We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Hidden Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Keppel Island Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We just returned from 4 days at the most amazing island paradise ever! Our host Geoff, and his friendly staff were accommodating beyond belief! Simple, yet charming, accommodations range from a platform tent (which we found very comfortable) to rooms and family style cabins which were available at a very reasonable price. We enjoyed the bush walks, snorkeling the coral reefs right offshore, walks on the secluded, long white sandy beaches, and the fantastic sunsets. We took all our own food (which we prefer to do on trips anyhow) and enjoyed sharing the well equipped kitchen, BBQ area, and eating area. The facilities are very basic, but clean and when we needed a couple items we didn't have, the staff cheerfully found what we needed. We plan to return next year for longer with more family members. I would highly recommend the Holiday Village to anyone who is looking for a reasonably priced quiet, yet exotic getaway.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 301Bett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 210 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and another couple spent Easter at the Keppel Island Holiday Village - what a surprise it was. Jeff met us at the ferry when it arrived and such a welcoming person! We all agreed that 3 nights was nowhere near long enough to enjoy not only Jeff's hospitality but this beautiful island. The Village is well equipped with huge fridges and freezers to share and a fantastic community kitchen which is shut up around 9.30pm. We had no problems with food missing etc which was surprising to us and met some wonderful people. Jeff does not tolerate any nonsense so is a great place for young families, bushwalkers and the older folk who love bush walking and water sports. We will definately be returning for a longer period of time. We took all our own food which paid off as there's only a pizza place which apparently has beautiful pizzas and another cafe style eating area for burgers etc. Jeff has the village well equipped with BBQ and heaps of seating to enjoy your meal. The tents had a double bed with bedside tables and wooden floor and outdoor setting where you can just sit and relax in the quiet. We found the village very quiet and nothing whatsoever to complain about and this was my first time "camping". Thank you Jeff for your hospitality and for making our stay so enjoyable, we certainly recommend staying at Keppel Island Holiday Village.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keentraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My partner and I have just had a relaxing 4 day stay in a tent in this wonderful KI Holiday Village. Our host, Geoff, is a real character and made us so very welcome. Thanks Geoff! I would recommend this location to anyone who wants to get away from the rat race, knows how to camp and be self sufficient. No flat screen TV's here! Ha Ha! The kitchen and toilet facilities are basic, clean and more than adequate. It was fun cooking with others and getting to meet fellow campers. There are great walks to be done, pristine beaches to enjoy and reefs to snorkel. We absolutely love this place and will definitely return. Cheers Chris and Kevin

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriskevBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in Dolphin Cottage, which unfortunately, is now in a much more run-down state than the website photos, but the wildlife around it was prolific and entertaining. However, the general state of the island, as the main resort has closed, is quite sad and one gets the feeling that nature is reclaiming it all. I realise this isn't necessarily a bad thing, but the Holiday Village really needs some money spending on it.

Geoff is lovely, and really helpful, and obviously very busy. He was great fetching wine and beer over from the mainland for us. We were without electricity a couple of nights, and felt, very isolated, which might not suit everyone. But the beaches are superb, and you can easily be the only people on them. Mind the sandflies if you have problems with them though! Also there was no food to be bought at all as everywhere was closed, so make sure you take plenty. Although the Island Pizza is superb, but was only open one night when we were there. The water sports had limited availability, and it was difficult to pin somebody down to actually get hold of snorkels or a canoe, and the guided trips didn't happen.

A lovely island, with beautiful views, but the bushwalking was quite challenging as the trails didn't seem very widely used.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Claire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Really Nice spot, very affordable by Australian Standards. You could follow the herd to Fraser Island or you could come here and have the whole island all to yourself. Geoff is a really friendly host who'll do everything he can to help you have a great stay including let you have snorkeling equipment for free.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seamus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very happy to find out you could stay on the Great Keppel Island. Stayed at the holiday Village in dorms, $35 per night, great value for a lovely resort on a paradise island. resort itself is set within the natural surroundings of eucalyptus trees. resort has dorms, tents and cabins, depending on budget. the owner geff personaliy meets you on the beach from the ferry and takes your luggage in his 4x4 to the resort. it is only a 2minute walk from the beach but saves carrying heavy bags. geff has a beautifully quiet resort where you can truely relax on the island for a few days and be on beautiful beaches all by yourself. you need to bring all food/alcohol with you though as no shops on island. Accommodation includes free snorkelling gear. Due to the quiet resort, great owner and amazingly beautiful island this was one of the best places I've stayed in Australia. Ended up staying an extra night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I came over to Great Keppel for a few nights in January as part of a month long tour of Queensland. What we didn't realise about the Island before arriving is that it used to host two big resorts which are currently closed (for refurbishment until further notice). Essentially, we had the island to ourselves which, and after we got over the initial eeriness, it was amazing. We snorkelled with the turtles and did huge walks over the island. Geoff and Angela were great hosts. We stayed in the double tents and they were good value for money. You do get access to electricity, so BYO laptop with movies etc if you get easily bored. Kitchen was great, although the other facilities could definitely use an upgrade. All in all, if you love nature and serenity, get yourself over to great keppel before this beautiful island gets overrun by tourists again. PS Take Bushmans insect repellant as they are BRUTAL! PPS Backpackers on a budget -- Geoff and Angela will offer you free accommodation in return for three hours work per day, a perfect arrangement for those going cheap

Room Tip: BYO Entertainment, laptops, ipods etc. You do have access to power points, even in the tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Keppel Island
8.8 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
108 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#3 of 3 in Yeppoon
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
#3 of 7 in Great Keppel Island
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Keppel Island Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Keppel Island Holiday Village

Address: Lot 2, The Esplanade | Fisherman's Beach, Great Keppel Island, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Great Keppel Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Great Keppel Island
Price Range: $74 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Keppel Island Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and holiday getaway where you can rest, swim, snorkel, bushwalk and enjoy the peacefulness of a remote, natural island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Great Keppel Island Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing