We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but Convienient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Pricey but Convienient”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked several rooms for our group and the rooms were all in fairly good shape and of a good size.

The beds were tolerable, there was ample room for luggage, the A/C worked, bathrooms were of a good size and properly cleaned.

The small kitchenette in the standard rooms is helpful.

The rooms have good sized balconies.

The resort itself is in a beautiful location, is well laid out, fairly peaceful and has several pools and restaurants.

The restaurants are very pricey and the line-ups at the Sand Bar can get very long.

There are many hiking paths meandering around the hills, all of which are worth the time and effort, and the beaches are very clean.

The ranger guided resort tours are hit and miss. We took most of the resort tours and found the rangers at the jetty hut to be pretty lazy and not very knowledgeable. Most of the Aussies in our groups knew more about the local fisheries and wildlife than these "rangers". However, the rangers working from the resort proper were more informed and seemed to have a bit more enthusiasm for their job.

Staying at the resort is a better option than coming from the mainland for tours as you will have a good head start on the other tours. For example, we had Lake Mackenzie to ourselves for at least an hour before others began arriving.

The staff were generally pleasant although overworked. I would have to say the resort is understaffed and to this end I would suggest using the express check out. The lines at the front desk were very long each time we passed. Using this service, we had only to drop our keys and a suggestion paper in the box and were on our way. Our bill was emailed and only had a few questionable charges which were quickly sorted out via email.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor standard rooms overlooking the lagoon have partial ocean views and good air flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dr drknows,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at Kingfisher bay resort.

I note your positive comment about your accommodation and the resort layout in general.

In regards to your comments about the Jetty Hut staff these staff are not rangers, I will however review and workshop your comments about their perceived laziness and lack of knowledge in relation to the resort. I also note your comments in regards to enjoying the walks with the actual rangers and have passed these comments onto our Senior Ranger accordingly.

I am pleased that questions related to charges on your account were completed to your satisfaction quickly.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,507
    1,898
    810
    345
    164
See reviews for
1,593
2,214
89
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowsman, Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had a wonderful time, thank you to Shoni and Hannah at reception. Porters Rikki and Nick, Pool Bar Adele, and Christopher. Thanks to Amber, Grant, and Sophia in the Maheno, and Kim at the Cafe. Thank you to Ranger Kelly, Ranger Pete, Ranger Nick and Ranger Camilla. Lisa and Brooke at the spa, you took great care of us, Thanks. Carly and Lindsey thanks for the great hospitality at the store. And Paul from Maintenance thanks so much for the wonderful 4X4 adventure across the island. To the Managers of the resort you should be very proud of your employees, this is a top notch establishment, I will return!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodiProctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Have spent the past few days at Kingfisher Bay Resirt and even with the weather being the it was (continuously wet) it has been a fantastic time. The service right from the begging has been just perfect. I made my booking with a lovely Redervations Consultant named Sven and he was just wonderful with everything from the start to end of the phone call. Then we meet a lovely gentle man name Butch who was just a pleasure to deal with, he was very knowledgeable about Fraser Island and Kingfisher that you could feel how proud he was to do what he does! Getting to the island and being greeted by a wonderful lady named Leeanne who also gave off a great vibe about her role in the island. We ate at the Sandbar, Maheno Restaurant for the seafood buffet and breakfast and all the hospitality staff were very friendly. Though the weather was nothing but wet while we stayed on the Island the time spent there was just an overall a great time!

Beric

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beric11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Beric11,

Thank you for taking the time to comment in regards to your stay at Kingfisher bay resort,

I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and have passed your glowing comments about Sven, Butch and Leanne onto them accordingly.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here at the end of July 2010, I am just catching up with reviews. Fraser Island is a must do if touring Queensland. We got a 2 for 1 deal for a package deal with transport from the mainland and tours included. Tours are run by trained rangers and were outstanding, the Island has some great sights and the tours gave you time to take dips in the lakes and streams (be warned, the lakes are cold).

Our room was large, quiet and comfortable. Food was ok, we eat at The Maheno and the Sand Bar (informal), both we're pricey for what you got but you are somewhat captive. The Jetty Hut was brilliant for watching the sunset over land, a unique view, whilst having a drink. The staff were friendly. There was plenty of opportunity to join talks and demonstrations themed around nature which added to the experience, and after tours and talks there was still time to relax around the pools.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenagecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Kasyorks,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at Kingfisher bay Resort.

I note you stayed in the colder months hence your comment about the lakes being somewhat cold, they certainly are a welcome relief for our visitors and guests in the hot summer months.

I note all your other comments in regards to enjoying the service and facilities of the resort and have passed these on to all departments concerned to share with the staff accordingly.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

A good resort with great facilities. The only reason to come here though is for the amazing and magnificent beauty of the island its self. A day long 4wd tour is a must to see all there is to see if your only on a short visit.. great choices for food, servjce is great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tez09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Tez09,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay at the resort.

I note your positive comments about your stay and have forwarded these to the departments concerned to share with the staff accordingly.

We wish you well on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked to stay at Kingfisher because we wanted to do some touring around Fraser Island and take our car over - but without camping. This was an ideal choice. They have everything you need for your vehicle and there are accommodation choices for couples, families and extended families. While it's not cheap - it's not over expensive for an island that is a world heritage park.

While we had some issues with the resort - in general we had a lovely time.

The issues were:
1. Initially our room was right near the generators and was quite noisy - but we got used to this after a while - not what you expect for a wilderness resort.
2. While we were there, we had black outs - which they said had never happened before - but from 7pm one evening until lunch the next day - no electricity, which means no air con, no cup of tea etc - but the rooms were cool enough in the middle of summer when the doors where open so we did get some slepp - but we had no meals cause we didn't book into a villa where they had gas. By lunch the next day they'd sorted gas bbq's to feed us all.

3. Not alot of control around the pool - so unless you're happy to join in with all the kids, stay away until they leave (was the middle of school holidays)

4. Couldn't swim in the beach because there was a warning of stingers - not sure if this is all year around

5. In general it's well run, but lots of little things you need to think for yourself, so it's not 4 or 5 star in service.

The good:
1. They ran tours to all the best places on the island every day - but it's a full on day, and unless you have your own car and have some 4WD experience we don't recommend a go alone. It got a little hairy in places, plus you had to watch the tides - so definately do some of the tours.

2. The food in the restaurants were good - the fine dining has alot of bush tucker to include your meals.

3. There was a bakery where you get sandwiches, pies and good coffee if you didn't want a restaurant meal.

4. The tours run by the rangers around the resort each day on topics such as, the aboriginal elders that first settled there and their heritage, the eco friendliness of the resort, bush tucker and bush medicine as well as some bird watching. They had both children and adult tours which were great.

5. Some good bush walking trails.

6. Even the hotel rooms have great size decks to sit out and enjoy the nature.

Overall, the resort has everything you need if you want to visit Fraser island, but if you just want a holiday without the natural heritage, it's also a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: All the villas appear good, the hotel rooms are quite reasonable with big decks, but try to stay awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear AustraliaPaz,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay.

If I may I would like to respond to your comments in order to ensure that I cover all accordingly.

I note your comment that your room was near the generators, none of our hotel rooms are located near any generators so I am unsure of what noise you are referring to. If possible could I ask you to emial me at your convenience on resort_manager@kingfisherbay.com so that I can investigate further?

In regards to the black outs yes unfortunately we experienced mainland power loss during your stay at the resort, you are correct in saying that it was rectified by 11am the next day, with all food and beverage outlets operating after this time.

I note your comment in regards to Children by the pool; we are a popular family destination as with other resorts during the school holidays however we do have 4 pools at the resort for guests to enjoy during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The island is still as beautiful as ever and the resort's surroundings were magical. Lounging in front of the lagoon, touring the boardwalk, walking amongst the spider crabs at low tide and through the cacophony of cicadas in the dusk were pure holiday memories to take home. But the resort itself is looking a tad tired. First visit a few years ago I was very very impressed from the moment I entered the resort, this time it seemed to me that it needed a bit of rejuvenating. Most disappointing was the classic Queensland lack of staff efficiency, we wasted 2 hot hours on arrival while our booking was sorted (a second adjoining room booking was mysteriously in another name) and queuing up to 10 mins for fresh pooltowels was annoying as was running out of items on the restuarant menu early in the evening. Full marks however to the rangers running the activities. I must say it was a very busy period for staff, our room setting was beautiful, the day we went by boat to a secluded inlet was magic , so go there and make up your own mind if my problems were too minor to have been mentioned in terms of the whole experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanette_roulston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WKahl, General Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear jeanette_roulston,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your return visit to Kingfisher bay Resort.

I note your comment in regards to your rooming issues on check in to the resort; please accept my apologies for this. As note I have spoken with our Front office manager to ascertain why this delay was incurred when correcting your booking.

In regards to your positive comments in regards to the rangers, I have forward these to our Senior Ranger to pass onto her team.

We wish you well on your future travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
780 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,763 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 7 in Fraser Island
19 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing