We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood Platter @ $65 per person” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Clontarf, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seafood Platter @ $65 per person”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I booked the Seafood Platter option for a night away only to be very, very disappointed. The bus and ferry ride were good, got to Kingfisher Bay Reosrt and found that the Sand Bar was actually closed and that we would be located in the Maheno Resturant.

Our platters came without the Harvey Bay prawns (not a one) and no smoked salmon although this is advertised. My husband had half a mud crab and half a Moreton Bay Bug. We asked a young Asian service person if they could advise the chef but her English was severley lacking once we located another staff member we told her that the meal was missing the other half of the seafood to be told that the Chef advised her that the portions were set and he couldnt do anything about it, but would offer him a free drink!

For $65 the platter was very underwleming and certainly not up to expectation and I would not recommend this option to any potential visitors.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoandDave119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear JoandDave119
Please accept our sincere apologies that we haven't met your expectations with this product. Our Food and Beverage Manager, Stewart Burchell, has asked if you could please contact him directly on foodbev_mgr@kingfisherbay.com so he can find out the exact date of your visit (we have recently had a change with our Executive Chef) and to talk through your comments in person. We look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    1,700
    737
    318
    156
See reviews for
1,428
1,973
85
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

The surroundings are beautiful and we enjoyed our three night stay in this hotel. They really emphasize the first and last moments of your stay. Everything from the mainland terminal to the room went smoothly and service was good. The same applied to the ferry ride back to mainland terminal. They took good care of our luggage and the staff was friendly. The lobby is very nice too.
However, too many small things were overlooked. The room interior seemed to be a mixture of old and new. Not too stylish. The cleaning of the room was careless. The were water in the bathroom floor and sand in the bedroom floor before and after the cleaning. The service also came in very random times. The room itself smelled musty and mouldy. The humid climate should be no excuse for that. An example of consistent negliance was the shower curtain which was too short and too narrow. It seemed worn-out so nobody really seemed to care. It is also a little annoying that they charge you for all the extras including ferry ride, internet, breakfast, car park, day trips and wifi. Morover, there are no newspapers available for breakfast. The beakfast itself was good. In room safe in a hotel of this price level should be self-evident. The safe was available only behind the front desk which was very inconvenient .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jj77loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear jj77loves2travel
Firstly thank you for taking the time to post in this forum - it's great to read that you enjoyed your three night stay with us. I'd like to invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com so we can follow up and find out which of our Guest Environment Managers serviced your room and pass on your feedback. We also encourage readers to check out our website, where you can find which bundle ferry, breakfast and accommodation into one convenience package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We were looking forward to this as the highlight of our month's holiday unfortunately it did not come up to our expectations. First problem when we arrived at resort office on the main land the car had to into secure parking $45. We were in room 159 decor dated stayed in accommodation like this 30 years ago. Young lady at reception who had come from Brisbane could not have done more for us and saved the break. During the night my husband got up went to bathroom to be met by roaches, ants and beasties then wiped the floor to discover it was filthy. This was reported in the morning and we asked for a spray. The manager went along later and said he could see nothing well guess what they were not going to hang about. The food at breakfast was good but in the evening no one told us we had to order and when it came it was not of a good standard. Sunday we were poolside and the tables and chairs were dirty and glasses from the night before were still lying about. There was a large black bin full of dirty pool towels from Saturday and were still there when we left in the afternoon.Thanks to the young lady at the desk sorry I have forgotten her name she was from the Mantra and the driver on the Island adventure even though his bus broke down and we were stuck for 1and a half hour he went beyond the call and finished the tour even missing his ferry. We perhaps should only have been there for 1 night 2 at most but this was on the advise of our tour company and nothing to do with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Christine M
Please accept our apologies that we have not met your expectations during your stay with us. Insects are a part of sub-tropical living, however it is disappointing to read that you don't feel you were looked after. Please feel free email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with more details about your stay so we can follow up on your behalf. We're particularly interested to see who you booked with, so we can follow up with extra training about our car park pricing structure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Fraser Island is basically a huge national park, and one does not visit for a luxury island type of beach holiday, rather people come here to admire the local natural beauties. As such you can forgive Kingfisher Bay Resort's shortcomings. Whilst it sells itself as a 4.5 star accommodation manage your expectations down to an early 90s four stars. Rooms are basic, but clean and spacious. The pools not very inspiring- strongly recommend to make the deeper pool adult only. Staff are friendly and helpful, but somewhat jaded- it seems that it takes a long time to get a drink at the bar or to being helped at reception. Food options on site are ok, but they do make you feel like you are a captive audience.
Big winners are access to tours to Fraser Island, sunset drinks by the Jetty, and a very sleek check in process. Thought the formal debrief at the beginning was a little bit too much and frankly the debriefing room needs a refurb.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear youngprofessionalUK
Thank you for your various candid reviews on Trip Advisor about your time on island - we appreciate the feedback. Please be assured that we do not market ourselves as a 4.5 star property nor do we market ourselves as a luxury destination and we encourage our third party partners to do the same.

For those readers who haven't visited our property before - we offer a choice of hotel rooms or self contained villas and holiday houses (ideal for travellers who prefer to cook their own meals when on holidays). You'll find all the information you need on our website.

Great to read that you enjoyed sunset at the Jetty Hut and your Fraser Island tour and you'll be pleased to know that we have been listening to feedback and are making changes to the ranger talk when you arrive at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser Island, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I attended my nephew's wedding at Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island.

We had a wonderful time. Food was great, location awesome, people lovely.

They certainly have the place, but I think that the hotel rooms were the same as they were 20 years ago. The newer units are great, but a revamp on the hotel interior would be good. Mind that is expensive, so I get that this is not possible. Well worth a visit, I think I certainly will go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with the ocean view. Mind the others are certainly not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joclord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear joclord
Great to hear that you enjoyed yourself at your nephew's wedding - Fraser Island is certainly making a name for itself as a desirable destination wedding location. It's also great to read that you'll be coming back to visit us again - please be sure to check our website as we offer great seasonal deals. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The accommodation units are spread around a large area just inland from the beach and we have a unit on the upper floor with a balcony that looks out onto ‘bondhu’ type vegetation and trees.
The Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort in some ways is reminiscent of Centre Parcs….but classier! The room is lovely - the view enthralling. We listen to the birds going to sleep and then the cicadas starting their chorus as the night draws in.
We decided to eat in the main restaurant. Sitting at our table we finally managed to attract the attention of one of the servers who tells us that we must order our food at the entrance desk, rather than give an order to one of them. Apparently we had entered from a side door and had not passed the entrance desk. Hmmm! It has taken about 15 minutes for us to be told this. Pity it wasn’t made clear on arrival. Still, the food is pretty good when it comes
We did not book this ourselves - it was part of a package that was put together for us - so the 'Eco Friendly' aspect did not form part of our decision to stay here.
It is highly recommended that you take the island adventure tour. It is unlikely that you will ever experience anything like this elsewhere! If possible/affordable take the aircraft flight over the island. This takes off and lands on the beach. From the air you can really apprciate how this island is made purely from sand.

Room Tip: Make sure you order your food @ the entrance desk to the restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatmanBanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear hatmanBanstead
On behalf of David and the team, thank you for your kind comments about your time with us on Fraser Island - we're pleased that the location, setting and our feathered locals contributed to an enjoyable stay. Thank you also for your comments regarding your restaurant experience - we'll certainly make sure that we look at the way we deliver this information on check-in and whilst at the resort. We wish you the best with the rest of your Aussie trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very Eco friendly - and can you appreciate what they are trying to achieve - but if you want luxury this is not the place.... However you don't really get a choice if you want to visit Fraser island. We wish we'd just done a day safari instead as this place didn't come up to a 4*.
We decided to do our own 4x4 tour in a jeep which was great fun!! you can get easily stuck tho - so be aware!

Lake McKenzie was unforgettable... so make sure you visit.

The hotel food was tasteless in the main restaurant - the bookable restaurant food was amazing so I would definitely recommend using this one.

Hotel rooms are very hostel like!... Pillows underneath the covers need renewing - so don't look!!
Pool area glass needs a good clean....

Make sure you bring your Mossie spray!! you will getting bitten alive here....

All in all a lovely island but not up to our luxury standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Fruitbabe
Thank you for taking the time to review and we sincerely apologise that we have not meet your expectations in a number of areas.

Please be assured that the resort has never marketed ourselves as a luxury retreat and we certain train and encourage the third party partners we work with not to do so either in their own marketing collateral. We'd certainly be interested to know how you booked your stay, so we can follow up on these comments.

It's great to read you enjoyed Lake McKenzie and your meal in our Seabelle restaurant which combines bush flavours with local produce. We would love you to contact us direct on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with more information about where you stayed, so we can follow up on your remaining comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.7 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing