We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! So interesting.”

Marineland Crocodile Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.83*
and up
Green Island Sailing Cruise from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marineland Melanesia Crocodile HabitatSituated on beautiful Green Island off Cairns on the Great Barrier Reef. Home to Cassius - largest captive croc in the world at nearly 5.5 metres. Set on 3/4 acre garden setting with over 60 crocodiles, sea turtles, tropical fish aquariums, and museum of primitive art and marine artefacts. See our crocodile feeding shows at 10.30 and 1.30 daily, and have your photo taken holding a baby crocodile. Ask about our family rates.At our entrance you will find our gift shop, with a fantastic range - and the best prices. Souvenirs, T-shirts, beach clothing, towels, sunscreen, shells, coral, gemstones and jewellery. We make beautiful gemstone and coral jewellery here in our shop as well - take home something unique to Green island.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic! So interesting.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited Green Island and Marineland Melanasia while on our honeymoon and it is a must. It is so unique and interesting. There is a wonderful history to go through with this family and their croc hunting days. Amazing artifacts, amazing marine life and of cause, the main reason I went.... Cassius!!! It is a spectacular island and Marineland is the heart of it. Thanks to the wonderful and friendly family members and staff we met. Amazing. :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Shankris28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    44
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Third generation family business”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you really want to appreciate the Marineland Melanesia experience please talk with the family members who are continuing the tradition their parents and grandparents started. While the crocs are an undeniable thrill there is so much there that is quietly waiting to be enjoyed. From the hundreds of masks and artifacts displayed throughout the exhibit to the hidden gems in the gift shop there is much more there than initially meets the eye. We thoroughly enjoyed a few hours there learning about the history of the island and the perspective of family members who had lived on Green Island for many years.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KK-Ltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Such a beautiful place. A bit too touristy but other than that its amazing. There are turtles everywhere in their natural habitat. A lot of wildlife that doesn't seem to worry about the tourists swimming around them.

Helpful?
Thank Kristy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Only recommended if you've got small children to entertain. Fish are kept in tiny tanks. Felt sorry for poor Cassius the croc, who lives in a fetid pool scarcely larger than he is. Animal welfare standards have risen in the past 50 years; unfortunately, this place seems outdated to the point of unintentional cruelty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiazepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucaneer3, Owner at Marineland Crocodile Park, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Please rest assured that all the pools have a lot to offer a crocodile - they are all filled with guppies and small fish, as well as water foliage to maintain a balanced ecosystem, and while they may not look desirable to a human, they are ideally suited to a crocodile's predatorial nature - to hide and wait for prey - to see and not be seen. We do rely on rainwater for our fresh water supply and as October/November is our dry season, we annually use this time for the annual clean and paint job - what a shame you didn't notice this work currently being carried out on each of the croc pools in turn - the process takes about 6-8 weeks to complete and by the time the wet season starts, each pool will be ready for the oversupply of freshwater that becomes available to them then. Most of the crocs are also living as mated pairs, resulting in annual breeding which can only occur when an animal's environment is suited to them.
With regard to the tanks for the fish, possibly you were expecting the all-inclusive walk through tanks that one now sees at Sydney Aquarium and similar locations. While we cannot develop our facility in this way, we do believe our aquariums and the marine life we maintain in them are in an extremely fortuitous position. All our aquariums are on a constant cycle feed of Green Island's saltwater - it is pumped up continuously into the tanks and reef pools and then naturally feeds back into the ocean. We are in a unique situation here and the success of our aquariums reflects this. We do have some very successful breeding occuring amongst certain species of fish, coral and anemones and this is only possible when all is right in their environment, and they are 'happy'.
I hope I have allayed some of your concerns regarding the welfare of our animals. All comments are appreciated and valued.

As a private family business here at Green Island for 40 years, with 3 generations of family involved in the business, no government funding or any financial connections with any of the boat companies servicing the island, or with the Green Island Resort, the title "tourist trap" seems unwarranted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting diversion”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Marineland Melanesia was a nice way to spend an hour during our visit to Green Island. They do two shows per day where they feed the crocodiles and provide some pretty interesting information about the area and the wildlife. The same family has run Marineland Melanesia for a very long time. The entry fee is workthwhile to support the work they're doing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KJ74Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marineland Crocodile Park also viewed

 

Been to Marineland Crocodile Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing