We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for families poor service and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not for families poor service and facilities”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Kingfisher Bay and we are extremely disappointed with the service and facilities at the resort. The resort was clearly understaffed - reception took an age to answer the phones, and there was only one server at the bar at lunchtime who was alternating between serving drinks, taking food orders and waiting tables - we got so fed up waiting we went back to our room for a coffee. There was a leak in the bar area and a lot of water had pooled on the floor - no signs were up and this could easily have led to an accident. The hotel itself looks tired and needs a facelift. Our room was clean but basic. The hotel does not cater for families - the amount of stairs makes it very difficult if you have a stroller, and there was no baby change facilities in the main area of the hotel. We ate at the Sand Bar which was an unpleasant experience. We had to queue to order food - this took around 20 minutes as the queue was long. When our food arrived, my pizza was burnt and my partners barramundi was bland and unappetising. The weather was very poor during our stay and the hotel did not have any facilities to keep us entertained. As such we cut our trip short by 2 days as we couldn't face remaining in the hotel anymore. I would like to point out we bought our stay via a scoopon - I have noticed the offer has appeared 3 times since we bought ours - an indication that they are desperate for guests?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank msc7812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear msc7812,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Kingfisher bay resort, I note this is your first Trip advisor comment.

I note your comments in regards to the staffing of the resort please be assured that we staff according to our guests in house, please accept my apologies if you felt you waited for a longer than acceptable time for some services in the hotel outlets.

In regards to your comment about water pooling in the bar area please be assured that guest health and safety is a priority.

I am confused by your comment that the hotel does not cater for families as all rooms and lobby areas including the pools are accessible by ramps, also there is a baby changing facility available in the main lobby toilets, my apologies if you were not advised of this.

You are correct in the Sandbar is a popular option for families during their stay as it is a bistro style restaurant, I have passed on you comment to our executive Chef to review with his staff.

As you note it was raining during your stay which is disappointing when you are on holiday, the resort has a number of ranger talks and walks as well as board games and indoor activities for guests to undertake during poor weather, there are also the island tours which are still in operation to discover the beautiful Fraser island.It is unfortunate that you left the resort early due to the weather.


We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,543
    1,946
    828
    346
    169
See reviews for
1,623
2,274
94
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I went to Kingfisher with my Fiance for a weeks much needed holiday. It was pretty disappointing. The resort is really tired and the service equally tired. It was advertised that there are a number of resraurants in the resort but the maheno restaurant only opens for breakfast. At $25 per head i would expect a great spread but it was minimal and the food had obviously been sitting there for a while. The sand bar is more like a backpackers hang out. It's pretty rough but the menu is pricey. $20 for a salad and $16 for a burger $8 for some chips. We went for a drink in there one nite and they had run our of schooner glasses? The staff in there were pretty unapolagetic. I was asked by the staff as he cleared the table how my meal was and i said that i wasn't very happy with it and he laughed and walked away. The sand bar is pretty much the only place to get lunch on the resort. Seabelle's restaurant was nice but again, pretty expensive for what it was but the service was better there. The rooms we very average. They were damp and mouldy and we not cleaned very well. They whole place is generally really run down and old and it needs an injection of energy. the salt water pools were really nice and a life saver. There is a coffee shop there which sells pretty good coffee but only sells rolls and pies for food. It feels like the resort was once a pretty happening place but now it needs a massive refurb and the staff need some training in providing good service.Having said that, we had a nice holiday and fraser is beautiful but don't go to the resort expecting it to be shiney and new and i definitely wouldn't pay full price for a room there

Room Tip: i would definitely get a villa had i known better and go gocery shopping before you go so yu aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Kami B,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

I note your comments in regards to restaurants at the resort, you are corret in saying that the Maheno restaurant opens for Breakfast daily, it also opens on Satruday nights for our popular seafood Buffet.

The resort has a variety of options for Lunch and dinner from the Sandbar and poolside menu to the Cafe at the Village square which you have mentioned.

Please accept my apologies for the responses that you were given by the sandbar staff, I am reviewing this comment with the Sandbar Manager to ensure that our ongoing staff training is consistent and appropriate to service our guests needs.

I note that you enjoyed your overall stay on Fraser island.

We wish you well on your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Firstly I want to point out that the resort staff are very friendly and obliging, thank you for making us feel so welcome. They are however somewhat disorganised and there is a definite lack of communication, perhaps this is due to high staff turnover or lack of training.

We found food and drink prices to be reasonable for an island resort and the $10 cocktails of the day were good value. Similarly the small store and cafe were handy for a snack and the coffee was quiet good. We likened the store prices to be similar to a 7- Eleven or Nightowl store.

We had some service issues, not resolved - however we quickly overlooked them in light of how quickly we become relaxed, nothing really seemed to matter. Our room smelt a bit damp during the duration of our stay.

The large flat screen panel in our room did not get turned on once... nor did we overhear any from surrounding units, pure bliss.

We appreciated the quietness of the resort, however we both agreed we would definitely not like to visit during peak times. We felt it would ruin the Eco style resort feel.

We were a little disappointed at the lack of tours available, however we are also used to this as we always holiday in low season.

We would recommend this resort if you are looking for an eco experience in a World Heritage area. Don't come here if you are looking for a 5 star hotel beach experience because you won't find it..

and Don't forget the Eau de Aerogard, you will need it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Surfoz,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Kingfisher bay.

I note your positive comment in regards to our Food and Beverage pricing at the resort.

I am glad that you were able to relax during your stay.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

A proffesionally run resort relaxing, informative, safe swimming pools for the kids & parents to relax at.
Self contained villas well laid out set in amongst the natural bushland very private & peaceful
Plenty of activities to do every day if you choose.
Only downfall the seafood restaraunt opend Saturday only, but you still have a choice of fine dining or Bistro meals,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelwonderong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Steelwonderong,

Thank you for taking the time to respond with fantastic feedback about your stay at Kingfisher bay resort.

I have forwarded your positive comment to all departments accordingly.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Teally enjoyed a break with a friend on Fraser Island.
The whale viewing was terrific, on the day we went. The next day was rough, so they didn't enjoy it as much.
First room we were shown was not quite what we were after, so we were given another option and our luggage was shifted for us.

Decor was nicely done, and everything was clean.

Restaurants and pools were well designed and welcoming. Food at breakfast buffet was great!
Several eating options was a nice feature; noisy, quiet, casual, more formal....
Day road trip to see the sights was well guided and comprehensive.
Geocaching on the island was limited but good too!

Room Tip: Just ask for quiet. Most have bush views and are tucked in nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawhira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Sawhira,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay in October.

I am happy that we were able to offer you choice of accommodation that better suited your needs at the being of your stay.

I also note you positive comments in relation to the hotels facilities.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I traveled to Australia, and New Zealand a few years back with my school. The trip was a trip of a lifetime and this was my ABSOLUTE favorite part of the trip. Fraser Island is beautiful, and the resort was as well, loved every minute of it! I'd go back again in a heart beat. ( I traveled in 2007 the link is only allowing this year...) ;) :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJoesephine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
800 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,831 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
271 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing