We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing destination! Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Bedarra Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East Bedarra Island Retreat
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing destination! Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The best holiday my partner and I have ever had - the scenery is breathtaking. The perfect location for a quiet getaway, honeymoon, romantic retreat, or just to rejuvenate the soul surrounded by nature at its finest. We spent 5 nights at East Bedarra, and I really wished we had stayed longer. We will definitely be coming back.

No matter where you looked there was gorgeous scenery and I couldn’t stop taking photos. Even when making my morning coffee the view would take my breath away. I loved the privacy and the eco-friendly aspects of this property.

Elaine and Colin made us feel welcome and helped us with anything we could need to have an amazing stay.

We also stayed at Misty Mountains Rainforest Retreat which I would highly recommend to anyone so you get the best of both worlds! My partner and I have stayed in a lot of amazing destinations – but Misty Mountains and East Bedarra were by far the best we have experienced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah9291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    1
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked East Bedarra Island retreat based on the amazing reviews and pictures..... We were not disappointed and I can't speak highly enough of the retreat itself and the service we received from Sharon (manager) and Colin and Elaine (caretakers).

The retreat is an idyllic island paradise! The location, the views and the accommodation is like nothing we've ever experienced or thought we could find in Australia. We felt like we were in a world away which is why it is perfect for a honeymoon or romantic getaway! We kayaked, snorkelled, went for a bit walk and saw a few sea turtles! Every photo they have on the website is exactly how it is when you get there but it still takes your breath way even after looking at the photos hundreds of times before getting there!

In terms of the organisation and service you certainly get what you pay for! Sharon was amazing throughout the whole booking process answering my every question and gave us lots of great tips. If you want seafood for your holiday ask Sharon for the details of Great Barrier Reef tuna! Anthony was amazing and the seafood he provided was some of the best we've ever had and that's a big call being the seafood lovers we are!!!! The private boat charter organised though mission beach charters was also excellent Bec and Jason were so nice and accommodating! Colin an Elaine were absolutely wonderful people to meet and deal with! They were there on the beach to greet us and waved us goodbye as we left! They also gave us lots of great tips of things to do whilst we were there, which just made our honeymoon even more special!

If you are looking for the perfect honeymoon or romantic getaway to do absolutely nothing or everything you could on a tropical island paradise then make sure you make the journey to this magical place

Jamie and Nicole Hetherington

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jummi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narara, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at East Bedarra Island Retreat for a wonderful 5 night stay. It was absolute bliss, the house was luxurious set right over the beach so you listened to the waves break under the deck. Whilst there were other houses on the hill behind us it was still really secluded and private and we had the beach all to ourselves. We could do either absolutely nothing by lying on the day beds or be active by kayaking, snorkeling or exploring the walking tracks. Definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a secluded romantice break or just a complete break from the rat race.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirrilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our trip started from Melbourne. We flew into Cairns and took a hire car through the scenic sugar cane and banana tree route. Once we arrived in mission beach we took a water taxi to east bedarra island. The minute we stepped off the water taxi we could see we were in for treat at this luxurious property. The house was beautiful, kitchen great, pool wonderful, outdoor living and TV amazing. The beach was breath taking, we couldn't believe our eyes.

Colin and Elaine the caretakers made our stay even more comfortable by providing some forgotten items such as garlic!!! We loved the idea that we can wake up and have breakfast, lunch and dinner at our leisure. Ample things to keep busy including kayaking, snorkeling and exploring the island, the 5 days flew by. The weather was amazing we were there from the 17th of August. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zahra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

My now fiancé arranged a surprise holiday far far away from Berlin, Germany .
We arrived in Cairns high is where I thought we were staying, there was a limousine waiting to take us closer to the surprise destination with a boat to take us to East Bedarra Island Retreat.
When we arrived on the beach I saw a table set up with flowers and champagne where my now fiancé proposed to me at sunset. I never imagined that such a place could be found with everything you could ever dream of.
My favorite part of the retreat was to be to hang out together with so many areas to choose from all capturing the stunning views of the islands surrounding us. Sunsets each day were stunning , the salt water pool so close to our bedroom , but most favorite of all is the swinging Lounge . I loved being in a natural Unspoilt environment . As I am currently studying sustainable tourism management in Germany I really appreciated the minimal impact to the environment that will protect this beautiful paradise for our return Honeymoon .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 87sonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at East Bedarra for our honeymoon in July, 2008. The retreat has been significantly updated since then.

The caretakers were friendly, the gardens were colourful and the view was simply spectacular, especially during a sunset. The accommodation was rustic but that was part of the charm of the place.

Unfortunately, at the time of our stay a home up on the hill was being renovated so at 7am every weekday morning, we were awoken with builders walking up the paths behind the retreat and begin their drilling. This was not the relaxing lie in we were hoping for. Also, the workers ate their lunch on the beach, adjacent to the retreat as well as taking some break time there. I felt like our private hideaway was not very private during these times as the deck and pool area can be seen from the beach. We had the choice of so many islands and picked this one for the privacy and lack of interaction with other people.

Luckily we were able to have a sleep in and the beach to ourselves on the weekend.

It was not the retreat's fault that there were renovations going on but I was very annoyed that we were not informed of them prior to our arrival so we could have had the option of changing our plans. We did not get the honeymoon we dreamed of (and paid for). A suggestion is letting guests know if there is building going on near the retreat so they can make alternative arrangements if they choose to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AussieandBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful location, warm greeting, charming house, beautifully equipped we had a wonderful time there as a family with young adults (2 rooms,, one bathroom to share)
Canoe, fishing gears, nice trolls. We all loved it !
Also went to Misty mountains beautiful location !
Isabelle and Jerome, Paris,
Alix and Stefan, Melbourne

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedarra Island
12.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 3 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
9.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 25 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
8.3 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 4 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bedarra Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bedarra Island Retreat

Property: East Bedarra Island Retreat
Address: Lot 6, Bedarra Island, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedarra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — East Bedarra Island Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private, luxury villa accommodation for couples is set on one of Australia's most coveted waterfront locations on the Great Barrier Reef making it one of the best honeymoon destinations in Australia. Escape to a tropical island, where rainforest meets reef and blue oceans caress unspoiled beaches. A private retreat and luxurious oasis, where love and romance are a celebration and nature is your host. Whether it's just the two of you barefoot on the beach, or an intimate gathering, Bedarra Island is the perfect island wedding location to exchange your vows. Large wedding receptions of 200 guests can be accommodated on nearby Mission Beach, leaving the newlyweds to enjoy a private island honeymoon.May through October is known as the dry season in Australia’s tropics, with perfect temperatures (20°C/68°F) and clear blue skies. So if you’re feeling the winter blues, escape to the East Bedarra Island for a romantic winter getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
East Hotel Bedarra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing