We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I attended my nephew's wedding at Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island.

We had a wonderful time. Food was great, location awesome, people lovely.

They certainly have the place, but I think that the hotel rooms were the same as they were 20 years ago. The newer units are great, but a revamp on the hotel interior would be good. Mind that is expensive, so I get that this is not possible. Well worth a visit, I think I certainly will go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with the ocean view. Mind the others are certainly not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joclord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear joclord
Great to hear that you enjoyed yourself at your nephew's wedding - Fraser Island is certainly making a name for itself as a desirable destination wedding location. It's also great to read that you'll be coming back to visit us again - please be sure to check our website as we offer great seasonal deals. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,628 - 4,634 of 5,575 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

The accommodation units are spread around a large area just inland from the beach and we have a unit on the upper floor with a balcony that looks out onto ‘bondhu’ type vegetation and trees.
The Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort in some ways is reminiscent of Centre Parcs….but classier! The room is lovely - the view enthralling. We listen to the birds going to sleep and then the cicadas starting their chorus as the night draws in.
We decided to eat in the main restaurant. Sitting at our table we finally managed to attract the attention of one of the servers who tells us that we must order our food at the entrance desk, rather than give an order to one of them. Apparently we had entered from a side door and had not passed the entrance desk. Hmmm! It has taken about 15 minutes for us to be told this. Pity it wasn’t made clear on arrival. Still, the food is pretty good when it comes
We did not book this ourselves - it was part of a package that was put together for us - so the 'Eco Friendly' aspect did not form part of our decision to stay here.
It is highly recommended that you take the island adventure tour. It is unlikely that you will ever experience anything like this elsewhere! If possible/affordable take the aircraft flight over the island. This takes off and lands on the beach. From the air you can really apprciate how this island is made purely from sand.

Room Tip: Make sure you order your food @ the entrance desk to the restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatmanBanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear hatmanBanstead
On behalf of David and the team, thank you for your kind comments about your time with us on Fraser Island - we're pleased that the location, setting and our feathered locals contributed to an enjoyable stay. Thank you also for your comments regarding your restaurant experience - we'll certainly make sure that we look at the way we deliver this information on check-in and whilst at the resort. We wish you the best with the rest of your Aussie trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Very Eco friendly - and can you appreciate what they are trying to achieve - but if you want luxury this is not the place.... However you don't really get a choice if you want to visit Fraser island. We wish we'd just done a day safari instead as this place didn't come up to a 4*.
We decided to do our own 4x4 tour in a jeep which was great fun!! you can get easily stuck tho - so be aware!

Lake McKenzie was unforgettable... so make sure you visit.

The hotel food was tasteless in the main restaurant - the bookable restaurant food was amazing so I would definitely recommend using this one.

Hotel rooms are very hostel like!... Pillows underneath the covers need renewing - so don't look!!
Pool area glass needs a good clean....

Make sure you bring your Mossie spray!! you will getting bitten alive here....

All in all a lovely island but not up to our luxury standards.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Fruitbabe
Thank you for taking the time to review and we sincerely apologise that we have not meet your expectations in a number of areas.

Please be assured that the resort has never marketed ourselves as a luxury retreat and we certain train and encourage the third party partners we work with not to do so either in their own marketing collateral. We'd certainly be interested to know how you booked your stay, so we can follow up on these comments.

It's great to read you enjoyed Lake McKenzie and your meal in our Seabelle restaurant which combines bush flavours with local produce. We would love you to contact us direct on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with more information about where you stayed, so we can follow up on your remaining comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Some staff such as the rangers especially Luke, Graham and Les were brilliant and Lee the chef and really made our stay special. Whilst thus us an Eco resort the birds flying around the buffet restaurant was not hygienic. The firm to do ones own bed making and save a bit off the bill was not clear and only applicable to those paying the bill at the end rather than those who had pre booked.

Room Tip: Ask when you book fiord accessibility requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Kathryn S
It's great to see our UK visitors exploring Fraser's sand tracks and we thank you for your kind comments regarding Luke, Graham, Les and Lee, which we'll certainly share at our next team catch up.

As you know, the resort is in World Heritage-listed surrounds and there is an abundance of birdlife on the island. We have actively taken steps to reduce bird interaction in our Centre Complex restaurant over the years and have trialled food nets and other systems. About 18 months ago, we imported an eco-friendly, electronic bird deterrent device from America - which pipes predatory bird sounds to scare away any birds looking for food in the resort buildings. This has proven successful, though some birds can fly in the doors when guests enter/exit the building. To combat this, dishes on the bain-marie are covered.

We also wanted to address your comments re our Conservation Credit Scheme. The service is available for pre-booked rooms but not pre-booked tours (at this stage). We are willing to work with our guests to ensure you can take advantage of this scheme. On behalf of the team, best of luck with the rest of your Australian holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This "4 star resort" doesn't really deserve its rating. If this hotel existed else where e.g. the main land, without the monopoly it holds on the island it would probably fail.

Positives:

- Staff were very friendly and helpful

- Tours and activities they offered were fantastic. (We went on an island tour of the major sight seeing places on the island and a night resort tour). These were reasonably priced and they offered nightly talks for free.

- Great location for getting on and off the island.


Negatives:

- Rooms were very dingy, dark, basic and smelt of over powering cleaning products. The screen door was broken to the outside, meaning we couldn't open the glass doors to let fresh air in otherwise the wildlife could have gotten in - including the funnel web spiders nests not far from our room.

- Bathroom facilities were old e.g. shower curtain was mouldy.

- The rest of the resort in parts looked fairly run down, low quality fittings and over crowded. They only have air conditioning in the bedrooms.

- Pool side bar food was poor with long queues with staff over worked. They often ran out of stock and payed loud music like an 18-30's spanish holiday tour operator. Poolside was over ran with kids, so guess its good for families but not for everyone so it would probably be best to have the smaller bottom pool for adults only?

- The main restaurants was ok for a buffet, but it was well over priced. It did offer a variety of food that tasted ok.

- The "pub" restaurant down the road (part of the resort) served poor quality pub food and the Dingo's bar looked like a deserted backpackers bar.

- The Al la Carte restaurant food was better, but was not cheap for the standard.

Conclusion:

Service was good but everything else is a let down. It is supposed to be a luxury resort but fails to be. I feel they exploit the fact they have a monopoly on the island for luxury hotels, and very little competition from other resorts. I also feel they try to justify they're low standards by hiding behind being an "eco-friendly" hotel. If this were true, instead of having shower curtains that go mouldy why not have a glass shower screen that can be cleaned, has a longer life and can be recycled once it needs replacing? Why not use re-usable plastic cups instead of throw away plastic cups at the pool bar? Why not have solar panels on the roof? Etc etc etc.

Despite the review because of the experience I still had a good time and couldn't recommend anywhere else to stay unless you are a camper.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexander_1984_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear alexander_1984_1984
Thank you for taking time out of your Australian adventure to post in this forum and for your kind comments regarding our team, your day tour of the island, our Ranger-guided activities and the location itself. We're glad that you had a good time on your holiday.

Thank you also for your candid feedback and please accept our apologies that elements of your stay did not meet expectations. We also apologise, on behalf of our Housekeeping team, that they have not reported the screen door problem - we'll certainly follow up on that. We invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with more details about your trip - it is unclear from your post as to where you stayed - so we can follow up on your behalf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Fraser Island is the world's biggest island made entirely of sand. My wife and I had been booked on the backpackers' tour of the island by mistake, so that when we arrived here we found our accommodation and dining facilities were totally unsuitable (for our age group). The management of this hotel could not have been more understanding and generous in the steps they took to upgrade us. We found the main bar meals of the day, although from a limited menu, were wholesome and affordable, the breakfasts were superlative and the service afforded by the multi-national staff was attentive and friendly. There was also a large restaurant, but we didn't try it.
Our room was perfectly well furnished at 4-star level - with balcony, flat-screen TV and adequate bathroom. The facilities include an outdoor swimming pool which appeared to suit all the holiday-makers. The surrounds comprise varied forestry which give the place a sort of "jungle" feel, with several interesting birds, most of which were very vocal. We were well satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Seenoff
On behalf of Stewart and the resort team that met you during your visit, thank you for taking the time to respond and for your kind comments. We are interested to find out whether you booked the Cool Dingo tour direct or via a third party agent. If you have the time, please email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com - so we can follow up with product retraining. On behalf of the team, we wish you the best with the rest of your Australian holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have been here a number of times since 20 years ago, and it's nothing like it used to be. Back then we used to love it there but coming back recently it was very disappointing to see the state it is in now. The island is beautiful but the resort has lost its former glory as it looks run down and tired. It hasn't been maintained very well at all. Even the reception & waiting area was dusty and the entrance windows were crying out for a clean (covered in bird droppings). We stayed in one of the larger homes with my parents and extended family and love the location and the spaciousness of the home. The bedrooms felt very dusty though and beds were uncomfortable. We went to the Sand Bar and the girl who served us there at the counter was extremely grumpy and it seemed too much bother to have to make our coffees & drinks. The buffet-style food at the restaurant was very average to below average standard but we were pleased that the waiter serving our drinks was very friendly. We would come back just to be able to enjoy the beauty of the Island but not for the overpriced food, resort facilities and accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte7295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Charlotte7295
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us from six months ago and its pleasing to read you will return to beautiful Fraser Island.

We have been listening to customer feedback and, since your visit, we have made changes to The Maheno restaurant - it currently runs an a la carte snack, lunch and dinner menu and special buffet nights. The Sand Bar restaurant is currently closed whilst we are making upgrades to the kitchen and equipment and will reopen in time for Easter.

I have also passed your comments along to our Housekeeping team and we sincerely apologise if you felt your room was dusty - as that's not in keeping with our normal standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
10.1 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
941 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,244 reviews
11.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
11.3 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#3 of 4 in Fraser Island
52 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#5 of 23 in Hervey Bay
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range: $114 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing