We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of heaven on earth.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bedarra Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Bedarra Island Retreat
Los Angeles, California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A taste of heaven on earth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

My husband and I have had the ultimate pleasure of holidaying at East Badara Island Retreat, it exceeded our highest expectations . We were totally blown away by the beauty and reality of this location especially that wonderful freedom to wake up at anytime day or night. We would have a champagne breakfast, then we would have a refreshing swim, snorkel and kayak over to another Island then back to the beach hut for our seafood lunch and snooze... what a great feeling it was to have such an amazing place like this all to ourselves with no one to bother us, we’ve never experienced such privacy in any of our other holidays. From our bed in our villa we could see right across to all the magnificent Islands and Australia... we have soo many beautiful photos, sunsets felt like we were living in a fairytale and we spent most evenings laying on the beautiful love chair gazing at the stars, listening to the ocean under our deck and sipping on more champagne.. wow ...absolutely breathtaking and very romantic.
With my husband coming from Italy and family in the USA, we travel lots and have spent most of our summers on the island of Capri, Italy. Badarra Island however has definitely blown us away surpassed Capri and now become our favourite holiday destination on this planet.

We have promised ourselves to return every year and bring more champagne with us.

Tony and Linda Orlandi

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaorlandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

On our 5th anniversary we decided to try something different, after always holidaying at Monkey Mia & came across Bedarra Island. We like outdoor, natural settings & hate to be in a hotel surrounded by other people & "staged" environments. We found the island to be magical & were delighted that at high tide we were able to sit on the deck & dangle our feet in the magnificent ocean whilst looking onto the mainland. We enjoyed outdoor showers, gorgeous sunsets & an open fire on the deck at night where we could sit & talk & have a cocktail in the evenings.The gourmet catering was the best we have encountered & we ordered exotic fruit & fish & lots of bubbly & just ate as we pleased! No conforming to daily buffet schedules which make you feel like being on a cheap cruise. There was no-one to bother us & the views from the Princess Villa across to the twinkling lights of the mainland made us feel like we had truely escaped. The activities were just what we needed to balance the relaxation & romance with the feeling of adventure- kayaking, long exploring walks, fishing, snorkling & swimming. Totally a holiday with a difference, really being one with nature & knowing the feeling of the illusive dream of being "stranded on a beautiful island".

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank thepea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

My partner and I have travelled the world including The Maldives, Seychelles and Santorini and I would rate East Bedarra among the best we have stayed in and I would even go as far as to compare it very much to Bora Bora where we stayed right on the lagoon.
When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely couple with a chilled bottle of french champagne who gave us a tour of the retreat which included a explantation on how the solar power works, so I am quite amazed at the previous review with their statement about a flaky generator running the power.
Being a nature lover we found the location a tropical paradise with lots of beautiful butterflies and birds and in the evening while Alan and I were enjoying our sunset drinks on the deck we were visited by Tom the Turtle as we affectionly named him and this became a nightly ritual.
We stayed in the princess villa and we found this to be spotless the sheets were even ironed which I would not have expected from being on an island. It was so beautiful to wake up each morning and to gaze out over the pacific ocean without even lifting our heads off the pillow, it was like living in a postcard. While we booked the princess villa the beach bungalow was used for all our cooking and we decided to sleep in the beach bunglow for one night to have the complete experience, the bungalow is open and this makes for the perfect beach house and we are always in search of the perfect island holiday and we have found this at Bedarra.
We plan to be back at the same time next year to visit Tom the Turtle and all the beautiful nature that surrounds this idyllic location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annebarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We have recently been to East Bedarra for our honeymoon and were so pleased we chose the Retreat. We had a mixed bag of weather, but rain or shine East Bedarra is the perfect place to get away and be together, especially after such a busy time leading up to our wedding.
We chose East Bedarra Retreat so that we could have privacy, self cater and enjoy nature. We weren't disappointed on all three counts, and we really appreciated having caretakers on the island "just in case". We were given a wonderful welcome then left to enjoy our selves and our privacy. There were other properties on the island, howevever we hardly saw another soul. With two main beaches to choose from we had plenty of places to hide away for some all over tanning!
One of the reasons we chose this property for our honeymoon was the eco friendly nature of the retreat. The property is run on solar power, and we were always mindful of the need to conserve power usage but there were so many candles to make our evenings romantic - who needs lights!
The property was beautifully presented and we loved the tropical flowers adorning the beds and tables. There weren't any activities so to speak althoughwe enjoyed the use of the kayak and when it rained there were dvds to watch and board games to play. Oh, did I mention we were on our honeymoon!
If you are after a secluded and beautiful place to spend your honeymoon then consider East Bedarra Island. We will go back one day!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tondelayo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Located right on the water, this place has a mesmerising view - but for $900 per night this doesn't live up to it's promises and is poor value.

The website promises isolation & privacy - as there are other holiday rentals nearby, there's no guarantee for privacy. Cleaning and presentation standard needs to be lifted e.g. on our arrival an eating table was covered with crumbs & ants, bed sheets were crumpled and cobwebs and dust evident. The kitchen can't be closed up and the wildlife gets free range of the kitchen at night - a bit like camping!

Our experience with self catered properties at this price level is that basic provisions like salt & pepper are provided. When planning our grocery rovisions, we were advised that there was no guarantee that such items would be available - depending on what previous guests left behind. So we ordered these basic items....only to discover that there was plenty plus so much more!

If you're bug and/or lizard phobic, we strongly recommend you upgrade to the princess villa - while a bit noisy from the tide hitting the rocks underneath - it was reasonably bug and lizard free in comparison to the beach hut.

Oh and eco-tourism rules - minimise your energy use or the whole place blacks out. Our caretakers were very focussed on our energy consumption.

Enough said - great potential if they get their act together.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RnR_Report
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

This was a fantastic spot for our honeymoon. It is set in a truly beautiful part of Australia and has everyting you need and more. Most of all a private and romatic spot to truly relax.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseKununurra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

This place has to be one of the most magical places on planet earth. Romantic and
pure, mother nature embraces you in a way that make you feel whole again.
One week at this amazing home on Bedarra Island and I feel like I have had a month away.
Love you East Bedarra. xx

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarmaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedarra Island
12.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
9.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 25 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
8.3 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bedarra Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bedarra Island Retreat

Property: East Bedarra Island Retreat
Address: Lot 6, Bedarra Island, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedarra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — East Bedarra Island Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private, luxury villa accommodation for couples is set on one of Australia's most coveted waterfront locations on the Great Barrier Reef making it one of the best honeymoon destinations in Australia. Escape to a tropical island, where rainforest meets reef and blue oceans caress unspoiled beaches. A private retreat and luxurious oasis, where love and romance are a celebration and nature is your host. Whether it's just the two of you barefoot on the beach, or an intimate gathering, Bedarra Island is the perfect island wedding location to exchange your vows. Large wedding receptions of 200 guests can be accommodated on nearby Mission Beach, leaving the newlyweds to enjoy a private island honeymoon.May through October is known as the dry season in Australia’s tropics, with perfect temperatures (20°C/68°F) and clear blue skies. So if you’re feeling the winter blues, escape to the East Bedarra Island for a romantic winter getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Hotel Bedarra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing