We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Island paradise”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have just returned from three very pleasant nights on Green Island.

Our King Island Room earned a “wow” from my wife, was very nicely furnished, spacious, with a balcony overlooking the gardens. Some rooms have their balcony facing the guest pool, which would have been less private.

The volume of day-trippers is a bit of a shock at first – mostly Asian tour groups – but they disperse to various parts of the island during the day and are not too obtrusive. It’s more obvious at the end of the day when they regroup for their various boats. It’s an all-day thing, with groups arriving from 9am and the last boat departing at 4.30pm. After the final group leaves, tranquillity returns. House guests also have access to a private pool which provides some respite from the crowds during the day. We were also probably lucky in that the resort was well under 50% occupancy, so it sometimes felt like we had the place to ourselves.

There’s a number of food choices during the day, from simple bread rolls, to burgers, to restaurant dining. The restaurant (Emeralds) is very nice and open from breakfast (included) to dinner. The menu caters for most tastes, though we noted a predominance of Asian flavours, which was fine. The quality of the dishes was generally very good, and the service efficient and friendly.

Our days were spent reading, snorkelling off the beach (equipment is complimentary) and exploring the forest. We also had a few excellent massages at “oiled” – highly recommended!

The island is beautiful, and we were fortunate to have some great weather, despite being at the end of the rainy season. The experience would be slightly less enjoyable in the wet, but this is a great place to spend a few days relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool will be less private than those facing the gardens. The trade-off is that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    257
    55
    31
    22
See reviews for
291
477
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Booked a three night stay at the resort to celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday at the end of March 2014 and what a fantastic stay we had.
All I can say is
Staff - Fantastic
Rooms - Fantastic
Food - Fantastic
Facilities - Fantastic
Activities - Fantastic
Day Trip Tourists - Not so Fantastic ( but they are only there for eight hours of the day)
Day-trippers were the only negative for the stay but with a bit of planning they can be avoided to some extent while they are at the resort and sometimes they will seek you out if you are enjoying yourself.
Stayed at the resort as part of a week long stay in Cairns and it exceeded our expectations.
Nice quick trip over to the island in air-conditioned comfort to be greeted personally on the jetty and escorted to our room (while the porters transferred our luggage directly to our room). Each time we had a question, any staff member was only too welcome to provide answers, advice and also have a bit of a chat. Learnt a lot of the history of the island just from the staff members. Even while having lunch under a shady tree had an nice talk to the national park ranger who was only too happy to provide a bit of background for us.

Many activities provided as part of our package stay which added to the experience, glass bottom boat, fish feeding, afternoon free drinks, snorkelling equipment, Lycra skin suits ( for protection against jellyfish stings), night nature walk, stargazing and just walking along the beach.

Food throughout our stay was exceptional, only had a burger at the Grill and was too much to eat it all, but was very good. Emeralds restaurant was a great place to eat (and away from day trippers ). Complimentary breakfast each day with a great selection of food to choose from. Dinner menu was a very good choice of meals which provided a different meal for the both of us for the three nights (large servings and delicious which did not allow the desert menu to be used much).
I even made a special request of a small cake for my wife's birthday which was accommodated without question and was huge and delicious.

Also had a day trip to the outer reef included in our package and was very nice although the coral and fishlife seemed a bit tired from so many visitors to a small spot.

During our stay, by good luck the high tide occurred early morning and late afternoon which gave the best snorkelling conditions, out of the midday sun, no tourists and turtles feeding on the seagrass - just magnificent. We even managed to ward off the late season rain to enjoy three days of sunshine (even though one day it did rain from 4:00AM to 7:00AM but sunny by 8:00AM)
Have not hesitated in highly recommending the resort and look forward to booking our next stay there next year.
Hints
Go snorkelling early morning, late afternoon to avoid the crowds
Try not to sleep in and miss the serenity and beauty of the island (have a nanny nap after lunch)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank IanNGayFarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I found it very run down.
The worse thing was the rotten birds, who try to take your food, ad will bite.
Get rid of the birds, update the resort .
The water and sand are great.
Would not go there again --- unless it is updated.
Food was good but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Housekeeping in to the room
Even DND sign in there!
Unbelievable Hotel!
Not recommended!
Meal is ok!
This hotel is only good location and nice beaches.
Beautiful sky in the night.
However.
We might not be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orcas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Before 9 a.m. and after 4:30 p.m. We spent 3 nights here and had an amazing time. We were here just after the Chinese New Year which is critical to the planning. The island invites hundreds of day trippers to enjoy the island and some come to connect to another day trip out to the GBR. I would suggest you familiarize yourself with the local Holidays to avoid the potential for larger crowds on a very small island. We were here during rainy season and during the slow season I guess. We got lucky with some of the most amazing day and night weather. This made our snorkeling, walking, relaxing and star gazing the best ever!!!!

The hotel staff was amazing at every turn. The food was well prepared and presented and the service, although good, has some tiny gaps here and there as the staff gets bored. But they were all very nice and very sweet. You do get a bit of VIP treatment as a hotel guest, and that makes the day trippers a bit more tolerable. Good thing is they are all gone by 4:30.

Snorkeling equipment is all inclusive for hotel guests and is amazing and at your own leisure at any time of the day. I highly, highly suggest you book the day trip to the GBR pontoon. I have never seen such underwater beauty in my entire life. It also gets you off the island for the day and returns you just as all the others start to leave.

The stars, the water, the quiet made it all worth while. You should get or bring water booty's as the sand is a bit rough. There were only a few guests staying with us so it really felt like a secluded island. The staff varies in their knowledge about island and water things, so ask a few people. On our last night a family of four arrived, two young kids. God was watching over us as the serenity was quickly gone with to small ones around after hours. I'm thankful it was on our last night. I love kids, but not when I'm at a place like this. There is not much for them to do so imagine how bored and restless they will get. Yes, it's selfish to bring kids to this island. Take them to Disney.

Otherwise, this place is a slice of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yumyumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We've just spent two nights on Green Island, as a family of four. It was a fantastic way for the kids to snorkel the Great Barrier Reef. Included for free in our package was as many glass bottomed boat trips as we wanted, sunset drinks on the beach, fish feeding, nature walk, rainforest boardwalk, star gazing. All -apart from the glass bottomed boat- are done when the day guests have left the island. It is a bit mad when the day guests are there, but they are not allowed into the resort area, which has a shady private pool. They don't get there til after 9am, which is plenty of time for an early morning snorkel, and they go at 4.30, leaving you more time to snorkel in peace.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank oligeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights on Green Island. The weather was not the best - it was the rainy season. The staff looked after us very well. We had a good room - number 2, not far from reception and we could hear the sounds of the waves.
The food was good and not as expensive as I had expected. You can take an excellent picnic to the beach rather than eating in the restaurant. We tried, but the weather was against us, so ate it in the restaurant instead.
The rails (birds) are a bit of a pest and you need to be careful with food in the open, especially around the food areas.
It turns into a different and very private island after 4.30 pm.
One disappointing aspect was that our nature guide was very good on the sea and birds but seemed to know little of the plants and trees.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeffandLiz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Island
16.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
20.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
17.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
17.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
17.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 64 in Cairns
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Resort

Property: Green Island Resort
Address: Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 27 km across the Coral Sea from Cairns in Tropical North Queensland, Green Island Resort is luxury on the Great Barrier Reef. With just 46 suites nestled amongst the rainforest and secluded from the day visitor facilities, this world-class eco-sensitive resort offers a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, first class service and unparalleled access to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing