We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back after 19 year hiatus and Geoff and crew still deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Keppel Island Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Back after 19 year hiatus and Geoff and crew still deliver”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I met at Geoff's original property Keppel Kampout in 1994. Kiwi meets Pom, and after a few 'test tubes' at the Wreck Bar the chemistry was right. We have now returned with our two kids aged 6 and 8.

Day one and I'm already lying on the beach writing a review, thanks to the excellent mobile coverage here on Keppel.

We've got two tents and they're fantastic. Comfy beds, lamps, and oscillating fan. All other facilities are on par with the experience we expected. Hot showers, well equipped kitchen, and clean facilities. Only tip I'd give is to manage perishables and frozen goods carefully as the fridges get a real workout with constant opening and closing.

If you're cool with the self-catering 'glamping' or cabin experience, you won't find a better place on Keppel. It's the staff who make the difference and you'll find out how down-to-earth and easy going they are from the moment you're met at the ferry.

Great Keppel remains a favourite and, if managed appropriately, I believe it will thrive with the planned new resort. As long as the island maintains the balance and caters for all markets, while caring for the environment, Central Qld will reap the benefits and drag more of us up on an 8 hour road trip oddessey from Brisbane.

P.s. To the dog loving boaters, leave your mangey mutts at home. I don't appreciate my beach towel being 'sprayed' on

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graydudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    39
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
56
69
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013

For our schoolies trip for 2013 we chose to stay at the Keppel House. The accommodation was great, giving great views of the island and in an ideal location next to the beach! the managers of the house were amazing with helping us carrying our bags from the ferry to the house, to leaving then place looking amazing for when we arrived. the island is a perfect place for friends to have a holiday. The water is as clear as a mirror and beaches of gold. Great Keppel Island is a perfect place to go, and Keppel House is the perfect place to stay. It's facilities and setup is ideal! My holiday at Great Keppel Island I will never forget.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had a double pitched tent with shared facilities. The tent was spacious and airy, with the ability to open all the sides up leaving just mesh, letting the air through. It was set in amongst trees and had a cool verandah with a table and chairs. The resort was very quiet - apart from many and various bird calls, of course.
The kitchen is excellent, clean, well organised and well equipped. No WiFi.
We were met off the ferry and a 4x4 transported our bags up the beach to the resort.
We were given snorkel, masks and flippers without charge, together with advice as to where the best places to snorkel were. Maps for walking were also available, more accurate than the ones found elsewhere.
We brought enough food for most meals and there is a small shop for basics. The managers also "found" other things when people were in need!
We planned to eat at the pizza place on the island but it was closed - might be open at the weekend we were told. The only alternative was the Hideaway, which is nice, licensed and offers a limited selection of food.
Great Keppel Island is beautiful if you want peace and quiet, nice beaches and walking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great Keppel Island (GKI) is a marvellous spot for a do-nothing holiday, and the GKI Holiday Village is just the place for this.

We booked a week in Dolphin Cottage, and were not disappointed - lovely relaxing time, thanks to mine host Steve, his mate Clive (who greeted us at the ferry), and their troupe of backpackers-turned-assistants. Clive met us on Fisherman's Beach as the ferry arrived (no wharf), and ferried our bags and food to our front door whilst my wife & I enjoyed a stroll along the beach to the campsite.

And that was about the most organised we were for the entire week. The Village advertises activities such as snorkelling and canoeing, but we turned a blind and lazy eye to that - preferring instead to go walking, swimming, beachcombing, or being entertained by the local wildlife.

You need to bring all your own food supplies. If you are staying for up to a week, you could probably (depending on the size of your household) get away with bringing in long-life milk, cereal, barbeque chickens, fruit & veg, etc (and very healthy this is, too!). You should allow a day in Rockhampton or Yeppoon just before your trip to GKI to organise your tucker - the local transfer service (Little Johnny's Tours) allows 30 minutes in Yeppoon for food shopping before taking you on to Rosslyn Harbour for the the ferry, but this is not enough time (certainly would have been insufficient for us).

If you are staying for longer, you can order in supermarket supplies from Yeppoon via Steve. Or you can do a day-return from GKI to Rosslyn Bay and Yeppoon for shopping if the ferry timetable allows this; when we were there, this would have only been possible on Fridays. Bear in mind that the return ferry fare as at November 2013 is AUD $52 return + taxi from Rosslyn Harbour to Yeppoon.

Do not depend on the GKI food outlets. The pizza shop was only open for 1 night in our 8-day visit, and the pub next door only sold standard fried pub food with indifferent service. The general store sells NO perishable food - not even milk.

Dolphin Cottage got a little chilly in August - compounded by the use of industrial-strength plastic rather than glass on the master bedroom doors to the verandah, plus the absence of power from about 11pm to 6am. But we just moved from here to the other bedroom, just off the main room - problem solved!

There is no wi fi - and amen to this, I say, in this rush-rush age! - but there is good mobile phone/data coverage. Dolphin Cottage has no TV - again, not a bad thing, I say! - but also has no radio. You might like to bring a small radio receiver, for general entertainment as well as back-up to mobile internet for news and emergency info.

Dolphin Cottage is physically not a 5-star resort building; but if you want to simply relax, enjoy GKI, and not worry about things much, then this - and the Holiday Village - is the place to be. (Interestingly, no locks on the doors; I am not sure what to make of this.)

My wife and I had a wonderful and full week of walking, swimming and relaxing. We will certainly be back, before the ambience of this lovely location is changed forever by the redevelopment of the nearby currently-derelict resort. Thanks to Steve & Company for a lovely vacation!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lysurgis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a great time at this village.Geoff and Chris were so friendly and generous with their time and gear.The tents were very clean and comfy. Remember your torch for night when the lights go out.The kitchen was enormous,well stocked with equipment and utensils.Outside the kitchen was a communal table where we enjoyed sampling lobster that had been caught by one of the employees.Chris took my husband for a snorkelling trip with equipment supplied.The village was kept clean and was quiet and relaxing.It's close to the beach and the island walks took us up to the old homestead.I would recommend it as a great little getaway for peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 725AmandaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Great Keppel Holiday Village was exactly what I was hoping to find for my island getaway. I dont think I stopped grinning the whole time I was there. The tents were large, clean and very comfortable. The amenities and communal kitchen well ordered and very clean. Possums & the funny Curlews were inquisitive and cute too.

I was also happy to find no TV or blasting radios. Jo and Ray are excellent at their job and with Christina assisting them, we found our stay troublefree, friendly and very happy. We were also invited to a communal dinner and enjoyed interacting with a variety of international visitors.

Stunning white beaches and blue waters just took my breath away while the peacefulness and beauty of the island added to the charm.

The snorkelling around Shelvings and Monkey Beach was mind blowing!!! We swam with turtles and sharks, saw the beauty and color of the fish and coral and walked along the quite yet gorgeous beaches!!!

Even the mangrove swamp with its myriad of wildlife including the tiny blue crabs, was beautiful. The island is full of walking tracks and every view is stunning!! The Coral Cruise out to the wreck and Middle Island was excellent as well. We watched an array of fish including turtles through the glass bottom boat and even a few turtles popped their heads up above the water to watch us!!

This village is very family orientated but also excellent for couples wanting some time away together and of course, ideal for the young travellers wanting something different from the hustle and bustle of towns or larger resorts.

I am defnately going back. I just hope the new marina and resort planned do not ruin the unique charm and way of life on this fabulous island.

Sue M

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandin North, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My family (incl 3 kids aged 13/11/7) were on a family caravanning holiday to Qld from Victoria and were fortunate enough to check out GKI Holliday Village. We had a great time exploring beautiful beaches. Self catering helped keep within budget. Geoff and staff couldn't have been more welcoming - providing use of snorkelling gear, paddle boards, kitchen, all facilities, etc.
Highly recommend this as an option to all travelling families. Great vibe at camp kitchen, great to meet other travellers, all full of smiles. Loved the sunsets over fishermans beach. Kids rate as trip highlight which included Fraser Is, Noosa, Rainbow Beach etc.Thanks for great memories.
John V

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Keppel Island
8.8 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#2 of 3 in Yeppoon
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
#3 of 7 in Great Keppel Island
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
9.1 mi away
Emu Park Motel
Emu Park Motel
#2 of 2 in Emu Park
19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Keppel Island Backpackers
Great Keppel Island Backpackers
#4 of 7 in Great Keppel Island
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Keppel Island Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Keppel Island Holiday Village

Property: Great Keppel Island Holiday Village
Address: Lot 2, The Esplanade | Fisherman's Beach, Great Keppel Island, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Great Keppel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Great Keppel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Keppel Island Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Great Keppel Island Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing