We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite place on Fraser Island”
Review of Lake Wabby

Lake Wabby
Book In Advance
More Info
$248.33*
and up
2-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tag-Along Tour at Beach House from Hervey Bay
More Info
$351.67*
and up
3-Day Fraser Island 4WD Tour from Brisbane or the Gold Coast
More Info
$476.64*
and up
3-Day Fraser Island Tour with Kingfisher Bay Resort Stay from Brisbane...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Favourite place on Fraser Island”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I did a two day tour of Fraser Island and of all the places I saw, this was definitely the most breathtaking. The tree-lined walk up to it is pretty but nothing prepares you for when you climb up to the top and see a huge desert in front of you. We spent a long time exploring the sand dunes, some of which were so high you had to take a running jump to get to the bottom. The actual lake itself is down at the bottom of a huge sand dune and I won't lie, it's very cold. Still worth a dip though and I wish we'd stayed longer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    59
    20
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stopped off here as part of our 2 day Fraser Island tour, it's beautiful. I would do the tour again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Gem on FI!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

As I've said on other reviews, anything on Fraser Island takes one back generations. Its so pristine and idyllic! Generations of Indigineous peoples
roamed and made camps around these areas and its so good that this generation can come to appreciate all this in its natural state.

Helpful?
Thank Australiangroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bloody long walk but worth it”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

2.5km in, 2.5km out
Not a stenuous walk
Plenty of places to stop and have a drink of water as you walk
The sand blow once you get there is pretty awesome to see
It was cool on the day that we were there so no one was swimming

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vmatsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lake Wabby, Fraser Island, Qld”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This beautiful lake has been formed by a sand blow over a long time. It is a fresh water lake which is slowly being reduced in size by the encroaching sand dune. Popular with swimmers. 4WD vehicles are parked some distance from the lake so access to the lake is gained by a km or so walking track which is be steep in parts.

Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies-R-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Wabby also viewed

Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
 
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Lake Wabby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing