We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lizard Island Resort
Reviews (645)
Filter reviews
645 results
Traveler rating
518
85
13
20
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
85
13
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe great barrier reeffishour honeymoonday tripplunge poolmini baronce in a lifetimewine listan amazing experiencebefore dinnerfood was fantasticspent daysyour doorstepincluded in the pricestunning locationworld classprawns
Filter
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 645 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

WOW!
Do you fancy taking a tinnie (small motor boat) with some prawns and a bottle of bubbly to a deserted beach?

This would have to be the most unpretentious 5 star holiday resort I've stayed in while at the same time everything was perfection. The staff are friendly, warm, welcoming, knowledgable, fun, and attentive all at the same time.
We had 8 nights in a Sunset Point Villa, plenty of towels, toiletries, mini bar etc. the sunsets each day were stunning, snorkelling off the beach, climbing up to Cooks Look, research station, you can do lots or nothing at all.

So,,,,, do yourself a favour!

Room Tip: Sunset Point Villa was a good choice for us. Fantastic views and of course the sunset over the water. Very comfy outdoor lounge to read or snooze, plus the hammock. Quiet area, only one adjoining room. We had a lovely cool breeze almost non stop, I felt it was very hot down next to the beach in the more expensive rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leesinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Imagine eating at the best restaurant you have ever been to, three times a day, day after day (never repeating the menu in the 8 days we were there), set in a world class beautiful location, with superior service, with some of the best SCUBA diving in the world – then you’d have Lizard Island.

Where do I begin: The check-in process is like no other, where you are greeted with a cold drink, in a beautiful covered patio setting, and we were then escorted directly to lunch, as our bags were being delivered to our room. I knew things were going to be extraordinary when I noticed the wine glasses on the table were Riedel and the lunch was a feast of flavors. From that moment on it set the tone for the rest of our vacation.

The dive shop: It is well run and caters to all your needs. (Big thank you to Scott, Crissie, Emma, Ryan, Sharon and the rest of the team – well done! – my family is still talking about seeing the Whale Shark!). Diving at Cod Hole, Shark Alley, and Big Softie are world class locations and should not be missed. The staff's desire to give you an extraordinary experience comes thru loud and clear.

Food: My opening paragraph says it all. The food is out of this world and the service staff is probably the best informed and knowledgeable about the food and preparation that I have ever seen. Big thank you to David, who may be the most knowledgeable waiter I/we have ever had. His passion for food and his ability to describe the ingredients and preparation, in vivid detail, are unsurpassed. David kept our table entertained as well. Mattia, Marion, Loic and many others made the dining experiences very memorable. Also, the desserts and included wine list were outstanding. Any special requests we hade were always met with, “that can be organized”. That speaks volume for the training of the staff and attention you will receive from the dining staff.

Location: Being a remote location keeps this resort a prize to all that stay. The beaches are beautiful, the water is teaming with life, its proximity (about 1 hour by boat) to some of the best diving (and fishing) in the world, and this makes this a best of class location/destination that should be on anyone’s bucket list who enjoys great food set in a fantastic location.

Other things not to be missed: Coral Research Station tour, Climbing to Cook’s Outlook, Snorkeling Giant Clam Garden in Watson’s Bay, Being dropped off on a remote beach with lunch or cheese and wine, indulging, relaxing, and wishing this would never end!

Many thanks to the entire staff at Lizard Island – Job Well Done!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SoCal_Worldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have stayed here several times and each time was perfect. The diving is amazing. The staff could not have been better.The rooms are open and lovely. I would stay here as often as possible. I love the lizards wandering around. I love being able to walk out the door of my room and snorkel directly on the reef. No other resort is set on the reef.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Lizard Island is the perfect place to relax. From the moment you step out of the plane you are very well treated, welcomed by the resort's manager and a fresh mocktail.
You enter your room, your luggages are already here and the staff puts a relaxing music, it is just perfect.
The staff is very nice, attentive and caring.
But the best thing to do here is diving. It is extraordinary, you either go dive for half a day or a day but the complete day is really worth it, you start diving with the potatoe cod fish which are huge and you continue swimming a long the corrals. But the second dive is even better you go diving at the great corral reef and it is wonderful so many colours. Moreover the staff is trains you and prepare you well.
But was is really relaxing is that there is no network on the island and just a single spot where you can have wi-fi. So you only have contact with the "outside world" once a day and no TV in the room.
Long time since I have been satisfied this much of a trip and specially of a hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EdouardMHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This island is just as beautiful as the photos in the brochure. You can swim all year round. The perfect place for a honeymoon or special occasion. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The some peaceful place for a relaxing holiday...no Wi-FI, phones or TV in the rooms

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Topbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews