We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Keppel Island Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed in Dolphin Cottage, which unfortunately, is now in a much more run-down state than the website photos, but the wildlife around it was prolific and entertaining. However, the general state of the island, as the main resort has closed, is quite sad and one gets the feeling that nature is reclaiming it all. I realise this isn't necessarily a bad thing, but the Holiday Village really needs some money spending on it.

Geoff is lovely, and really helpful, and obviously very busy. He was great fetching wine and beer over from the mainland for us. We were without electricity a couple of nights, and felt, very isolated, which might not suit everyone. But the beaches are superb, and you can easily be the only people on them. Mind the sandflies if you have problems with them though! Also there was no food to be bought at all as everywhere was closed, so make sure you take plenty. Although the Island Pizza is superb, but was only open one night when we were there. The water sports had limited availability, and it was difficult to pin somebody down to actually get hold of snorkels or a canoe, and the guided trips didn't happen.

A lovely island, with beautiful views, but the bushwalking was quite challenging as the trails didn't seem very widely used.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1Claire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2012

Really Nice spot, very affordable by Australian Standards. You could follow the herd to Fraser Island or you could come here and have the whole island all to yourself. Geoff is a really friendly host who'll do everything he can to help you have a great stay including let you have snorkeling equipment for free.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seamus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Very happy to find out you could stay on the Great Keppel Island. Stayed at the holiday Village in dorms, $35 per night, great value for a lovely resort on a paradise island. resort itself is set within the natural surroundings of eucalyptus trees. resort has dorms, tents and cabins, depending on budget. the owner geff personaliy meets you on the beach from the ferry and takes your luggage in his 4x4 to the resort. it is only a 2minute walk from the beach but saves carrying heavy bags. geff has a beautifully quiet resort where you can truely relax on the island for a few days and be on beautiful beaches all by yourself. you need to bring all food/alcohol with you though as no shops on island. Accommodation includes free snorkelling gear. Due to the quiet resort, great owner and amazingly beautiful island this was one of the best places I've stayed in Australia. Ended up staying an extra night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I came over to Great Keppel for a few nights in January as part of a month long tour of Queensland. What we didn't realise about the Island before arriving is that it used to host two big resorts which are currently closed (for refurbishment until further notice). Essentially, we had the island to ourselves which, and after we got over the initial eeriness, it was amazing. We snorkelled with the turtles and did huge walks over the island. Geoff and Angela were great hosts. We stayed in the double tents and they were good value for money. You do get access to electricity, so BYO laptop with movies etc if you get easily bored. Kitchen was great, although the other facilities could definitely use an upgrade. All in all, if you love nature and serenity, get yourself over to great keppel before this beautiful island gets overrun by tourists again. PS Take Bushmans insect repellant as they are BRUTAL! PPS Backpackers on a budget -- Geoff and Angela will offer you free accommodation in return for three hours work per day, a perfect arrangement for those going cheap

Room Tip: BYO Entertainment, laptops, ipods etc. You do have access to power points, even in the tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Spent 2 nights, wish we had added an extra day. Beautiful island, friendly staff, gorgeous scenery, clean water and beaches. Lots of trails and rocky coves to walk to. Interesting birds and wildlife that were unafraid of people- took loads of pictures. The cabin was large, clean, comfortable beds and had a frig & table as well as large bathroom. Right next to a hamock and picnic table. Communal kitchen close by. Beaches with in a couple of minutes of walking with many small private coves. Friendly rainbow lorikeets came to visit during the day and several fun evening wildlife like possoms and curlews.to see. Sunsets & tons of bright stars at night amazing. Friendly staff (Angela especially ) helpful and available. Only concern was the warning about stingers but they had stinger suits available if you wanted them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This natural island is a real gem, coral reef, fishing, boating, snorkelling, cool breezes. An assett to any community including you.

You can literally go for a 5 minute walk (or 5hr) and be totally alone. Perfect for an excape from the rat race or the relo's :-) The teenagers loved their independence, No stranger danger risks here. Perfect.

Basic shared facilities in kitchen/ amenities, be prepared to talk to strangers if you like.

Room Tip: The "Tents" have wooden floor platform, a double bed and bedding plus fan, very clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We really enjoyed the holiday villiage. The BBQ was fantastic. We particulary enjoyed the use of hiring out the kayaks. We made our way to middle island and had the beautiful island to ourselves and on a separate day we kayaked to shelving beach and saw some turtles poking their heads up in the water. It was fantastic. A great and beautiful place to stay. Geoff was a very kind host too!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teamlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Keppel Island
8.8 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Emu Park
108 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#3 of 3 in Yeppoon
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
#3 of 7 in Great Keppel Island
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
Show Prices

Been to Great Keppel Island Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Keppel Island Holiday Village

Address: Lot 2, The Esplanade | Fisherman's Beach, Great Keppel Island, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Great Keppel Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Great Keppel Island
Price Range: $76 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Keppel Island Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation and holiday getaway where you can rest, swim, snorkel, bushwalk and enjoy the peacefulness of a remote, natural island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Great Keppel Island Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing