We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night as alternative to Camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurong Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in the Eurong Beach resort for one night during our Trip to Fraser Island.

We had a three bedroom apartment with a small kitchenette. The room was clean, but quite old and would need a renovation at some stage.

We had dinner at the resort as well (Ozzy themed Buffet), food was OK, price as well. 22 AUD for the buffet. The breakfast was really disappointing though, we went for the Continental breakfast, which only consisted of toast and cereals, very very basic.

All in all: It is a place to stay for one night (if you do not want to do camping), but that is about it. I would have not stayed there for another night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 910 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Fraser Island as I take photographers there on 5 day photographic tours. I visited Eurong many years before the present resort was built when there were only primitive buildings, a barbeque and a petrol pump. Today the accommodation is basic yet comfortable. I use the 2 bedroom apartments that sleep up to 6 people and have a fully equipped kitchen, not that we cook as the resort meals are good and reasonably priced. The al a carte dining room is excellent value. We do not visit the pub as it’s cheaper to take your own drinks to consume in you room before diner. Everything on Fraser Island has to be transported long distances by ocean going barge and 4WD trucks, the cost of which is reflected in retail prices.
There is another hotel at Kingfisher Bay situated on the Western side of the island which is far more upmarket, but not well positioned to explore the island. The track to cross to the centre and eastern shore is very rough and only accomplished 4 wheel drivers can negotiate it. As many of the island’s unique attractions are on or near the eastern shore, Eurong Beach Resort is perfectly positioned. Even though I am a regular visitor, I have never asked for, or received any discounts or privileges.
I can highly recommend that you visit this world heritage listed island. It’s paradise.

Room Tip: If there are more than 2 of you, the apartments are good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for Easter. What more do you want than a place to sleep, shower and eat when travelling? It may not be top notch but the facilities are adequate for your stay, as yes you are on the worlds largest sand island so if you don't wipe the sand off your feet b4 going to bed well you will have sand in your bed lol. Don't expect Asian 5 star "resort" as this is a real Aussie lifestyle beach experience. We will be back !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sues2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Sues2_12
It's always great to see a local holidaying in their own backyard and we thank you for your kind comments during your recent stay. On behalf of our whole Eurong team, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Fraser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Terrible experience. We arrived at 2:30 pm went to the checked in to a very over priced room. We then decided to check out the pub what a joke. Staff were rude and even though there was a cocktail list they refused to make any cocktails. We enquired where the smoking area was and were directed to stand in the rain next to the filthy mops and buckets. We then headed to to the bakery where there was 2 sausage rolls and 6 people all waiting to pounce on them. We ended up with one which was a waste as its a foul.
We then went back to the room to wait till 630 for the buffet. We were tired and starving but there was no food around.
At 630 we raced down to the buffet and what a joke. Seriously I have had better food on a school camp. Now we are regular campers and rarely stay in hotels and we will eat basically anything. But this was total crap. Same with the morning buffet of toast, rubber eggs and tin bake beans and spaghetti.
So after a very dissatisfied dinner we went back to the room and climbed into bed to find the sheets were covered in sand. Just Great!! Anyhow dusted of the sheets and went to bed only to be woken by cockroaches crawling all over the room and kitchen. We took photos and presented them to reception the next morning. Where we were directed to fill in a form and received a lame half hearted apology.
What a joke ...never again will we stay at Eurong beach resort

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Country-lover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Country-lover84
Thank you for taking the time to review in this forum and for your guest comment card and verbal feedback. Again, please accept our sincere apologies that your stay has not met expectations.

I want to assure you that we take customer service and online feedback seriously. We are currently running a Bed and Breakfast deal of $55 per person, per night (twin share) which has had extremely good feedback from our guests, so we are genuinely sorry you felt your room overpriced. This rate is available for guests who pre-book and those who walk-in, like yourselves.

After reading your comments, we have reviewed the security tape in the Beach Bar to identify service issues. I want to assure you, we've also just employed a new Food and Beverage Manager and he will be reviewing all of your F&B and service-related comments with his team. We also encourage all in-house guests to read the compendium, which identifies opening hours for all of our outlets.

Please accept our apologies that the directions given to you regarding the smoking area were unclear - as the covered area you mention is not a designated area. However, there's no excuse for messy housekeeping and the area you mention has been cleared.

Thank you also for your comments regarding insects which, as you know, a a part of life when living in a sub-tropical climate. In this instance we had had a bout of extremely bad weather and insects were looking for any shelter they could. That's not acceptable, and we've been in touch with our Pest Control Contractor who has since treated all rooms again.

It is never our intention for our guests to leave unhappy and we would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail should you wish to. Our Resort Manager can be contacted on +61 7 4120 1600.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a 2 day Explorer Tour. The motel-type room was large, clean and had everything you could need. The staff were friendly and the food we ate (buffet lunch, dinner and breakfast) was really good, with a well-stocked bar. I noticed you could also dine 'a la carte' in a very attractive separate area. The pool area is large and attractive and the beach is right there. It isn't 5 star, but it had everything we needed and I'd happily make it a base for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 442DEE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Obviously, this isn't a 5 star resort.

But what you get instead is a wonderful, warm and strikingly beautiful experience on Fraser Island. The staff at Eurong are wonderful and it seemed all of them had a great sense of humour! The food is good, hearty stuff and the shop can cater for pretty much anything you may need whilst away from civilisation.

But the highlight for me was the Beach Bar. The staff there are so much fun. Danni and Joshua should be running the resort! ;P

All in all, a great experience. Not recommended for uptight people who want 5 star accommodation.

But highly recommended for anyone who wants to chill and really enjoy the spirit of Fraser Island and all it has to offer!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FATM_FAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Eurong Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear littlemcarthur
On behalf of Danni, Joshua and the rest of our Eurong Beach team - we love the vibe of your review and appreciate your candour! We hope to see you back on gorgeous, World Heritage-listed Fraser Island again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This resort is not 5stars by any means, but it would rate as a 3+star in my books. We stopped in a motel style room, the room was large and worked well for us. At $55 per person twin share including a full buffet breakfast, its well worth the rate. The downside is lack of AC in all areas of the resort. The dinning area is large and clean, but with Bain Marie going, and no AC or ceilings fans, this place becomes a sweat house. Would I return back, sure would!

Room Tip: Ask for a unit overlooking the pool. This is a 3 story walk up building, ground floor units are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gt1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
20.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,161 reviews
21.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
164 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
5,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 9 in Fraser Island
23 reviews
12.8 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
48 reviews
21.1 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurong Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurong Beach Resort

Address: Eurong Beach, Fraser Island, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range: $91 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eurong Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eurong Beach Resort's absolute beachfront position gives easy access to the vast expanse of Fraser Island's famous Seventy-Five Mile Beach. It's an easy drive up the beach to see the mighty sand blows, coloured sands, fast-flowing Eli Creek spilling into the ocean, the Maheno shipwreck, Indian Head and the Champagne Pools. The resort is also centrally placed to visit the southern lakes, which include McKenzie and Wabby, as well as the rainforests around Pile Valley and Central Station. A bakery supplies hot bread, casual snacks and coffee and there is a well-stocked general store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eurong Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurong Beach Hotel Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing