We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heron Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heron Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at Heron Island as part of a 3 week visit to Australia, travelling with our two children (ages 13 and 10). Heron Island is simply superb. The island is beautiful and the abundance of marine life simply incredible. We stayed in a Turtle family room. This was pretty basic accommodation but adequate. The food in the restaurant was excellent and we found the restaurant staff flexible and helpful when the children did not want the kids options. There is a very nice bar area which is perfect for enjoying the amazing sunsets. We did not scuba dive but did snorkel extensively around the island. Even for those who do not dive or snorkel there is plenty to do here - the beaches are superb, there are organised reef walks, island walks, bird walks and a visit to the research centre all of which were interesting and enjoyable. We also enjoyed the stargazing. We spent many happy hours simply walking around the island enjoying the scenery and watching the reef sharks and rays, both of which swim very close the the beach and the pier. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer - we loved this place!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DAS8M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We appreciate your review and comments, thank you. Although you are a long way away we sincerely hope you can make it back to visit us again one day..........

Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    581
    170
    101
    76
See reviews for
619
721
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I visited Heron island with my wife and 2 children aged 6 and 9. We only spent the one night as more of a break come reconnaissance trip. I heard a lot of negative comments from work colleagues, so we decided to find out for ourselves. The trip started with a very uncomplicated check in, we the boarded the fast cat, which departed on time (so far faultless). The one hour crossing was comfortable and complimented by its wonderful on board crew. We arrived on the island and were welcomed by 6 brown tipped sharks swimming around in the crystal clear waters, my children were overjoyed. We were then taken to the main lounge area and after a complimentary drink, we were briefed on what the island had to offer. Not at any time from this moment on were we disappointed. The rooms, meals, pool area, spa (birthday treat for my wife) information centre, bar ( little treat for me) and most of all the wonderful staff were outstanding. A big thank you to the Heron island team for making us so welcome, and for making it a break to remember. PS WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Try booking at the Gladstone Information centre, they have some great deals on offer, and are very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Paul

Sensational that we exceeded your expectations, please tell those work colleagues too......

Being so close we expect to see you back soon!


Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

the island is magic. the accom and facilities are just wonderful and staff were great.
its not a cheap holiday especially if diving but when you look at staff to customer ratio you can appreciate why. my wife was somewhat limited in dining options/variety as a vegetarian however overall the dining is first class.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessntimtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your observations and comments, particularly pleasing that you found our staff were great.


Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is our 7th trip to Heron and it won't be our last. Needless to say that we enjoy our times on Heron. This is a beautiful part of the world but you need to do your homework before you go. There is nothing wrong with the cheaper rooms but the Beach Rooms are our favourite. Birds: they can be extremely noisy and if that is a problem for you then avoid the noisy bird season. Tides are important as Heron is on a reef and the reef surrounding Heron is exposed at low tide. Don't expect to do much snorkeling at low ride off the beach. The snorkel/dive boat is a must. Food, you won't starve on Heron. See baby turtles, yes but check the season. Weather is also important ... Check out weather patterns. Sharks, don't worry about them and there are plenty of Reef and Lemon Sharks to see. NB: Do your hime work on accommodation, weather, tides, bird life and baby turtles before you book ......

Room Tip: Better rooms come at a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Peter

Thanks for the review, it is appreciated. we look forward to welcoming you back for visit number 8!


Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I took a last minute booking for a week with my mother who was visiting from the UK. It sadly turned out to be 6 days due to a flight delay from Brisbane. We both absolutely loved Heron Island.

It was a wonderful break and we were blessed with fantastic weather.

We loved the laid back atmosphere and how the resort encompasses the natural beauty and wildlife of this special place. We both enjoyed ourselves in this stunning paradise and didn't want to leave. It certainly was value for money.

Accommodation: We stayed in a Turtle Room. It was simple, clean and comfortable. As an insomniac - even I slept well!

Food: The food was well prepared and with plenty of choice. There was plenty of fresh fruit available. The A la Carte menu in the evening offered delicious choices... the fish was scrummy!

Activities: My mother really enjoyed the different walks (bird, reef, research and the star gazing).

Diving and snorkeling: The diving was well run and the sites superb with a lot of life... ranging from macro with an abundance of nudibranchs through beautiful corals and sponges to a myriad of fish life (including a huge school of barracuda) to octopi, there were plenty of reef sharks and rays (including a great Manta ray interaction), octopi, turtles... just wonderful! We could hear whales and there were sightings from the boats and the island. My only disappointment was not enough takers for a night dive which would have been just fantastic!

Spa: Mum had a massage which she said was divine and I had a facial which was super.

The staff were wonderful, they were friendly and helpful - they should be commended on their service. Nathan and Anna in the bar were fun and efficient. They accommodated mum's favorite liquor coffee each night and Nathan tried his yummy new cocktail on me. In the restaurant - Andreas the maître de was just gorgeous, passionate about his job and friendly, his "crew" were lovely and always helpful. The information centre staff (particularly Marita and Hannah) were knowledgeable and enthusiastic, they were brilliant at sharing their facts and made it fun for all. The dive crew ( Ian, Nick, Sam, Sammy and Ben) and skippers (Steve and Ron)were efficient and safe. Sam and Sammy were great guides... enthusiastic and fun, both clearly have a great passion for what they do.

There were others ....reception and maintenance crew were always polite and pleasant too.

All in all... a special and beautiful place. Families with children seemed to be having fun, "oldies" were relaxing and couples were enjoying the simple pleasures - something for all.

Heron is a wildlife haven where you mingle with the life of animals and birds and where you are at the hands of the weather gods. If nature isn't your thing and you want luxurious luxury then it may not be for you! For those who like watching and interacting with nature in her glory then the simple mix of a beautiful island and a laid back resort is definitely worth a visit.

Thank you to all for making our stay so memorable.

I look forward to returning again... and that night dive!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi Paula

Great news that your visit was so enjoyable, and while you had the time during your mothers visit. It is good to see that between the two of you you used all of our facilities and services, and found them to be of such a high standard.

You have nominated so many of our team by name it is obvious that you embraced what we offer on island and it is sensational that we delivered in so many areas - I will personally pass your comments on to all concerned.

Please come back to Heron Island in the not to distant future, and Sam and I will personally take you on that Night Dive!


Best regards

Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

we have been guests at the resort on several occasions, during which time we have observed a slow decline. not only lack of maintenance but also service due to lack of staffing.After the closure earlier this year due to renovations, we were curious to see the changes.We are impressed after our recent visit.Racked pathways and trimmed vegetation gave a neat appearance, the bar/lounge and restaurant looked great with a coat of paint and the new furnishings gave the place a fresh new look. We were very happy with the dining experience.Service and food was of a high standard,staff performed efficiently and curtiously, "thanks to Jackie and Andrae who were outstanding".We commend Andrew on the smooth running of the service and his team. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: we prefer the beach front rooms as they tend to be central, easy access to all our needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rowenajane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to review your last visit, and for drawing the comparisons on our recent efforts against your past experiences on island.

It is fantastic that we have been seen to improve in so many areas. As a local we expect to see you again very soon........


Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went to heron island on a midweek special - 2 nights . Everything was really good and well organized. The boat trip was bumpy - can't help the weather - but when we arrived it was worth it. The rooms are comfortable, the food was delicious and so many choices. We had great service and a wonderful time. Unfortunately the diving was canceled while we were there as it was too windy to go, but you can still snorkel or go exploring along the beach. We did the reef walk which was very interesting too. A well oiled machine would be how I would describe the resort - but it still had the personality and the staff were a real asset to the place. Thanks for a great stay in a beautiful part of our world.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross G, General Manager at Heron Island Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your observations Kathy, very much appreciated.

We have invested a lot in our people recently and its great that you found our staff and services exceeded your expectations, and we will certainly pass your comments on to all our team.

Hope to see you back in our part of the world again, and we guarantee you a dive!


Best regards


Ross Greenaway
Regional General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heron Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Island Resort

Property: Heron Island Resort
Address: Via Gladstone, Heron Island, Queensland 4680, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Heron Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heron Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heron Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heron Island is a true coral cay right on the World Heritage Listed Great Barrier Reef of Australia. Here you swim off the beach to an endless garden of coral. Activities include guided island and reef walks, semi-submersible cruises, bird watching and beach picnics, plus a Kids program. Voyages Heron Island is famous around the world for its scuba diving and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heron Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Island Hotel Heron Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing