We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Green Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,148)
Filter reviews
1,148 results
Traveler rating
683
313
73
47
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
683
313
73
47
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish feeding day trippers sunset drinks glass bottom boat outer reef picnic hamper boat leaves guest pool hotel guests the great barrier reef stinger suits snorkeling equipment room service sea turtles private pool reef suite seafood platter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,148 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice place with beautiful fish, sharks and turtles to see. The crocodial place costs extra. Tours from here are expensive. So better book those from mainland. Overall very clean and good organized, check their webpage for deals otherwise you have to pay more and pay for the ferry as well.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steffenk81422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSGA, Guest Relations Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Steffenk81422,

Thank you for the review of your stay at the resort. We are glad to hear we ticked a lot of your boxes in regards to cleanliness and organization :) Just to let you know, all our accommodation packages come with return ferries included :)

Kind regards,

Team QSG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

A good place to take a view days off. The kitchen was in January 2019 better than now! Only a few offers for dinner. No meal of the day. The island is beautiful because you can swim with big fishes, sharks and turtles.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank meesie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSGA, Guest Relations Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Hi meesie75,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your time with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We will pass on your feedback to our food and beverage team :)

Cheers,

Team QSG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

We stayed at Green Island resort in June 2019. We both are very easy going travellers as long as my partner can swim in the ocean and I can paddle any sort of craft on the sea!. Practically every holiday we take has to have these for us to choose a location.
Green Island resort has lots going for it and a few things not so good but overall we really liked the resort.
Firstly, the customer service was good - staff tried very hard to meet our needs. For example, we were upgraded to a bigger room for a minor issue I had with the booked room which was a nice surprise. Every other request we had was met well. On the minus side, several times our room was serviced and the coffee/tea/milk things not re supplied. A quick phone call and that was remedied. The restaurant provided breakfasts and evening meals. Generally pretty good, maybe there wasn't a great range on the evening menu and at our stay a decided lack of asian dishes but the meals were fine. As I mentioned, the use of a kayak of some sort is important to me and the resort offered free kayaks. However, for several days I couldnt use the kayaks because of a 'strong wind warning'. I fully understood the need for such a policy for public safety but the strong wind was 15knots which is quite moderate for me and so it was frustrating. Anyway, eventually the wind petered out. My partner could snorkel and swim each day so that was good.
One thing that other travellers might have a problem with (we didn't mind much) is the day tourist numbers on the island. Because the island is so close to Cairns, travellers come to the island about 9am and leave about 4pm. The island main shops/eateries are pretty busy during this period. However, the resort is well designed to provide a good buffer between the accomodation and the public areas so one doesn't notice the day tourists too much. However, if you are looking for total seclusion for your holiday, this might not be for you.
The ferry transfers to/from Cairns to the island were easy and short and most enjoyable to see the islands and Cairns from the water. We really liked the look of Cairns for a future destination. Not enough time this trip to see much but we will come back. Thankyou to Michelle the resort manager and staff

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markcremorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSGA, Guest Relations Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi markcremorne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your time and experiences with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay! We will take your feedback on board regarding restocking during room cleaning. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Team QSG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

The surrounding place (sea, beaches, etc) are amazing, full of turtles, fishes and more.
The conn is that the hotel facilities are hardly for 3 star hotel... poor cleaning conditions, precarious food offered, priced like a 5 star hotel and during the day super overcrowded by hordes that come just for the day and let all the facilities as filthy as possible.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rainer_viertel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QSGA, Guest Relations Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Hi rainer_viertel,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear that your time didn't meet the expectations you had for your stay. We will pass your feedback onto our team- we always like to know where we can do better for our guests.

Kind regards,

Team QSG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

We have just returned from here and never again ! Room fab staff fab but 2000 plus Day guests every day from 9-4 ! It’s packed then once they leave around 4 apart from the restaurant ( food terrible and very limited ) everything closes so nothing at all to do !!! Also with sooo many the reef is really suffering !

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank tp1nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, Guest Relations Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Hi tp1nk,

Thank you for your review and your correspondence. Given how much you had praised the resort, our wonderful staff and the beautiful island during your stay, it is very surprising to see your review. Disappointingly it does not reflect any of the feedback you gave our team during your stay, which indicated you were very happy.

Being close to Cairns, Green Island is a very popular day visitor destination. We make it no secret that we share the island with day visitors, with it being mentioned many times on our website. Green Island Resort does not operate or have any influence on the day trip boats visiting the island, however, the number of 2000 plus day visitors you quote is grossly inaccurate. Being wonderful weather and peak holiday period, the number of day visitors during your stay was closer to 500 per day, including a number of international school groups which you photographed without their permission. We think it’s wonderful that children from schools all around the world choose Green Island to expand their environmental education. There are many exclusive parts of the island for resort guests, which you did utilise.

It’s also important to note that ‘exclusive’ island resorts with no day visitors, come with a hefty price tag which would preclude most people from the opportunity of having an island holiday experience. After the day visitors leave, the resort offers a range of guest activities; sunset drinks, fish feeding and interpretation and guided night tours. Our restaurant and room service teams are highly rated and service our small number of resort guests (46 rooms). The menus cover a range of cuisines using local produce and also cater to special dietary requirements.

The reef and marine park around Green Island is highly protected, regulated and in excellent shape with a thriving resident sea turtle population and marine life. The resort and day guests have a very limited impact on the reef, by design, so do find your comment that ‘the reef is really suffering’ to be ill-informed.
It’s unfortunate that you didn’t have the same experience as the overwhelming number of other guests who have recorded positive reviews on Trip Advisor, but we thank you for your feedback and wish you the best in all your future endeavours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews