We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is really terrible ......... Not!”
Review of Dilli Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fraser Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dilli Village
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This place is really terrible ......... Not!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

For a few minutes I thought about posting a really bad report to keep people away from this fantastic place.

We camped at Easter 2013 for 7 days.

Dilli is the most southern camping area on Fraser Island. We have been to Fraser Island a few times however this is the first time we towed a rather heavy camper trailer.

We picked Dilli to reduce the travel time with the camper which was just as well as the beaches were washed out and we would have needed to use the headland bypass tracks if we had camped further north.

The campgrounds are well maintained, grassed and some are even powered (for light loads as the camp runs on generator)

The amenities are clean and well maintained, one block is very new, however don't expect hot showers, the solar just does not cope. Just suck it up and make it quick, your camping!

We have young kids so the fully dingo fenced site is greatb and peace of mind for safety. We saw dingos most afternoons on the other side of the fence.

Make sure you take firewood as fires are allowed in Dilli, only 1 of 2 places where fires are allowed on Fraser Island.

Dilli is simple and minimalist, there is no laundry but if you need to wash there is a laundromat at Eurong.

Dilli does not seem to be popular with backpackers and as such is very quiet at night.

The caretaker is passionate and determined to provide a great experience, his many years of efforts in what is a very challenging and remote location is a credit to him.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Queenslanderrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in a tent on a non-powered camp site for 5 days (uni field trip). The village is fully grassed and has its own waterhole for swimming. There is also a volleyball net. The showers and toilets are very clean. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel is provided. Highly recommend this camp site!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I and our 5 kids a 14 year old, twins 8, a 6 year old and a 9 month old stayed at Dilli Village in January 2013. We were very lucky with the weather as it was just before all that rain started. We found Dilli Village to be a great place to stay for a week with our family. The care takers were absolutely fantastic, we had a non powered site with plenty of room. The toilets and showers were clean and tidy, the kids loved the swimming hole on the days we didn't go out. The dingo fence gave us the comfort of not having to worry about the younger kids too much. Gas barbies were great, I lost my camera and it was handed into the office, my daughter lost her I phone and it was handed into the office and both were returned to us for which we were grateful. We all loved our stay so much that we have booked for two weeks next trip and we cant wait to get back there. I had to pull a few people out of the soft sand on the way in from the beach but that's all part of the fun, although too many people go there in pretend 4wds with no low range. We caught some fish at the beach at the entrance to Dilli. All in all we would recommend this area to anyone with a young family, Eurong is only 11 klms away and if you time the tides there is no problem getting anywhere we did a day trip to Indian head and back with plenty of time. Just a quick word about Eurong. If you have to spend money and are going further up the island, try to spend it at happy valley, the people at Eurong are ignorant, no customer service at all, they look as if they are being forced to be there, no please or thank you and, they charge like a wounded bull. I will do my very best to never give them a sale again. Anyway that's my take on it Dilli Village gets a huge thumbs up from us and we are looking forward to many more stays there. Oh yeah the goanna patrol at about 7 every morning was a big hit with the kids when the goannas come out looking for food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Dilli Village came recommended to us via several people in the same boat, young families.

Dilli is owned and operated by the University of Sunshine Coast QLD. It comprises of a number of basic cabins, bunkhouses and powered/unpowered camp sites. It is extremely well priced coming in at $30 for powered extra large sites (outside school holidays) and this comes with hot showers and great amenities.

We utilised the camp ground towing in 2 x Jayco Outbacks, 1 x Kimberley Kamper and 1 x Jayco Outback Expanda. If you are going onto the island with these types of trailers I strongly suggest low tide and also match your trailer tyre footprint to that of your vehicle print. To some people this is common sense however until you are on the island you really see how silly some people are...

The camp ground is fenced off making it safe from Dingo's, the grounds are well maintained and there is an abundance of drinking water. It is recommended by the Uni to boil the water however it is a bore from 50ft under, water is filtered through the sand and is extremely pure...is saying this it does have a tinge of yellow however 4 families spent a week drinking it without an issue.

The showers are average, they are clean and supply hot water although a little tight. They are supplied with soap, shampoo and conditioner..did the job for the blokes but the shampoo isn't up to scratch for the ladies. There is also a disabled toilet/family room which was quite handy washing the kids....

As for the power, they state it is suitable to run a small fridge and mobile phone charger.....we ran toasters, kettles, microwaves and everything else without fail. Apparently the power is sourced from a large generator about 100ms away and the caretaker requires to leave flood lights on 24/7 just to keep a load on the power.....they don't effect your sleep.....

You are pretty far south in the big scheme of things on the island however this isn't really an issue....Eurong is the closest town which has fuel/diesel (both $2.06l), milk, bread, ice creams, drinks, booze etc....most things are reasonably priced however a normal carton of beer was around the $80...bring your own....loaf of fresh bread was $4 but the staff at the bakery are belters, rude as morons who are lazy...there is a laundromat....ice everything you need to get you by.....

If I was to go again, I would stay at Dilli and maybe sneak in a beach camp somewhere tacked onto the end. It is a great secure place with all the facilities you need....not one thing I can fault about it.....

Oh yeah, their swimming hole is ok too....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Racer520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Have stayed here a number of times, as well as all the other fenced campgrounds on Fraser. We have also stayed at Central Station, Dundaburra, Fraser's at Cathedral Beach....but this is our favourite of all the options on Fraser. Why?? Let me tell you....

This is a fully fenced campground. Whilst dingo sightings may not be frequent (mind you, we always see at least a few each time we go), I would recommend a fenced campground for anyone especially those with children.

This is the only campground at Fraser which is fully grassed. This is a great advantage if, like me, you get tired of the tonnes of sand flowing into your tent each day.

The amenities, full showers and toilets come with free soap/shampoo and are clean. There's also the free BBQs in an undercovered area with tables. In the middle of the campground is an (old) volleyball court where all the kids seem to congregate to kick/throw balls over the net, play chasy, roll down the small hill etc. Great if you are a family travelling alone - your kids will make friends! There's also a choice of powered or non powered sites.

The other benefit which we love is the small water hole which is about 20m from the campground. It is beautiful for a dip/splash on a hot day.

The campground is about 20 minutes south of Eurong, about 1km off the beach road so you're on the beach highway in no time. It's clearly signed.

Oh, and it's quiet - no screeching birds or insects waking you up at 4am like you get at Central Station!

They also have a lot of cabins which sleep up to 5 people, or backpacker rooms for singles/doubles.

I can't put their website on here, but if you google Dilli Village and Sunshine Coast University (they manage it), you'll find the website. You can call the caretaker/email them or use the online form to book the campgrounds/cabins and the rates are all on there.

You'll love Fraser Island - a must see for EVERYONE!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
41 Thank TheAussieBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fraser Island hotels
12.6 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
756 reviews
12.4 mi away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 7 in Fraser Island
18 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
4,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Sailfish on Fraser
Sailfish on Fraser
#1 of 7 in Fraser Island
89 reviews
25.4 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
45 reviews
52.3 mi away
Fraser Island Beach Houses
Fraser Island Beach Houses
#2 of 4 in Fraser Island
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dilli Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dilli Village

Property: Dilli Village
Address: 75 Mile Beach, Fraser Island, Queensland 4581, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing