We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Get away Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I took my wife and youngest son to Fitzroy this last week to get away from the rat race for a while. I was a little dubious about the weather in Cairns this time of year but I needn't have, it was excellent. The Island is only 40 minutes by ferry for Cairns. The resort is tucked away in the tree line from the jetty. What an amazing place it is! The check in was a little delayed but very smooth. The rooms were luxurious and clean. The views were delightful. The staff describe themselves as a family and that is how they work. Very happy, helpful and efficient. One comment about service. The "shop" rarely had any stock such as milk and bread which was unfortunate and the menus at both restaurants were very predictable. A little variation would be greatly be appreciated if you are staying over a week. The snorkeling is easy, close and extremely enjoyable. My wife is a very nervous swimmer but loved the snorkeling here. The pool is wonderful. I recommend this island resort to families and couples. A great gem in a great place.

Room Tip: Second floor. One bedroom rooms with ocean views. Outstanding. Quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Mark T,

Thank for your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for Fitzroy Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I spent 2 nights on Fitzroy with another family. Our accommodation was excellent, great view and the beach was about 15 metres away. There are so many things to do on the island for Adults and kids. Even though we DID have a fantastic holiday I have to say that the staff need to be more organised and a LOT happier, most of them didn't want to be there and were no help at all. I do have to praise Ben at Reception though, he was fantastic, we asked for a late checkout and he gave us 2 hours complimentary, 5 minutes later our friends asked for a late check out and the other reception person (I am not going to mention his name), said "no" - what was that about?? The food is also very ordinary - but the pool area and great snorkelling make up for all of that. The Resort does need to make some changes. The pool bar is only open from 12 - 4pm, the last ferry doesn't leave until 5pm and what about all the people staying on the island. The best time to be at the bar and pool for overnight guests is after 5pm when everyone else has left. Overall we did have a great family holiday, with just a few complaints which could be looked into. Valeria

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room which overlooks the ocean, not the rock wall or the old cabins that are...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valeria337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Valeria 337,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fitzroy Island Resort. We value your feedback and have taken on board all comments made with relation to our day to day Operations. Rest assured we will definitely be discussing them at our management meeting in future to ensure we continue to evolve as a property and above all, give our guests the best experience possible.

We are delighted to hear Ben was a standout staff member and have passed on your accolades to him.

Valeria, we are really pleased you enjoyed your time here at Fitzroy island Resort and look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

love the resort, love the beach,love the staff, love the weather
the room, disliked not ..much maybe more choice of food...

Thank dianne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed on fitzroy island a week or so before christmas..the resort matched the deal i could purchase from another company saving around $65 per night...bonus....we arrived to much more than we expected..clean modern resort..there were areas where works were happening but they were discreetly hidden..the pool was fantastic and we enjoyed a cocktail at the swim up bar..we took food with us and used the bbqs in the camping area..the cleanest i have every seen..even got to enjoy our meal with the local monitor who took a liking to us.other nights we ate in the cafe...some amazing walks..bloody hard work to the summit but brilliant views...nudie beach was lovely a bit of hike but not too taxing and through some stunning scenery to a beautiful beach ..our room with ocean views was stunning..marble bathroom and kitchen..a door that slid right back on the balcony were we sat and listened to the water on the coral..the snorkelling was great if you took the time to find the spots...under the pier was incredible thousands of fish swmming around you..we happened to be near when the daily fish feed was about to happen and was told by the staff member to swim around it was fantastic the fish were all around us one even thought my finger was food..also snorkelling around the rocks at nudie beach were some beautiful fish..just like the ads...we found all the staff friendly and helpful and easy going...this island isnt for the too adventurous but it was very relaxing which was what we were after..great walks, beautiful tropical forest areas, accommodating staff and better than expected rooms...we will go back with the family...for the price an absolute bargain...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear dianne w,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had an awesome time on fitzroy island, it offered great value for money & we found it to be child friendly. Numerous options with activities for both young & old as well as various eating options. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Liz R,

Thank you for review. We are really pleased your time at Fitzroy Island was a memorable one. The team have worked hard to ensure there is always a range of activities to suit all ages – particularly families with children. It's great to hear the hard work is paying off and meeting the needs of our valued guests. Rest assured – the best is yet to come.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hummm.... Our first impression was they are not very organized.
When we got to the dock on the mainland, the pier they told us to go to was wrong and we had a lot of luggage with us, so it was a big drag trying to find them. The sign they put at the pier was not very helpful and no one was around to ask where the new pier was, so we did a lot of running back and forth to the main terminal to get info about our boat. It should have had more details. They only have one boat a day so give yourselves time to find out where you need to be then drag your luggage to the boat.
There were a few things that bugged us about this place. No internet, if you want to check on a flight or just email , you can't. The breakfast included package was a little confusing in the dinning room. I didn't like the amount of boats that pull up each day around breakfast time and then again in the afternoon.Lots of day visitors, so it feels like there are a lot more people staying there. Large groups walking on the beach. Lots of locals with their families on the weekends. The campers also are in the restaurants and on the beaches and at the one small pool. No pool service, that's bad. The towels are ugly. This resort is just ok not great for the GBR area. The good things , the food was ok for 1 or 2 nights in the main restaurant, but a limited menu if you are there 3 or 4 nights. The bar food was much better. The staff are nice, the dive shop staff was great. Make sure to buy a cheap stinger suit on the mainland if you are there between Nov. and March or you must rent one each day for $10. The hikes were nice but even that could have been marked and nicer. The beach in some places has coral so it's hard on your feet, bring water shoes. The snorkeling was just ok, not great. To much boat ankering and it's destroyed the coral. To bad!
Even the day trip to the GBR on the "Sea Kisser" boat, wasn't great. My husband went diving and we've dove all over the world, the guide was this young guy and he was touching things and sometimes he's bump into the coral, not very professional. The tanks were very small so you can't stay down long. The boat was not very roomy, no place to spread out, they pack you in like sardines , not fun on a hot day.

Room Tip: Other trip advisor's said ask for the upper rooms less noise. They were right. we had 214
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear enjojo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feed back as it allows us to understand how guests perceive the property and ultimately, improve wherever possible in future. I'm disappointed to hear we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. We have taken this feedback on board and I've made comment to some of your key concerns below...

a) Confusion with the Boat Transfer from Cairns to Fitzroy - There are currently 2x Transfers per day that operate from Cairns to Fitzroy Island which operate at 07:30am & 02:00pm on our recently acquired vessel "Fitzroy Island.com". The vessel is one of the fastest in the fleet and capable of transferring allot more guests than our previous boat, in the comfort of a fully air-conditioned cabin. The new vessels' size has required us to change the location of its departure from the Reef Fleet terminal in Cairns. To minimise confusion we have recently implemented procedures to ensure the launch destination is clearly marked and that staff are available to assist guests with the transfer of luggage along the wharf. Please accept our apologies that you found the ferry difficult to find. I'm sure your experience would be completely different the next time you travel to the property.

b) Internet - We fully appreciate your frustration here and are currently in the final stages of developing our own Internet Kiosk that will be available to guests in the not to distant future. In the interim however, our friendly reception staff are only too happy to assist with online check in's and boarding pass retrieval if required

c) Day Trip & Camping Guests - The Resort has strict policies on all Day Trip and camping guests which & we can assure you they are not permitted in the Resort pool. If our guests have any concerns or queries with regard to this we are only too happy to assist and rectify immediately if raised with our Front Office supervisors or management whilst the matter is occurring.

enjojo, we do hope you return to Fitzroy Island in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Fitzroy Island Resort makes for a very enjoyable getaway to this picturesque tropical island nestled between Cairns and the Great Barrier Reef. It is a great place to relax and take in the tropical atmosphere by the crystal clear waters of the Pacific. The resort restaurant serves great meals with ocean views. Snorkeling from the coral covered beach gives you a taste of what the Great Barrier Reef has to offer. There are also a handful of walks through the national park to the lighthouse, secret garden, and mountain summit.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoritzKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear MoritzKR,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Fitzroy Island Resort.

We are delighted you enjoyed you time at the property and agree - the islands location on the Great Barrier Reef truly is paradise.

We look forwarding to welcoming you back in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
24.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
15.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
14.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
13.8 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range: $98 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing