a beautiful place. My daughter just got married there. I stayed in the Lagoon Lodge, next door to the whitsunday appartment block. This accommodation was awesome. Extremley large appartment, clean, very good people running it. Would truly advise families to stay here, has plenty of room, large kitchen with all facilities, we were on the ground floor with a grassy area out front perfect for kids. You get a buggie to use for the duration of your stay which is a hugh saving, the other hotels offer breakie included every day but honestly the cost of a buggie for the week really outways the cost of breakie every day as they can be quiet expensive and there needed to get around the island as it is quiet hilly and they are very convienient. This place is very kid friendly. All staff we come across where very friendly and helpful, yeh the prices in some of the shops are a bit over the top but my god what a beautiful place. The wedding co-ordinators were very helpful and made the day run very smoothly if your considering your wedding there. Can't wait to go back just to chill out by the pool and enjoy happy hour !!!

1  Thank grandbabyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitsunday Islands
0.3 mi away
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Isl...
#3 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Apartments
Somerset Apartments
#5 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pinetrees Lodge
Pinetrees Lodge
#1 of 6 in Lord Howe Island
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Lodge
Beachcomber Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lord Howe Island
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lorhiti Apartments
Lorhiti Apartments
#1 of 12 in Lord Howe Island
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagoon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagoon Lodge

Address: Neds Beach Road-2898, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Whitsunday Islands
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing