We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise, resort needs some thought”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise, resort needs some thought”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Fitzroy is beautiful. The resort is very good, but on wet cool days like during our stay, there are limited options. Nowhere comfortable to sit, no cafe to while away the hours. Cinema is a nice touch but was broken - could do with an update to a high definition projector for minimal cost. Studio room neat, functional but dark, no view, no privacy. Air con and TV both broken and several lights not working. Significant water damage in bathroom. Restaurant excellent with interesting menu but a bit pricey. Great pool and swim up cocktail bar. No gym. Great staff in resort but Foxy's staff disorganised and more interested in chatting amongst themselves than in serving guests. In summary, great stay in a lovely location but could have been better with a bit of though and imagination.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Mero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    442
    239
    78
    63
See reviews for
304
597
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Fitzroy Island is just a 45 minute boat ride from Cairns marina and a beautiful island which has quite a high peak and is covered predominantly with rainforest. A couple of lovely beaches dot the northern side of the island.

We also arrived at the resort when Cairns experienced a lot of rain, and so this left us room bound for most of our stay. For this reason we upgraded from the studio (which was quite dark and small) to a 1brm suite which had a living area, kitchen, and balcony overlooking the tree lined beach. Had we not done this, we would've gone stir crazy!!

The resort is very nice and adequate for a relaxing island stay. Unfortunately the cinema globe blew up while we were there, so this limited the things we could do on wet days. I would suggest more undercover lounge areas in the foyer area and also near the pool bar.

But a lovely stay... I'd come back if I visit Cairns again, but will hope for much better weather!!

Room Tip: A suite has a lot more room to enjoy, especially on wet days
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perthyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We travelled for a birthday weekend in June 2014. Day One was lovely and we enjoyed every minute until we got back to the room.

Air conditioner broken. And the TV didn't work, the staff were great and moved us to another room but surely this would of been looked at I between tenants? Also when we moved into the new room it was thick in dust (they had been working in the room and it was thick in gyprock dust which we had to wipe off everything before we settled in)

Dinner was nice but it's not cheap by any standards. Also all 4 of the travellers main meals were cold by the time they arrived at the table which for a fancy place you don't expect.

Day two was very rainy, windy and cold so limited our activities, we went On two bush walks and the turtle centre experience which is nice but other than this there is nothing to do around the resort.

It was so cold and windy that there is no shelter for people who have checked out. There are few seats and all of them cop the wind and weather. They need to address this with an indoor coffee shop or a small seating area in some of the unused areas upstairs maybe?

Also in this is day and age wifi should be free in all hotels like in most other countries around the world. It should also be hotel wide and not limited to the lobby etc which is subject to the elements.
Wifi in room when it's wet and windy or at night should be included and is easy to implement.

Lastly mobile phone reception is non existent unless you are in one specific spot. This might be an issue for Telstra but as a true first class resort this is something you should be working with the telco to arrange a repeater. There is already a Telstra exchange on the island so it not impossible and it shouldn't be expensive,...


Lastly the turtle experience is great but walking there from the resort is like walking rough a rubbish tip, surely even if this isn't your gear it can be moved or hidden with fencing etc..... It's really a shame to see such a mess in such a pristine location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Extremeaudiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location in a tropical island only a short boat ride from Cairns. Great beaches with coral and tropical sea life. Also forest walks, we spots big goanas and other interesting wild life. I will go back any time!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chiara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights which would have been lovely... Had it not rained almost our entire stay. Obviously this is of no fault of the resort, but there is a few things that could be done to make a wet stay more enjoyable.
Umbrellas are not in every room - other tropical resorts I've stayed in provide them which is handy and a nice touch.
There needs to be an area that is more suited to lounging around and kicking back - this would be great in Foxy's restaurant, rather than just having standard chairs. (Also in Foxy's a children's area would be great. While we were there small children were thundering around the dance floor area at every meal time. This makes it difficult to enjoy a quiet relaxing meal.)
We loved our Ocean View suite on level 2, it was clean and spacious, and with cooking facilities we purchased bacon, eggs and bread from the general store to make our own breakfast (rather than pay $23 a head each morning.) the bed was very comfortable.
The walks around the island were nice (in the half day that it wasn't raining!), worth doing but only if you are fit and healthy, as the lighthouse & summit walks are not easy.
The dinner in Zephyr restaurant was a lovely treat, fabulous food and very professional service. Food in Foxy's was ok.
In summary, we would return and keep everything crossed for better weather!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hachaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Give the restaurants a miss , breakfast acceptable at the resort , rooms very nice with full amenities bring your own food to cook as food at resort limited and over priced alcohol expensive staff very friendly

Room Tip: Restaurants over price and menu limited foxys restaurant give it a miss maybe for a drink bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked a last minute trip to Fitzroy Island and got a great deal. We only live in Cairns and dont take the opportunity to see these amazing islands enough. The weather was wet but the friendly and helpful staff more than made up for it. Really recommend the turtle sanctury tour and a hike up to the lookout.

Room Tip: We staying in a studio which was a bit dark, next time would definately upgrade to an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhillipaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
14.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
24.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
14.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
16.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Property: Fitzroy Island Resort
Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing