We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to vist very clean plenty of activitys ,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A must do trip pick your day to suit your boat trip weather wise,
Plenty to do try dives in the pool or even better walk under water with a air fed helmet also snorkeling on the reef it's safe beach guards,
Good food can be had from diffrent outlets have a great day out if your not a good on the boats sit at the back in the middle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 955 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We (family with 2 young boys) spent 3 nights at Green Island Resort and we all just loved it. Not being high season, there really weren't too many day trippers - but it was definitely so much better once they left each day. The staff were awesome the whole time - so friendly and helpful. For example, the restaurant manager offered to send us breakfast to our room if we wanted to sleep in. I loved the way so may activities were included in the price. It meant that I didn't feel like I was getting ripped off each time we did something.

The food in the main restaurant was excellent - true fine dining quality. The standout dish for us with the soft shell crab. Don't bother with the "public" food areas for lunch, just eat in the restaurant, because the quality is so much higher and the prices roughly the same as for pizzas and nachos. Some people have complained about the birds taking your food around the resort, but it seems they've removed a number of them and we really didn't find them a problem at all.

The snorkelling was good - certainly lots of fish and significant coral if you go past the bend in the jetty. You can snorkel off the jetty itself, which means you don't have to swim out to the coral. We also saw some turtles and a reef shark (harmless).

We enjoyed the glass bottomed boat trip, but the 2 drivers we had were really quite rude. This was in stark contrast to every other employee we met at the resort.

We all really enjoyed the nightly sunset drinks, at which times we met some of the other people staying at the resort. We also attended the star gazing and night-time guided walk, which were fun to do once. Overall, we all had a fantastic few days on Green Island and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have stayed here quite a few times, and will keep going back!! The staff are fantastic, and do what they can to make you feel welcome. The rooms are beautiful, set either over the pool or amongst the rain forest. The island is amazing. When you are a guest you recieve the free use of all of the amenities, kayak, beach chairs with umbrella, glass bottom boat rides, snorkle gear and stinger suits. After you have checked out the hotel they will let you come and go, using the pool, coffee facilities and lazing around until you catch the boat home. After the last boat leaves to go back to Cairns the staff do a fish feeding where you will see a variety of sea life. Then there is complimentary champagne, juice and beer served on the beach as the sun sets. After dark there is a tour (each night different) which you can join with the torch in your room. I couldnt give this place enough of a wrap and can not fault it!! I'm even planning my wedding here!! IT IS AMAZING!!!

Room Tip: There is no tip needed, its always superb in any room at any time!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Before 9 am and after 4pm GI is very beautiful and you can swim, snorkel and walk on the beach in peace. The other positive is the restaurant food.

Otherwise the word for GI is grotty. The public areas are low class and cheap - the so called grill is a burger bar without seating, the other facilities are poor and in any event it's all closed as soon as the day trippers go - e.g. there is a publicity photo of a guest relaxing alone on a kayak but they aren't available outside day trip hours.

The whole thing is run for the day trippers who are very numerous and overrun the place and there is no feeling of exclusivity or service outside the restaurant - basically it feels like it's run by the maintenance men. The rooms are nice and well furnished but they are overlooked and dark - either a tree view or a pool view - also the restaurant looks out on the shopping and day trip area and the guest pool just overlooks rooms and the trees - so no feeling of privacy or a high class environment.

We made the best of a bad job and enjoyed being on the island, did some swimming and snorkelling and relaxed, and you can add together the positives and have a nice time - but it was poor value for money and not as advertised. We left a day early and would not recommend for more than three days or indeed at all. I am sure you can do better. I am sure the island once had a very special feel but it has been sacrificed to day trip tourism.

Room Tip: Go for first floor but you can't have that if you want interconnecting rooms for your family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKtourist12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have visited Green Island a couple of times but never stayed the night so this Easter I spent a night there with my lovely wife and a few friends and it was fantastic, I will be back.

The rooms are luxurious and set in tropical rainforest with views of the pool and you would hardly know the day visitors are there. The resort activities allow you to relax around the pool, beach or island or be adventurous snorkelling, kayaking or even parasailing. If snorkelling is not your thing you can still get up close to the reef with a glass bottom boat tour. I highly recomend the snorkelling, fish feeding and sunset drinks.

The restuarant meals were very tasty and not over priced which can sometimes be the case with some island resorts. I enjoyed oysters served in 3 different sauces and a perfectly cooked duck breast. Everyone at our table was very happy with their meal and the service from Moanna was fun, friendly and professional. In fact all the staff at the resort are friendly and professional. Sandy at reception is particulary helpful.

Do your self a favour and stay a night on Green Island I know I will be going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Green Island and Resort are the only way to experience the most beautiful beaches and the reef. Fly into Cairns,which is a great community and take the ferry over to the island. We spent three days and two nights and didn't want to leave. The water around the island is as clear as a swimming pool (you can see your feet in the water) and with the packages from the resort you get great buffet breakfasts, the day tour to the outer reef, lunch, all equipment to snorkel, kayak, and enjoy. The rooms are clean and smell like rose wood offering comfort during the few moments we were in our room. There is enough reef around the island to explore fish, swim with turtles (so awesome) and to see and swim with black tipped sharks. It also includes exploring on a glass bottom boat tour around the island. Don't leave Australia without visiting Green Island and the reef.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we were on the bottom floor facing the pool. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roxraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

As long as you are there mid week, out of school holiday times and when the local yobbos are absent. We have loved staying at this resort since it was renovated in the early 1990's. It is beautifully designed and a gorgeous, peaceful and picturesque setting. Although the popular island is a place for all sorts of tourists to enjoy, you could always retreat from the maddening crowd to the private resort area as guests. Now at school holiday times you retreat to the private resort area to screaming out of control kids and loud local yobbos who have brought their own food and booze to drink by what was previously an exclusive, peaceful and tranquil private resort pool. Not sure what other establishment would allow this around such a pool especially when tourists coming to the island on day trips are not able to bring their own alcohol and certainly cant eat their own food in the public resort areas. It such a pity and a waste for a spectacularly renovated place with such previous careful attention to detail to turn into such a nightmare. We will look forward to our next trip but it will be midweek and definitely not during school holidays

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 32Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Island
16.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
17.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,361 reviews
17.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
19.2 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,165 reviews
17.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Resort

Address: Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Price Range: $358 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 27 km across the Coral Sea from Cairns in Tropical North Queensland, Green Island Resort is luxury on the Great Barrier Reef. With just 46 suites nestled amongst the rainforest and secluded from the day visitor facilities, this world-class eco-sensitive resort offers a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, first class service and unparalleled access to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Green Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing