We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing day trip to this island resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Reviewed October 5, 2012

day trip over from cairns. while the resort looked clean and well presented - the island shop shelves were desserted, the vending machine was broken, most of the games were broken with out of order signs on them - and the staff in the restaurant were cold and abrupt. The take away coffee in the afternoon from the bar (the only thing on the island open at 2pm) cost $5 and the cup was wiped with the dirty washcloth used to wipe the coffee machine! I wouldnt return in a hurry.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we will certainly be looking into all aspects of them and can confirm that the games have been fixed and where only out of order for a limited time as the contractor who supplies and maintains them has to travel from Cairns. We do endeavour to have all facilities in all areas working all the time however sometimes our location can unfortunately result in delays sometimes in accessing workman,specialists and or materials. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We just came home from 6 nights on Fitzroy Island. We had a fantastic time, and considering I had a tummy bug almost the entire time, that's saying something! The island is easy to get to and from. All the staff we dealt with were fantastic, especially Sam and Becca! We received an upgrade on arrival to a room with a kitchenette and balcony, which was beautiful! The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. It was excellent value for the quality considering it is in Australia.
The food selection from Foxy's bar is somewhat limited, but everything we ate was delicious, and not really overpriced in our opinion. We ate at Zephyr twice, and both times the meals were very good. We also took our own breakfast and food to make sandwiches which was very convenient. We ate the breakfast once also which was good.
The snorkeling was fantastic! We saw a wide variety of fish and coral, a sea turtle and rays. The trampoline is lots of fun, (even for 28 year olds.) The beaches are very beautiful, especially Nudey beach, which is worth the short walk. Yes there is a lot of large coral on the beaches, some beaches are entirely coral, but it isn't able to cut you, its just a bit uncomfortable to lay on. I guess that's the trade off for the snorkeling!
There were a lot of day trippers during the day but it was never crowded and that was during school holidays. I also didn't see or hear anyone partying. It was quiet at night and we were very close to the main building. I think the majority of people staying there when we were there were families or couples, not younger party animals as there isn't really anywhere to party.
The only thing I think would be nice would be if the louvre windows in the rooms has flyscreens so that you could open them at night without fear of being eaten by mozzies.
All in all, we had a very relaxing holiday in the sun. Thanks Fitzroy Island!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c_the_bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments and very pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed last weekend at Fitzroy Island resort. While the room was lovely, very well appointed and large, there was a terrible musty smell. I dread to think what it will be like during the wet season. The resort was absolutely full as it was a long weekend so there was no chance of getting a change of room. Another complaint would be the check in desk - it is way too small! The food was very ordinary and the service at Foxy's was excruciatingly slowwwwwwwwwwww, As stated before it was a long weekend and the resort was fully booked - but they only had 2 people on the bar, one to make coffees the other to make cocktails, you can only imagine how long everything took.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catslave5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback, being in the tropics and at the foot of a rainforest some mustiness does resinate within the area however we do have a a very strict program for maintaining our rooms and ensuring a suitable standard. We are always reviewing all and any procedures to ensure we enhance our guest experience and will certainly utilise your comments in that process.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

apart from the crap overpriced food - up hear i expect decent fish from an island on the barrier reef, the crap overpriced accomodation with tiny rooms (ours had no patio, a horrid mattress, and bathroom doors that wouldnt shut) not one comfy seat, i got breakfast twice, the first time it was not hot and bland and my 11 year old daughter cooks better, the 2nd day there were flies everywhere and all over the pastries breads and meat. At foxy's the bar staff didnt have a clue what they doing - i got 3 cocktails (cost of $54) and only one of them was half decent, behind the bar was FILTHY, i got given a drink with some kind of food stuck on it, the kitchen was no better, my husband pulled 2 flies out of the salad and you could see a swarm of them above the table, we had to clean our cutlery because it was far from clean. WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN - AND IM A LOCAL. the one good thing about the island was the views, it was very pretty and i enjoyed snorkelling

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, we are obviously quite concerned about the specific comments you have made regarding your visit as they are certainly not in line with our standards of service and operations nor the positive feedback we receive from the great majority of our guests, as highlighted in the many comments on this site alone. The Resort is actually one of the most inexpensive destinations of it's kind within the region particularly given the level of it's accommodation and facilities. We do offer a range of accommodation and guests should consider this when making bookings as to what may suite their needs best, all of those details are on our website and of course our staff will best describe your options if you are booking direct. We take great pride in our service and product and if at any time we may not deliver in any way to our guests we much prefer any issues raised direct with us whilst the guest is on island so we can assess, rectify and ensure our guests receive the positive experience we have become so well known for. We will certainly be investigating these comments however as mentioned would urge any guest that should they ever have an issue they raise any concerns during their stay as committed and sincere management of any such property so greatly appreciates any and all feedback as it is such an important guide in fine tuning operations and facilities in a direction that enhances the guest experience not diminish it. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our family of 4 booked for 5 nights in Fitzroy Island mid September. I'm not sure if it was due to the fact that we arrived on the weekend or whether it was due to school holidays but this resort was like the Aussie version of Ibiza! Bogans drinking, smoking, flirting & partying! I would have loved this place if I was 19 but it didnt quite suit our small family. We cut our stay short to 3 nights which was plenty. The resort itself has so much potential but needs some work - the grounds could do with a big clean up - we found beer bottles, glasses, old thongs, cigarette butts & even a small zip lock bag full of weed - not ideal!
Rooms were quite nice & we found most of the staff pleasant.
Snorkeling was great & the island itself quite pretty.
I'm pretty sure that we won't return - there are much nicer islands in FNQ to visit for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback, we are of course disappointed with regards to your experience and somewhat surprised given the Resort has very strict no party policies within the Resort boundaries itself and does not tolerate any unruly behaviour in any sense of the word. We heavily promote the Resort as a relaxed and friendly environment that does not encourage any behaviour that may impact on fellow guests in a negative or disruptive manner. We of course can only police those areas of the Resort that come under our own jurisdiction and guests who may be day trippers arriving from other ferry companies or on their own boats using the beaches or other areas of the Island are somewhat out of our control despite all our efforts to maintain a relaxing environment. In saying that we rarely have any issues or comments reflecting those you have detailed. Weekends are very busy periods however if any such behaviour is brought to our attention we act upon that swiftly and without hesitation. Again thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent an overnight here and if timing things right getting a 7am one hour boat trip from Cairns there and then leaving the next day at 5PM you do get a feel of a getaway. We were on a 21 day on-the-move first time visit to Australia so we were trying to get a taste of everything.

Our room was nicew enough and the rates good. It was the island that made all so perfect. We love snorkeling. FYI, it's tough to get out of the water at low tide. Believe me. Get into the water once high tide is starting and stay while it's still slack. As soon as it starts lowering, gety out! It;s a good idea to have the dive teem take you top good snorkeling places if you happen to be there at a low tide stay.

The snoreking at the ricks to the south is excellent. swimm around them to the more open areas. Lot's of sea turtles when we were there in August.

Also, there's not a lot of beach at high tide. No worries though. This is not a crowded place and there's always room somewhere. If you want a rally fine beach take a walk to Nudie Beach (everyone was clothed) that's a half hour hike away. there are no facilities so be prepared and bring water and snacks. This is an INCREDIBLY beautiful beach. AWESOME! with a lovely and peacful background too.

The place has a couple of restaurants. We enjoyed the open buffet that was reasonable and they featured live entertainment. They do have a jump thing out in the water for kids to play on and other water sports available. The guy in the dive shop was very friendly and helped my wife out with a wet suit and fixed up her goggles when she ran into trouble.

There's a pool that has a limited amount of chairs but it is clean and refreshing and the pool bar helps too.

If we had time I would have loved to have stayed at this VERY laid back resort for a few days. There were a few trails I would have liked to have explored but sometimes you can't do everything.

.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popsrocks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback and hope you can visit again and spend more time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Really great spot and it's definatley worth staying overnight as the rooms are great (we stayed in an ocean suite) an then you get useof the nice pool and bar. The summit walk is tough in midday heat!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mcdonald11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRNFIR69, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
13.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
13.8 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#5 of 63 in Cairns
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
633 reviews
22.8 mi away
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
1,170 reviews
11.9 mi away
Green Island Resort
Green Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Green Island
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range: $90 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing