We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly breathtaking experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Bedarra Island Retreat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly breathtaking experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My now fiancé arranged a surprise holiday far far away from Berlin, Germany .
We arrived in Cairns high is where I thought we were staying, there was a limousine waiting to take us closer to the surprise destination with a boat to take us to East Bedarra Island Retreat.
When we arrived on the beach I saw a table set up with flowers and champagne where my now fiancé proposed to me at sunset. I never imagined that such a place could be found with everything you could ever dream of.
My favorite part of the retreat was to be to hang out together with so many areas to choose from all capturing the stunning views of the islands surrounding us. Sunsets each day were stunning , the salt water pool so close to our bedroom , but most favorite of all is the swinging Lounge . I loved being in a natural Unspoilt environment . As I am currently studying sustainable tourism management in Germany I really appreciated the minimal impact to the environment that will protect this beautiful paradise for our return Honeymoon .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 87sonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    1
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at East Bedarra for our honeymoon in July, 2008. The retreat has been significantly updated since then.

The caretakers were friendly, the gardens were colourful and the view was simply spectacular, especially during a sunset. The accommodation was rustic but that was part of the charm of the place.

Unfortunately, at the time of our stay a home up on the hill was being renovated so at 7am every weekday morning, we were awoken with builders walking up the paths behind the retreat and begin their drilling. This was not the relaxing lie in we were hoping for. Also, the workers ate their lunch on the beach, adjacent to the retreat as well as taking some break time there. I felt like our private hideaway was not very private during these times as the deck and pool area can be seen from the beach. We had the choice of so many islands and picked this one for the privacy and lack of interaction with other people.

Luckily we were able to have a sleep in and the beach to ourselves on the weekend.

It was not the retreat's fault that there were renovations going on but I was very annoyed that we were not informed of them prior to our arrival so we could have had the option of changing our plans. We did not get the honeymoon we dreamed of (and paid for). A suggestion is letting guests know if there is building going on near the retreat so they can make alternative arrangements if they choose to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AussieandBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful location, warm greeting, charming house, beautifully equipped we had a wonderful time there as a family with young adults (2 rooms,, one bathroom to share)
Canoe, fishing gears, nice trolls. We all loved it !
Also went to Misty mountains beautiful location !
Isabelle and Jerome, Paris,
Alix and Stefan, Melbourne

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a wonderful way to feel a million miles away with the one you love.

The peace and tranquility of nature - turtles, night sky scattered with stars, crystal blue waters lapping up the beach, late-night swims, sunrise swims (swimming whenever you can really), island exploring, kayaking, home-cooked meals enjoyed outdoors, picnics, fishing (we caught 4 beauties), finishing that book I'd been meaning to read and most importantly just spending uninterrupted, one-on-one time with my partner!

Bedarra Island you are truly magical and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brendo5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

WOW!! Our 10 year anniversary trip was absolutely fantastic! The island was everything we imagined and more. From the fresh eggs every morning to the stunning sunsets every night, each moment was a treat to the senses. We are so glad we discovered the retreat and will definitely return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust63CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Wonderful , unique and Magic what a fantastic private paradise for our honeymoon absolutely awesome
We went swimming at night in our own natural rock pool and we held hands as we floated on our backs watching the stars and making wishes for our new married life,we paddled around the island in the afternoon and saw giant turtles, coral and lots of very colorful fish as we snorkeled along the way, in the evening we watched the spectacular sunsets from our deck perched over the sea
We enjoyed every moment of our honeymoon in our private paradise. The weather, the turtles , the coral reef, the sunsets and the stars.
There is something really magical about this place and we will be back next year to celebrate our first anniversary

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RUZ3NKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My surprise 60th with a girlfriend to really get away from it all. I have never seen a setting as tastefully done combining the beauty of nature with well thought out design taking in breathtaking views of the ocean and other islands from every room in this island villa. Our time was spent sipping French champagne, eating wonderful produce, swimming,walking and lots of catching up. The saddest time was leaving this true paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Studcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedarra Island
12.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Island Resort
Paradise Bay Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Long Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
9.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartments
Apollo Jewel Beachfront Apartmen...
#11 of 23 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
5.3 mi away
Taihoa Holiday Units
Taihoa Holiday Units
#2 of 23 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#3 of 23 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bedarra Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bedarra Island Retreat

Property: East Bedarra Island Retreat
Address: Lot 6, Bedarra Island, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedarra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — East Bedarra Island Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private, luxury villa accommodation for couples is set on one of Australia's most coveted waterfront locations on the Great Barrier Reef making it one of the best honeymoon destinations in Australia. Escape to a tropical island, where rainforest meets reef and blue oceans caress unspoiled beaches. A private retreat and luxurious oasis, where love and romance are a celebration and nature is your host. Whether it's just the two of you barefoot on the beach, or an intimate gathering, Bedarra Island is the perfect island wedding location to exchange your vows. Large wedding receptions of 200 guests can be accommodated on nearby Mission Beach, leaving the newlyweds to enjoy a private island honeymoon.May through October is known as the dry season in Australia’s tropics, with perfect temperatures (20°C/68°F) and clear blue skies. So if you’re feeling the winter blues, escape to the East Bedarra Island for a romantic winter getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Bedarra Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Bedarra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing