We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

After a recent three night stay, we could not praise this place highly enough. From the moment we arrived every staff member was helpful & cheerful and this continued for our entire stay.
We arrived early , our room was not ready but we could still use the resort facilities while we waited. Our room - an Ocean Suite - just afew meters from the beach was wonderful. Spacious, stylish, equipped with a full kitchen and lovely marble bathroom. balcony overlooking the ocean and palm trees.
We bought most meals on the island but as other reviews have said, it is a good idea to take some food with you. Dining choices are alittle limited {there are two options, the resort restaurant or foxys bar and the general store does sell the basics but prices are high} Food in both venues were tasty, particularily impressed with the food at Foxys. a great open air beach front bar - with dance floor - that has a good pub style menu and thanks to our barman Brin the cocktails were delicious too.
If you come here you must go snorkelling. We spent two days snorkelling in the stretch between the jetty and Burchett rock and it was stunning. Be patient and you will get to swim with the sea turtles.. This made our trip.
Thank you to all the staff at Fitzroy island for helping create such a relaxed atmosphere & making our stay so much fun - Dive Shop Staff you were great, thanks for looking after us..!!!
Cant wait to come back here one day soon.....

Room Tip: The ocean suites are stylish & spacious with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    443
    239
    78
    63
See reviews for
306
597
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We loved our stay at Fitzroy Island Resort. From our boat transfer from Cairns to our departure we received excellent customer service. We stayed in an Ocean Suite fully contained. Our room was large and modern. We had a small terrace with an oceanview as well as a full kitchen. I would suggest bringing items from the mainland as not much is offered in the gift shop. There is one restaurant which was a little pricey and a bar/café. We ate at both. The service was very good...the food o.k. We really enjoyed the hiking paths. After hiking one path, you were rewarded with a lovely beach. It is a beautiful island and The Fitzroy Island resort is a lovely place to relax.

Room Tip: We loved our oceanview suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissyo547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I have just arrived back from our 2nd wedding anniversary. We spent 3 days at Fitzroy Island Resort, From the moment we got to the boat to take us to the Island we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We arrived on the early boat and our room was not ready (which we were told when we booked) but we had the full use of all the resort facilities. We went snorkelling on the reef, went to the Turtle Rehab centre, took the bush tucker tour. Which all these activities were a affordable price. The meals were fantastic either at Foxy's or the Resort restaurant. People have said the Resort is pricey but I believe you pay for you get. This Resort is a relaxing hideaway. Far removed from commercial Resorts such as Green Island. The only thing we would suggest is to take some snacks with you as the little shop they have there is a bit on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Self contained room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful spot, beautiful resort. Staff on glass boat booked for snorkelling seemed disinterested and were rude, showed no genuine interest in being there. When going in to book kaykak staff seemed noted interested in smoking out the back.

It was our first wedding anniversary and a romantic weekend away ruined by a group on young men who spent all afternoon at the pool bar drinking solidly swearing in front of children and being boisterous. No responsible service of alcohol with the pub continuing to serve them at a very intoxicated state. They were loud and rude with some spitting on the floor where we ate. We left early only for the men to party on and make noise to all ours of the night.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank HollyHl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Hazel82,

Thank you for taking the time to review Fitzroy Island Resort. We agree - Fitzroy Island is a beautiful location however, we are disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to expectation - particularly concerns with staff.

The Dive shop that operates all Water Sports activities at the Resort is a third party business and we have passed your comments onto the owner of the shop to review with thier team. This certainly seems out of the norm however, as is reflected in the very positive comments this Dive shop team regularly receive - even on our Resorts Trip advisor page.

The Resort practices strict Responsible Service of Alcohol (RSA) and all staff are appropriately trained in RSA courses to ensure this is enforced across the property. We take these sort of comments extremely seriously and encourage guests to bring any concern to management at the property so that it could be looked into at the time it occurs. We are only too happy to ensure the comfort of all our guests and I am confident that if you brought your concerns to our management team’s attention or even that of the bar staff on the day - we could have rectified the matter.

None the less, we apologise that this was a distraction to your stay and would like to highlight we do not condone or tolerate foul language or behaviour anywhere in the Resort. Boisterous activity however is not the only indicator of intoxication and we firmly stand by all our staff in their judgement on who is and isn’t a duly intoxicated individual.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Fitzroy Island again in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Rooms in this resort are very comfortable and well appointed. We should have planned a bit better and grabbed some food supplies in Cairns, as our room was self-contained (which we didn't expect) and the shop on the island barely sells anything worthwhile. Also, a bit of a wait at check-in meant that we missed lunch at the bar, which was all that was available to buy. Food at the restaurant was ok, but expensive: not too much, what you'd expect on an island resort.
Staff could not have been more charming or more helpful.
And the location is just superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4101girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear 4101girl,

Thank you for your review and positive comments with regard to our staff. The team work hard to ensure all of our guests have a truly memorable time here on the Island and it is great to hear this has been your experience.
We appreciate your comments re: the Store. It is designed to supply essential products, groceries & souvenirs however is by no means proclaimed to be a supermarket. We will however take your comments on board for future planning.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in Future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

As a family living in nearby Cairns, we were very excited to be heading off to Fitzroy Island in the September holidays last year for four nights. Whilst we were very impressed by the natural beauty of the place, and took ourselves off for bushwalks and swims.
The resort however disappointed us in many ways, especially given the rates. It appeared to be poorly managed. Firstly, the room was a disgrace. We stayed in one of the Beach Cabins and had very much been looking forward to sitting out there and chilling out. For some reason, the balcony was super narrow and crowded when we had enough chairs for the family on it. It was very hard to relax on at all and the chairs weren't comfortable. Inside, there were marks all over the walls, it smelt bad, there was graffiti on the curtains in our daughters' room, the swivel chair was broken and rocked precariously, there was mould growing in the bathroom and there was a scum line right around the shower to above knee height. Tiles were cracked. It felt really dirty and like a drunk football team had immediately preceded our visit.
Secondly, whilst the food was quite good for us generally, the cost was extortionate, as was the price of the 'groceries' available. We spent at least $100 on lunch and more on dinner every night - in the cheapest option. One night we went to the less cheap option and whilst we had a lovely evening, we have rarely ever spent so much on an evening meal. Additionally, we had to pay for breakfast each day which was also over $70. We would have been much better off taking our own food, but were not given any indication of the prices. It felt completely like a tourist trap.
Thirdly, the beach hire gave an indication that there were strained relations between the resort and Raging Thunder, which to me is another sign of poor management. The hire place actually at the beach was not connected at all to the resort, and they hadn't even negotiated some kind of charge back deal so the hotel guests didn't have to take money and leave it on the beach while they were out playing on the gear. Food and other purchases could be charged back to the rooms, but strangely not beach hire. Additionally, there was a hotel hire place up at the resort, which looked like they had set up in competition, which seemed like a waste of effort and resources when they could have been working on maintaining their rooms or providing lower cost lunch options.
Fourthly, there were big roped off areas where only hotel guests could go, but not day visitors to the island. I couldn't help but wonder if perhaps they allowed the day visitors in, they could leave the bars and cafes open more with a better range of food for sale.
Considering we thought the room was a bit of a stretch at $370 per night for a four star 'beach cabin' that was actually set back form the beach with cars and people travelling across in front of it all day, we were astonished that it cost us about $300 a day minimum - not including the occasional drink - to eat at the resort. When I told reception staff about the poor state of the room and enquired about the extortionate cost of dining, I was told that this is the cost of four star luxury in Australia and it is comparable to other resorts of the same rating. This is absolutely incorrect. We can stay at Port Douglas in five star luxury at QT resort with far higher standards for about half the price over the same number of days.
As seasoned travellers, probably none of these things singularly would have bothered us too much, but the critical mass of issues told us that the place was poorly managed and really not well cared for. We were hoping this would become an annual family trip, but the way it is run at the moment it would be almost the same price and we would get far better standards in Thailand, which is a shame for our region.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AlliandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear AlliandBrett,

Thank you for taking the time to review Fitzroy Island Resort.

We take all comments and feedback extremely seriously and have shared them with our team this week.

I was concerned to hear your comments with regard to the cleanliness of the Beach Cabin and have discussed this matter with our Housekeeping team. Given your stay was in September 2013 - I am unable to fully confirm if any of these cleanliness concerns were raised directly with our Management team whilst you were at the property. We are only too happy to rectify any issues but once guests have left - we are unable to fix the matter for you as I'm confident would have been possible.

We would like to point out that the September School Holidays is the busiest time of year at the Resort and hence the reason rates across the property are higher than in the off peak season. None the less - our rates are always extremely comparable and competitive with other Island Resorts in Australia. In off peak season we have our lead in room type starting from just $126 per night based on a 3x night stay. Pricing will always be relative to the time of year you wish to travel - similar to pricing for airlines.

With regards to your comments on our room types and layouts - all floor plans are clearly showcased in scale on our website however we apologise that the Cabin's size and layout was not to your satisfaction.

The Resort shares the Island with 2x Third Party water sports operators and works closely with the Dive Shop in the main Resort Complex. This is because the Dive shop offers PADI Certified dive courses, trips for guests to the Outer Great Barrier Reef, Sunset Glass Bottom Boat Cruises & above all - the staff are based on island and is open longer hours than the Beach Hut whose staff live in Cairns - arrive at 10am daily and return by 4:30pm. The Dive shop in the Resort complex offers everything our guests need including a room charge facility.

The Resort is dedicated to ensuring all guests to the Island enjoy their experience. For this reason, we have chosen to only allow guests staying in the resort into the Pool and Resort Main resort facilities to ensure their comfort and exclusivity of access. This is something that sets Fitzroy Island apart from other Island Resorts and is a key reason many guests book with us. Day guests to the Island are certainly still welcome and can make use of Foxy's Restaurant for Lunch and Drinks and views to die for.

We are disappointed to hear that you felt there were strained relations and management issues at the property. This certainly isn’t the case and are confident that if given the chance to have you back - your experience would be quite different.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Fitzroy Island is sometimes overlooked for Green, maybe because it's a continental island rather than a coral cay. It has gorgeous tropical forest and coral-strewn beaches, and great snorkelling with plenty of fish. The resort is lovely, and you can also camp.

Helpful?
1 Thank 4101girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
14.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
24.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
14.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
16.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Property: Fitzroy Island Resort
Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing