We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fitzroy Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Green Island Resort(Green Island)
$371
$355
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$321
$176
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$148
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$163
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$153
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$98
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$109
$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$144
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveler rating
447
505
267
108
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
505
267
108
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean suitedive shopgeneral storeglass bottom boatmain restaurantpool barstinger suitsday trippersouter reefferry rideturtle sanctuarysnorkel gearfast catsecret gardenmain beachpub foodsea turtles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,065 - 1,070 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were travelling from the U.S. and decided that the Great Barrier Reef was a must stop on our trip. After literally hours of research, I settled on Fitzroy Island, where we stayed for four nights. Just the idea of staying on a "private island" near the reef was too exciting. After checking Lizard Island and its $7,000 price tag for 3 nights, the $900 we spent for a ocean suite was a steal. The room was big, bright and comfortable with a nicely appointment kitchen (full-size fridge, oven, stove top, dishwasher), small dining area, comfy living room area, a separate bedroom and more than adequate bathroom. Our favorite spot? The balcony overlooking the foliage and ocean beyond.

We did the glass bottom boat ride and the dive center set us up with a day trip for snorkeling to the outer reef, which was a lot of fun. One day, we walked to Nudey beach and for the first little while had the whole beach to ourselves -- what a beautiful, magical spot. The water wasn't as clear as I thought it would be, but still very lovely to swim. Another day we made the walk to the lighthouse. This walk was a bit harder than I thought it would be with VERY steep hills, but it was so worth it to see the view from the lighthouse. Again, we were the only ones up there at the time and it seemed as if we were the only two people in the world. Very peaceful, beautiful.

The only slight hiccup was finding the ferry to the island when we first arrived in Cairns. They had changed the location of the slip and the directions were not clear at all. luckily, I bumped into a woman who called the island to get more instructions. I understand the reviews that say that it is "good" but could be "great." However, compared to its outrageously pricey competition, good was more than fine with us.

Room Tip: Ocean suites are the way to go. Floors 2 and 3 are the best.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Frances D,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and agree that the property is fantastic value for money.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My sister and I have just come back from a wonderful 3 days/2 nights on Fitzroy Island, just 45 minutes by ferry from Cairns. We stayed in an Ocean Suite at the only resort on the island, Fitzroy Island Resort. The second floor suite was more than adequate, with a small kitchen, which was fully self contained, a washing machine and dryer and a great balcony overlooking the ocean. Perfect for sharing a cold wine as the sun went down. The swimming pool was great, as was the ocean swimming, snorkeling, kayaking and glass bottom boat.
We were very impressed by the meals at Zephyr and Foxys Bar/ restaurant. Great prices for food and alcohol.
The staff were also excellent.
We definately recommend this Resort.

Room Tip: Specify a room with unrestricted ocean views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walker097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear walker097,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your experience at Fitzroy Island Resort.

We agree with you - the rooms, facilities and activities at the property are of a very high standard and our staff work hard to ensure all of our guests have a truly memorable experience. It is great to hear the hard work and effort has really made your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to island in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

A last minute weekend getaway turned out to be absolutely spectacular..
The Resort was superb, the staff, cleanliness, layout, facilities, all top notch. A few hiccups with inexperience with some staff but overall a very pleasant stay. We did heaps of snorkelling and were very surprised at the amount of corals and fish on the southern end of the beach. We saw painted crayfish, at least 6 turtles over the 2 days, many species of fish and clams.. We also conquered the summit..some advice is sunscreen and water and good shoes..It took us a good 3 hours or so and it was really hot work..But the views were amazing. And felt like i had really acheived something when we fell into the ocean when we came back down..
Foxys bar was a welcome retreat after that hot walk, food was good value and the beer was cold... Heaps of other activities to do, but the snorkelling was so great, we didnt even swim in the pool..

Room Tip: We booked rather late and got a room at the far end of the complex, lots of walking and some stairs involved.. The beach front cabins look awesome...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cnsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Cnsgirl,

Thanks for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time here at the resort and congratulate you on conquering the Islands Summit walk.

We do hope we have the pleasure of seeing you back in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

There is a lot more to do on Fitzroy than Green Island. The island has lots of water activities. On the island you can do some serious walking if you're into that. Walking to the lighthouse is very steep and the trek to the summit is steep step-like rocks. It's a good walk. The water activities are almost endless, trampoline, kayaking, surf board paddling, glass bottom boat, snorkeling, lots. There is a small general store but typical tourist type stuff. If you go for the day, pack a good lunch and lots of water. They do have outdoor showers on the beach. Loads of fun for the family. Don't expect really good service though. They do fail there, but the rest should make up for it.

Room Tip: It's hard to say what to ask for. Our room was great but was the furtherest away from everything, the restaurants, reception, everything. Very nice room though, looked new.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texasbella2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear TexasBella1,

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay at Fitzroy Island Resort. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here and in particular, the many walks and activities on offer that are suitable for the whole family.

I was concerned to hear you found our staffs’ service lacking as this is definitely not the normal feedback the team receive. If you could drop me an email (I have messaged you my email address) and highlight any specifics it would be greatly appreciated so I can follow up accordingly.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in future?

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in November and were really pleasantly surprised. We don't normally stay at resorts but thought this was our best option. There are some great walks to do around the island, the beach is amazing to swim in. We hired stinger suits and snorkelling gear from the shop, at a reasonable price, and the reef was right off the shore. We also organised a trip out to the reef through the dive shop and it was really well priced. Foxy's has pretty standard pub grub and the service wasn't great. The cocktails were good though. We had brekky in the restaurant and that was great. You can charge most things around the island to your room so no need for too much cash which is very handy. The shop is small but has essentials.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_Alex_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Laura_Alex_W,

Thank you for your review. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Fitzroy Island Resort and made the most of all the facilities and activities on offer.

We look forward to having you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews