We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Verry Good Experience”

Sand Bar and Bistro
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Description: Combine The Sand Bar's Bistro casual dining experience with its stunning bush location and you've got a recipe for success. The Sand Bar's spacious decks allow glimpses of the Great Sandy Strait and poolside dining offers a taste of the Aussie lifestyle. The Sand Bar's made-to-order pizza and bistro menu hits the spot after a morning in the great outdoors... and best of all it's only a hop, skip and jump to two of the resort's inviting pools and a short stroll to the beach. Picnic in the trees and soak up the birdsong, down a cool drink in the shady deck or keep the kids amused in The Sand Bar's gaming arcade. The Sand Bar is perfect for a quick meal after a day's fun on the water. The Sand Bar is open seasonally, so in off peak and low occupancy times, it may not be operating.
hervey bay
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not A Verry Good Experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Me and my partner visited fraser island the other day and we ate at the sandbar. it was a pretty rough experience. our meals took over an hour and the service in the bistro was terrible. on a good note a young staff member named Steven in the bar who served us most of the day was lovely. him and the other young man Tom had great customer skills and excellent barman skills. and even till the end of the night we had 5 star service from the bar and lack of in the bistro. our dinner was a bit cold and we were given complimentary drinks with a romantic suggestion from the bar staff steven. when we return we hope to see all the beautiful staff again and want to point out that there is a lot of improvements needed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Sand Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear michael t
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive comments and for your kind comments regarding Tom and Steven. Please also accept my apologies for the long wait you experienced during the September school holiday period.

There is no excuse for bad service or cold food and I invite you to contact me on foodbev_mgr@kingfisherbay.com next time you visit Fraser and I will personally oversee your visit. Regards Corey Law.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    60
    40
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong NSW
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible service, poor food”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Sand Bar as day visitors, drove all the way from the other side of the island just to try the food. The Sand Bar looked great when we arrived and we were looking forward to a great meal as we were starving. Took over 5 minutes for someone to take our order, various staff walked past the counter and completely ignored us. Once we eventually ordered our meals we went to the bar and received the same non service. There were 2 staff in the bar, everytime the phone rang they were quick to answer the phone but not to serve the people at the bar. All the patrons of the bar were even joking with one another about the lack of service. As we were made to wait so long we looked around and the bar area was filthy, the floor looked like it hadn't been mopped in ages and there was mould all over the ceiling and walls. Our food arrived reasonably quickly but it was pretty bad. My husband had dry grilled fish, my son had cold chicken and I had inedible spaghetti. I only ate 2 mouthfuls and ended up eating potato crisps for lunch. It definately spoilt a lovely day on Fraser Island. Will never go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ally72B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Sand Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Ally72B
On behalf of Paul, Wayne and the team, please accept our sincere apologies for this slip in service and direction during your lunch time visit.

We have investigated the points you mention in our regular Food and Beverage meeting with our Executive Chef and outlet stuff and apologise that, on this occasion, a lack of focus has marred your time with us. If you ever do decide to come back to Fraser Island, please contact me on feedback@kingfisherbay.com and I will personally oversee your time with us. Regards Corey Law - Food and Beverage Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old style, dirty smelly toilets”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The bar has a menu and music from 15 years ago (its like a time warp), the staff are polite and friendly and toilets are offensive - they stink and certainly don't reflect a four star resort.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Sand Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear BruceR58
We have read your various reviews and apologise that we have failed to meet your expectations on this visit. With respect to The Sand Bar, our new Exec Chef and his team are just putting the finishing touches on a new menu that incorporates old favourites, like our pizza selection together with pasta, healthy and steak dishes. I've also passed your comments regarding music to our Food and Beverage Manager - who had only just changed the selection to pub favourites.

Your comments regarding the toilets have been actioned at resort level and we apologise that they were not up to par during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day pool”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Getting to Kingfisher Resort from the Eastern beach is a bit daunting. The buses that are going to the Eastern side don't like to give way and the track can be very bumpy. Once you are there you can use the pool and get something to eat at the bistro. The food is ok and the beer is cold

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Sand Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear James Y
Thanks for taking the time to post about your time on Fraser Island and for your four-star review. We've noted your comments about fellow guests and hope that you told your parents about the behaviour at the pool and that they approached our staff to help fix any problems. Happy trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful people and one of the nicest head chefs”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay at Fraser and loved the sand bar service even more . The food was all ways ready on time and was full of flavour. We got to know the head chef quite well , he is a very humorous Irish man (David Forbes) good bloke good cook awesome 10 out of 10 recommend to everyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank damien r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Sand Bar and Bistro, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear damien r
On behalf of our Head Chef 'Irish' Dave and The Sand Bar team, we'd like to thank you for your awesome ten-out-of-ten review. Dave has been kicking goals in The Sand Bar and we're suitably proud of him and his fabulous food... the jokes aren't too bad either!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar and Bistro also viewed

Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
 
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
 
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Sand Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing