We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHY WOULD YOU GO ANYWHERE BUT?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This resort delivers above all expectations. If you are seeking a romantic getaway to rekindle a relationship. A place to take a loved one on your honeymoon. This place will certainly deliver ever expectation. Leave the resort, don't leave the resort. There is as much or as little as you would like on this quaint island.

The rooms themselves are elegant, spotless and classic. The design and decor exude luxury. From marble fixtures to timeless hardwood floor and panelling. This is how a true resort should be.

The rooms were quiet and surrounded by a manicured tropical landscape. Far North Queensland at its best. Luxury at your fingertips.

Every detail has been thought of in the development of this resort, from the option of dining on the beach with your loved one (an option of purchasing a picnic hamper or a more substantial meal), to having a meal in the restaurant or just simply ordering room service. This island has every romantic aspect covered.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked to be well above standard and maintained exceptionally well considered the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quantumrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

If we're rekindling romances than we're doing a job properly:) Thank you quantumrae for your wonderful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 935 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. Unfortunately they don't have two bedroom units so we were bunked in with the kids. We were a little put off on arrival as our luggage was damaged and they would not take responsibility for it 'as they couldn't trace where it could have happened'. The room was nice and clean with a beautiful outlook over the poo and gardens. The resort is divided away from the day trippers so is quite peaceful and even more so when they all go home. At 5 there is fish feeding which is amazing followed by free sunset drinks. If you're up to it you can also go star gazing at 8 and a nature walk at 9. The breakfasts are beautiful but the local birds do harras you. We went to dinner at the restaurant one night which was lovely. I had the bugs while my wife had a seafood medley. Both excellent. Typical kids menu though. Otherwise you can have room service. The only bad thing about food on the island is the variety. There is not a lot to choose from unfortunately. Plus there is no where to buy alcohol besides the bar so bring a couple of bottles with you if you can. Similarly for snacks etc. Snorkiling is amazing, especially if you go out on one of the boats. Besides the luggage incident there were two other things that let the service down here. Firstly it took them 16 hours to remove our room service dishes from the front door which became ant ridden. Even after being told about them 3 times. The other thing was that once after our room was made up they left te door unlocked which was not good for security. All these things aside, I would recommend coming here for a few nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Dinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi Dr_Dinosaur,

Thank you for your awesome positive feedback and your constructive criticisms. We take all feedback very seriously and next time you stay hopefully we'll earn that last star and get a 5/5 star review:).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked a 1 night accommodation package on the island at the special price of $315 and this included island transfers, breakfast, glass bottom boat tour, use of snorkel, lifevest, flippers, stinger suits, beach towels and kayaks. Also included was fish feeding off the jetty at 5pm, complimentary drinks after that as the sun went down, star gazing off the jetty with the big telescope at 8pm and a wildlife walk with our torches at 9pm. We were greeted by Sandy as we stepped off the boat and he escorted us to our suite explaining where everything was on the way. The island is a really beautiful place with a top-class resort and after the day-trippers leave at 4.30pm it is so secluded and peaceful we could have been the only people there. We did not take phones or lappy's and spent our time swimming in the resort pool, walking the boardwalks and the beach right around the island, and looking at the fish and turtles off the jetty. I tried snorkelling and we both had a go in the tandem kayak. Lifesavers are on duty during the day which is great for families with young children and beginner snorkellers. We saw lots of turtles and untold numbers of fish and the glass bottom boat was excellent. All guides were very knowledgeable, pleasant and helpful as were all the staff there. The resort is very well maintained and there was always someone cleaning something. The pools are crystal clear and cleaned every morning. We were most impressed with the high standard of our suite, it even had a separate bath and shower. The general manager seemed to be out and about everywhere and I saw her kneel under a bench to pick up a discarded brochure and bin it. One of the chefs stopped to chat to us and I told him how good the prawns were the night before and could we have them again.. he said they would not be on the menu again but he would see what he could do.. that night we were offered the prawns.. it is this attention to detail that makes a place special! Breakfast was superb with a large variety of food. I have 2 comments to make: the toaster was almost out of my reach (I am 5ft short) and I struggled to put the bread in: the music (if you can call it that) was loud which made talking difficult - I asked nicely could they turn it down but there was negligible difference in the volume.
Checkout was handled efficiently by Julian and we were sorry to leave.
I must say that if we could get the same deal again we would return however we would not pay the full price of $718 a night.

Room Tip: Room 23 was ground floor, very private and not too close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

JanMushroom,

WOW!! right back at you! What a review, thank you so much. And thank you for noticing all the small things that we try to get right to make you're experience an unforgettable one.

Be sure to send us your email address so we can keep you up to date on any more special pricing that comes up.

(p.s. Being of average Hobbit height myself I feel your pain about the toaster:))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were connecting with a barrier reef cruise so allowed for a 2 night stay here beforehand.It was a most restful place with high standard rooms and most quiet.Nice beach and seems all quite modern. Even Internet access but costs extra. Only negative is the high cost of dinners in the restaurant but you have no where else so the can charge, but the meals are good.Would like to return one day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeprooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Janeprooky we'll be happy to have you back anytime! Thank you for your kind words.

And next time you're here you will have free wifi internet access!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our 1st stay here and hope it wont be the last. ok you get bulk ppl during the day, but u are busy also, so not such a big deal. You wake in the morning and there is no sound except the birds, it is so quiet and peaceful. All staff are excellent and housekeeping the best I have come across. Have travelled a bit, and would easy rate here #1. You wont be sorry. Also you must do outer reef cruise, doesnt matter if you have never snorkelled they will look after you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi thommo9358,

with a review like that you've earned yourself a complimentary 'Free thank you hug' for the next time you are over on the island!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave that feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

With 3 days to be on the Great Barrier Reef (with a husband who does not swim) I knew this was going to be a challenge. I chose Green Island as I thought there would be less pressure on him and would give us a rest from a month long trip in NZ and Australia. I was right. From check in to check out, service was excellent--totally top notch. While I questioned whether this was too "pricey" for our mid range budgets, this was the real deal and a memorable part of our trip. Yes, there are throngs of people who go to the island for the day, but it is not a reason to not go and after they leave you have the entire island to yourself with only 46 other guests. The ride out is a little over an hour and the island is a beautiful little cay which also has a rain forest. The rooms are beautiful, private with decks and secluded away from day visitors. Pool and restaurants great. Breakfast was amazing. Watch out for the bird named Sausage who stole mine off my plate.You are outfitted with a lycra suit, fins, mask and snorkel, vest when you arrive and keep them at your room for the entire stay. You can snorkel right off the beach which was a great way for my husband to reach his comfort level and you definitely see fish--lots of fish and turtles and even sharks ( won't bother you.) Under the jetty is the best place to snorkel. At 3PM the island becomes your own paradise and I suggest you take the 35 mins walk around it at sunset. Five PM fish feeding and night time nature walks to see turtles resting near shore are awesome. The croc show on island is actually worth the visit to see GIANT crocs jump out of the water to be fed chicken. Really amazing and fast. Part of the package is a trip to the outer reef to a large dive platform. This also worked well as it is roped off and there are life guards. There are all kinds of fish, a great buffet lunch and a huge wrasse fish named Wally who actually poses for pictures. We loved this cay break in our fast paced "down under" trip and would highly recommend it. Worth the cost--the memories are priceless and my non swimmer husband will testify to it.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, maybe away from pool is you want more privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Principalcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi Principalcheryl,

so glad you got to meet Wally the photobombing Wrasse and old Cassius the largest croc in captivity!

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback.

Go Celtics!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a one night stay on Friday. Staff and facilities are fantastic, so much to do - one night is not enough !
It is amazing to have the island to yourselves in the evening and the next morning when the day trippers have left and soak in the atmosphere and relax ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartyInCairnsOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green_Island_Resort, Manager at Green Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hi MartylnCairnsOz,

You're 100% right:) Thank you for your great feedback!

(remember as well that as a local you get an awesome locals rate all year round - so hopefully you'll get that 2nd night very soon:))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Island
16.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
17.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,313 reviews
17.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
17.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
20.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Resort

Address: Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Price Range: $378 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 27 km across the Coral Sea from Cairns in Tropical North Queensland, Green Island Resort is luxury on the Great Barrier Reef. With just 46 suites nestled amongst the rainforest and secluded from the day visitor facilities, this world-class eco-sensitive resort offers a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, first class service and unparalleled access to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing