We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lizard Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was lucky to stay at the resort in October 2013. What an overall great experience! The stunning beaches, the coral reef, the many activities, the staff and... the FOOD! Overall couldn't have been happier! We arrived in Cairns and were picked up at the airport and flown by private plane over the Barrier Reef - STUNNING i cannot even explain the views from there, just breathtaking! Once on Lizard Island we were lucky to have amazing weather and we took advantage by renting a (free) dingy and exploring the island and the other beaches. I also took an organised tour of the barrier reef (expensive but worth it!!!) and enjoyed time on the beach right in front my bungalow where i sun tanned surrounded by beautiful nature and the odd (friendly!) lizard!!! A BREATHTAKINGLY BEAUTIFUL resort topped by the most amazing food i have had in a while!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlegabbygab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Lizard Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 607 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

Lizard Island is a very special place.

The many beaches are stunning, and the fact that you can choose more than one is great! We walked around the rocks from the main beach to the turtle beach exploring a few of them. This was not encouraged by the hotel, but we found it no trouble at all.

The food is amazing, really, I am a fussy person and I looked forward to every meal and the wine was also good.

The water is crystal clear and our scuba trip to Cod Hole was the most amazing diving experience I have ever had. I had not been a lover of diving, but now I can't wait to go back. On the return from the scuba trip we fed a nurse shark and a massive groupa which live around the main beach!!!! I couldn't believe they had been soo close when I had been snorkelling previously.

We stayed in the middle grade villa, I think it was called Sunset villa and it was okay. The resort is amazing in so many ways, but the rooms just had no 'WOW' factor. ( I only say this as I was comparing it to a recent holiday we had in Cambodia at Song Saa, where all grade of villas were a wow).

Had one or two complaints whilst there where on one dive to the 'cod hole' it had to be cancelled as the water was too rough for the snorkelers, (yet safe for us divers), so we had to go elsewhere. This was later rectified, however the incident should not have happened in the first place. The other complaint was the terrible internet service on the island. I will not bore you with the details, but the island needs to improve this service as when we visited the guest internet was not working whilst the reception internet was, yet we were not allowed to use it.

Having mentioned the small negatives, I would definitely go back to the island again. The staff are excellent and it ticks so many boxes. But if you have a work deadline whilst on holiday, perhaps don't go here until they have improved the internet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icklenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

...if you remember the amazing Jacques Cousteau films and craving adventure then Lizard island is a must !

The journey began at a small airfield in Cairns and we travelled a deux with a young pilot in a 'plane called Kukaburra - what an incredible start to the adventure that proved to be. The flight allowed us to peer down over the barrier reef and get a sense of its vast beauty. A very warm welcome and refreshing drink awaited when we touched down.

We had opted for one of the Sunset Point villas as the blurb had suggested a greater degree of privacy. Overall, the villa was well designed and comfortable. However, the decking overlooked the next villa's decking so didn't quite do the job !

Dining was very good indeed and there occasional flashes of brilliance too The service in the restaurant was very good and the majority of the wait staff were charming, efficient and engaging.

A real treat was the availability of the sailing boats and a royally proportioned picnic lunch prepared before taking off to your own private beach. The pristine waters of the reef were perfect for hours of snorkelling and swimming.

I enjoyed an early morning walk (no, a strenuous trek) up to Cook's Look at the top of the island. It was a magical experience to look out over the ocean where Captain Cook once stood and charted his course out to sea through the amazing maze of reefs. The views along the way were spectacular. The sense of achievement at the top of the peak was palpable. I am now the proud owner of the Cook's Look certificate to prove I scrambled to the top. Early morning yoga classes were available and there was a small but functional gym.

It was a pity that not all members of staff upheld the high standards of the resort. We experienced a rather surly person who was obviously having an off-day. This should not happen at a 5 star resort. However.......

The location of this resort and the history is unique.

Standards are not in the league of other 5 star resorts such as Leela Palace, Al-Maha or Longitude 131 but a very worthwhile experience nevertheless

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cosmos57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the most beautiful spot in the world- fantastic to have nature around you and to also be simultaneously pampered with the best food and friendly service. The staff could not make you feel more welcome but without any stuffiness. Even when it rained the staff provided all sorts of activities we could do to keep us up with whatever we wanted to do (i.e. nothing, walks, snorkeling, reading)! cant wait to save the pennies and come back!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful with fantastic views
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 32Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Lets start with the GOOD:
The location and scenery of this island are second to none and are exactly as described - simply outstanding and will not disappoint. Everything we wanted and more!

Now the BAD:
Service.
Other than during meals - never once were my wife or I asked if we wanted anything to drink - or if we needed anything. We sat in the bar for 30 minuets and, despite staff passing our table many, many times - no one ever asked us what we would like to drink.... we had to go to the bar and ask for service.

Once we had finished our drinks - we sat with empty glasses for 15 minuets without any of the passing staff asking of we would like another drink. Once we called to a waiter - service was provided.

We sat at a table on the lawn and were unable to get service for coffee etc - until we went in search of staff!

Meals.
The food provided was excellently prepared and presented - but.... If, like me, you prefer more 'basic' food your out-of-luck.

For example, on our first night the only soup on offer was a chilled avocado.... now, I like avocado and I have no problem with chilled soup.... so, the fact that it was the ONLY choice wasn't a problem.... what WAS a problem was when it was served in a shot-glass!.... A shot-glass? really?

The major problem with the food is that there is NO alternative. If you don't like whats on the menu your SOL. I asked if there was any alternative - since I did not like the limited offering - I was told "we can see if there is anything left from lunch"

This is the ONLY source of food at the hotel... if you don't like it - you go hungry.

Remember - this is a 'all inclusive' hotel.

Now the UGLY:
When we arrived we were shown to unit 35. We immediately saw that the unit was infested with ants... we are talking ants (and other bugs) everywhere....

We called and asked for someone to treat the problem... a lady turned up with a cloth, wiped the bathroom sink and said someone would return.... they never did return!

Its a little disconcerting to go into the bathroom and find your toothbrush covered in tiny ants. Ants in your clothes, ants in your toiletries, ants in your underwear, ants in your shoes, ants everywhere. In fact, my laptop was locked IN THE SAFE but when I went to use it, ants were coming out of the keyboard and crawling across the screen.

Ants are bad enough - the fact that no one came despite our constant requests, is worse.... but the absolute pits is: Beetles and other bugs in your bed.

Every night we had to pull back the bed sheets to look for (and clean out if found) beetles and bugs.
Try going to sleep when you know bugs and beetles are/might be in bed with you.

We asked many time to treat for bugs - but nothing was ever done.

There is a sign in the unit that says ..... Keep the doors closed to keep out the bugs...

LOL - when the patio door is 'closed' (that is the edges touching at the top and bottom) there is still a quarter inch gap down the full length of the doors (about 7 feet!)... where they are warped.... There is also a half inch gap at the top and bottom of the doors...

So - 'closing the doors' is futile.

We had to go to the resort shop and purchase a can of bug repellent to treat our room !

Part of the year we live in Florida - we are well aware of the problems of insects... but, more could have been done - an internal treatment to create a 'barrier' would have been a good start.... we don't have this bug problem in our Florida home.... and we certainly don't have bugs in our beds!

An 'all inclusive' facility where you cant get drinks service....
A restaurant with some 9 chefs - where you cant get an alternative - like a steak.
A suite infested with insects...

If this hotel had been anywhere else we would have left after the first night and found alternative accommodation..... but its and island with flights prearranged... so your kinda stuck!

Pity - given its location - this could have been paradise.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I get incredibly nervous in small planes and our hop over from Cairns was no different - however it was ALL worth it! Upon arrival we were welcomed with some refreshing (although non-alcoholic) drinks, then ushered to lunch. Unfortunately it was raining on our first day (be sure to check what season you are visiting in) but that was fine - we sat and enjoyed watching the rain sipping our inclusive French Champagne and being served a stunning three course meal freshly prepared. The food was all plated, which I much prefer to a buffet, and it was always scrumptious, beautifully presented and creative! The staff are friendly and relaxed, and the location is just beautiful. We did a diving trip to the outer reef where we fed a giant potato cod, that was fun and as always the Great Barrier Reef snorkelling and diving speaks for itself. There is great snorkelling right from the beach in front of the resort too so no need to go too far either. We also took a dinghie boat and cruised around by ourselves to some of the more secluded beaches - we swam with sea turtles at the one beach, and they packed us a beautiful picnic lunch which we pre-ordered, including more bubbles and drinks of our choice. The best day of holiday we have had by far! We stayed in a sunset point villa which had an amazing view, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable, smell delicious when they do the turn down for the night and play very relaxing music. No cell phone signal which was GREAT, but there is wifi available near the pool if you need it. The only thing some people may miss in this villa is a bath tub - however we didn't need it when we have a huge warm ocean right down the steps near the villa. Not sure if the other rooms have baths. All in all, I can recommend Lizard Island hand on heart, and we cannot wait to book our next trip to escape to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L-DownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Lizard Island was beyond incredible. The staff was delightful (other places should follow their example) the diving was superb. We met some really fun people, the accommodations were neat and well appointed, the food was very good for all meals. We really enjoyed the all inclusive part too. They picked us up at the airport, took us to a veranda at the hotel, welcomed us with juice or champagne, told us about the resort, then each couple got an individual tour of the resort and then were taken to our unit. Ours was number four and overlooked the bay with the boats, etc. sitting in it. On our last day the G. M. came by and visited with us. I will always hold Lizard Island up as an example of what type of place I want to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fumealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lizard Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Island Resort

Address: Via Cairns, Cook Shire, Lizard Island, Queensland 4871, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cook Shire > Lizard Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lizard Island
Price Range: $1,425 - $2,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lizard Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Island is truly secluded from the rest of the world. With 24 powdery-white beaches and 40 luxurious suites, it is the most northern resort in tropical Queensland and is located directly on the Great Barrier Reef. A National Park covering 1,013 hectares with 24 sandy beaches and a lagoon, Lizard Island is accessible only by private charter from Cairns Airport in northern Queensland, Australia. Cairns Airport is accessible from all major Australian airports and directly from some cities in Asia. The island is reserved for the fortunate few who will experience an unforgettable holiday like no other. Enjoy secluded picnics and sunset beach degustation on private beaches, five star cuisine in the beautiful Salt Water restaurant and indulgent spa treatments in the Essentia Day Spa. Relax in style in premium accommodation and take in the wonders of Australia's Great Barrier Reef - right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lizard Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Island Hotel Lizard Island
Lizard Island Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing