We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I was looking for.”
Review of Cool Dingo Tours

Cool Dingo Tours
Ranked #2 of 8 Tours in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fraser Island's iconic Cool Dingo off-roading, guided tour takes the hard work out of managing tides, traffic and navigation on the world's largest sand island, and puts the fun back in to adventure touring. World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is well known for beautiful, fresh-water lakes, untouched sand dunes, ancient rainforests and the spectacular 75-mile ocean beach, which comes complete with a shipwreck - all of which are discovered, along with local legends, interp and insider knowledge on a Cool Dingo tour. Cool Dingo two and three-day tours are fully guided and all-inclusive and promise a good night's rest on Fraser Island, with comfy lodge accommodation, hearty buffet meals, air-conditioned 4WD tours and return catamaran transfers - as well as some amazing scenery. You can also forget fidgety nights in tents and worrying about how to get from one spot to another... There's plenty of 4WD action, great value and fun to boot - and best of all no tents, no sleeping bags, no cooking, no driving and no worries. Tours depart from Fraser Island, Hervey Bay, Rainbow Beach and the Gold Coast (selected dates).
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what I was looking for.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

3 of us did the 2 day / 1 night tour but with an extra night beforehand.
The accommodation was basic but comfortable and super clean. Such a cool setting. Short walk to the dingo bar where meals were served - I was super impressed by the meals. Eat as much as you want and food was good - was never disappointed. Cheap beers too during happy hour.
The tour itself was awesome - we were super lucky as apparently it had been raining nonstop for a month - but had sunshine every day. The only thing that affected us was that the ocean was brown due to all the rainfall and rivers. Also, the lakes were totally full so looked completely different to what you usually see in photos - but lake Mackenzie was still incredible.
Our guide Martin was a legend - super informative and really nice guy. Always had a good story and totally clued up as you would expect.
One thing I would say is that me and my mates felt pretty old- everyone else was 18/19 on a gap year whereas we are 29 and were here on holiday. That's me trying hard to say something that wasn't fully positive - and all the young crew were awesome anyway! I just felt old.
Overall - awesome and exactly what I was looking for. Saw a dingo too!

Helpful?
Thank Maxi84731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    68
    19
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“AMAZEEEE!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My family and I did the 2 night 3 day Fraser Trip and has the best time! While the trip is recommended for 18-35 yr olds, my parents are in their 50's and also had a wonderful time! The tour is packed from start to finish with everything included. We had full on activity day to day and the scenery and walks Peter took us to were GORGEOUS! The food was wonderful and plentiful (buffet style with a lot of options, so you can have as much as you liked). We had dranks at the Cool Dingo bar and even went down to the Kingfisher Bay resort a few nights to explore and see the hotel. The staff seems to know the entire island and kept us excited from start to finish! I would recommend this for anyone from any culture, at any age -- you will love it! Definitely bring some tennis shoes though, as some days the sandals were not so comfortable!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Kelly K
It's always AMAZIIIIIIIIIIIIIING to get feedback like yours - which I'll be sharing with our team. We love that you enjoyed your Fraser experience and would love it if you had time to post some pics on our Trip Advisor page. All the best from Ranger Pete and the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
2 reviews
“Adventurous!! :)”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Tour guide Martin-cool! Big pink bus tearing through the sand dunes-cool! Lovely food (including martins home made cookies ;) ) put on every day. Clean dorms at kingfisher lodge with large table and communal space for drinking games before heading down to the 'dingo bar'!!
If it rains.. Don't let that stop you. Our last afternoon provided heavy rain, but with some enthusiasm and good spirit we all trekked through the Forrest (bring mozzie spray) and arrived at the beautiful lake wabby! Massive sand dune where 30 of us got in a line and ran down and jumped into the lake at once!
Talking to people that did the self drive and camping experience.... I would definitly still go with the tour. You get an experienced driver who is used to driving up these huge sand dunes every day, u get your food laid on at dingo bar (the coffee could be a lil better mind) you get a nice bed and hot showers at the lodge, but most of all because there's more of you.:. It's more fun!! Our guide Martin joined in with our Friday night party at dingo bar, played volleyball with us in the lake.
.... Awesome trip! Hope you enjoy as much as we did!!!!!! :) :)

Kathryn

Helpful?
Thank kattydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear kattydal
Glad to read that it didn't rain on your parade during your recent trip. Thanks for all the tips and hints in your review - we're so pleased you enjoyed our Cool Dingo trip. Safe travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, but don't pay the full price...”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hi,
The tour was cool, guide was nice and food nice as well.
A little annoying to learn that some people pay much less then you did.
So... The prices are probably negotiable..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amos_Snir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Amos_Snir
Apologies for the delay in responding - Trip Advisor did not like that we'd added our website URL into this response - we've since removed. Great to read that you enjoyed your tour, guide and the food on your Fraser Island tour.

Thanks also for the feedback re pricing - to clarify - all prices offered on our Cool Dingo website are static and are not open to negotiation, however we do offer a travel discount for our friends and fans on our on our Cool Dingo Facebook page.

Sometimes when guests are on tour and talk about pricing, they don't take into account add ons like extra nights' stay; departure location (i.e. Brisbane vs Hervey Bay) etc which can lead to variations in tour price.

There may also be some difference in pricing if guests choose to book with a third party travel agent due to commission levels (in much the same way as travel agents offer different prices with flights/hotels etc).

We'd encourage all would-be Cool Dingo travellers to take advantage of the Facebook discount when booking and wish you all the best with the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome trip , would recommend”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had a great time , met loads of new friends , thanx to Kirsty our tour guide , who was very informative and a great laugh . Best tour I e done so far . Fraser Island is gorgeous .

Helpful?
Thank Scousehugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thanks for the cool review, Scousehugh and for choosing Cool Dingo. Happy Travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cool Dingo Tours also viewed

Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Cool Dingo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing