We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic and Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzroy Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic and Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our plans had fallen through - we wanted somewhere sunny and warm - in Australia to cut travel time but where neither of us had been before...that narrowed it down! Hadn't even heard of Fitzroy Island until it popped up in a google search.Dont go if you want to be pampered but if you are independent travellers then this place has a few ( apparently they are making more) bushwalks- great views form the top of the island. The snorkelling is straight off the beach - whilst not Ningaloo it is still pretty - lots of fish and greenback turtles and a beautiful golden ray. Kayaking, paddle boarding and you can take trip out to the reef from here too. Very relaxing. The food in the main restaurant was very good and the bar/restaurant had a great location for sunset cocktails and a couple of good salads. A family feel to the place gave it a comfortable atmosphere. I'd go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TzarinaRosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    434
    236
    78
    59
See reviews for
295
587
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

As a family of five with teenage children, this island ticked most of the boxes. The rooms were spacious, modern and serviced daily. The dive shop was informative and helpful. The snorkelling around the island was fantastic, kept the kids busy for hours. If you are a keen fitness fanatic, then the walk up to the summit will test you. Unfortunately the food was poor. Two restaurants to choose from. Breakfast buffet was very expensive, like most places. Foxy's bar and grill just your typical bad pub meal and the restaurant a little over priced for the meal served. This island is the closest to the reef and CDC were the best dive company to use.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

It is neither a relaxing get-a-way from it all retreat or a fun busy island. It falls, somewhat badly, between the two.

Let me explain:

Positives

….. Our room was an Ocean Suite with fabulous ocean views from the lounge/balcony and the gorgeous bedroom. The suite was well equipped for all we needed for our 4 day stay.

The laundry facilities are good - an essential for travellers like ourselves.

The snorkelling and diving facilities are excellent and for the less enthusiastic there are kayaks and glass bottom boat trips.

The staff are friendly and courteous.

The beaches are lovely but beware the coral bones.

The bush walks are great.

The turtle sanctuary is worth your support even though we only got to see two turtles.

The swimming pool is superbly located virtually right on the beach.

Location is beautiful and only 45 mins from Cairns by Fastcat.

Negatives…..

Lying by the pool is our reading and chilling time. The pool bar opens at noon and plays acceptable music. The problem is the constant ping ping from the games room nearby. It was like sunbathing in a Vegas casino!

The pool when we were there was filthy. It needed closing for a good clean. The blue tiles around the edge were mouldy and the water quality was very poor.

The resort has a ‘ no BYO ’policy with regard to alcohol. Fair enough but the expensive price of the drinks should at least be qualified by being able to actually taste the alcohol.

The restaurant food was just okay.

Fitzy's food is okay.


The island has a general store, well more of a small shed with a few items. If you want to cook, take everything with you.

There is no internet on this island suggesting a nice break from it all but why have the dreaded games room? it really did ruin the atmosphere for us, we could even hear it on our balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CathyandCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights with our 8month old.

A beautiful island with great service and lots of activity options.
The rooms were very nice. The food on the island is all very expensive, which is fine for a short trip but not for longer stays. The rooms have kitchenettes, so I'd recommend bringing a bag of groceries over if you want snacks or a cheaper breakfast option.
Dinner in the restaurant was pricey ($30 and above for mains) but yummy. Foxys bar is cheaper for burgers etc ($18-$30 for mains)
Nudey beach is a lovely walk and beautiful beach.
All up a really relaxing atmosphere. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Fitzroy Island over a long weekend. It was generally busy, but pleasantly so.

It was better priced than the nearby Hamilton Island, but the level of quality of the restaurants and rooms on offer took us quite by surprise.

The weather is balmy yet not antagonisingly so. The resort itself looks top notch, and fits in well with the environment of the island.

Activities on the island include snorkelling, hiking trails, turtle rehabilitation centre visits, glass bottom boat tours, one restaurant and a bar, pool with swim up bar, and a free mini movie theatre screening three movies a day.

Without doubt the must do activity is snorkelling - not even 10 metres away from the beach one will find a plethora of aquamarine life skirting about the ocean floor right beneath you, from tropical fish, to stingrays, to huge sea turtles bobbing up and down continually for air.

The town of Cairns itself is also great for exploring on foot - many tourists, many restaurants, a bustling beachfront promenade with children's play pools and frequent events and activities.

An amazing experience - highly recommended if travelling to Far North Queensland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shkpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were extremely pleased with the service and accommodation. This was a seriously good holiday, and the kind of holiday I really needed, ie relaxing and unwinding.

We stayed five days and found a lucky deal which saved a lot of money. i would try to find out which floor you are staying on, as there are three levels. We stayed there during the week, which helped to avoid loud-mouthed drinkers etc keeping us up.

We did hear a weird machine noise during the night, but the hotel management looked into: they are very keen to make sure you have a good stay. I thought all the staff whether on the desk or the ferry or anywhere, were very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Top floor, and if on bottom floor, avoid the tall cylinders that are very noisy and seem to heat wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redzircon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent a week here in sept 13, and it was amazing.. I had read other reviews and I am shocked at there response.. Its is an amazing place the island is just beautiful, The ocean suite room was awesome yes it did smell a bit musty our doors and windows were never shut from when we got there to when we left, so that fixed that.. The staff are just great Not all of them are back packers they are actually permanent staff. Some of the island land is rented out so the rusty old junk on there belongs to those people so the resort cant touch it.. Foxys was awesome its just like a local pub, great food, fair prices, Glenn and his staff make you feel like they have know you forever.. remembering your drink order, name and room number which to me is impressive. Snorkelling is amazing, the beach is incredibly beautiful. The rooms get a daily service which to me is a holiday.. They make the bed, change the towels, do the dishes, and top up your basic goods, Fresh beach towels daily. We just loved this place. The shop has basic food items but we did bring some shopping with us. Remember your on an Island... Prices were fair...

Room Tip: ocean suites are the way to go... we had room 227 which had a beautiful view of the ocean.. and a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Growse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
14.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
24.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
24.6 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
16.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Property: Fitzroy Island Resort
Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing