We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow so beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
East Bedarra Island Retreat
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Tremendous place to stay, this is the place where there are no inturuptions, peaceful surrounds, natural beauty and great to unwind from a stressful year. The dolphins and the turtles were a high light as we spent most of our day relaxing on the sunlounge with a glass of wine not to far from arms reach. The tempurature of the water was perfect for our daily swims and snorkels...you can never have too many swims.
Colin and Elaine were warm and friendly and the villa itself had everything and more to make our stay so comfortable that we didnt want to leave. We have travelled around Australia and so far this is by far our most favourite place that we have seen and can certainly recommend this to anyone wanting to just get away from it all.

Room Tip: You will love the king suite as you are only steps from the pool and beach we found it easy to fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Words can hardly describe East Bedarra Island Retreat. From the moment we arrived it was the tropical island fantasy you dream about: stepping off the boat onto the sand of a beautiful little bay, the retreat was right there at the water’s edge.

As you walk past the plunge pool that has been created by a natural boulder formation and into the fabulous large covered deck you are just mesmerised by the breathtaking views of the blue water, islands and the mainland beyond. You could feel the pent up stress begin to drain away as you are handed a glass of chilled French Champagne; thanks to the retreats onsite caretakers Elaine and Colin who were very helpful.

The retreat is tasteful and modern with water views from every room…including the bathroom. We were happy to find that the retreat is eco-friendly accredited and picked up some good tips to take home. For the first day we didn’t leave the deck and just lazed on the sunbeds and swinging seat before venturing out to discover the island.

We walked over to another stunning bay and went snorkelling around a little reef on one day and paddled around the whole island on a double paddle board on another. It was so romantic we didn’t want to leave.

Thanks Sharon for designing a very memorable holiday. It wasn't long enough and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: every room has a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We spent two weeks at East Bedarra Island Retreat and had a wonderful time.

Colin and Elaine certainly made the difference as unfortunately the weather was not the greatest. They made us feel like family and balanced privacy and assistance/involvement very well. The accommodation is great and as we love cooking it was great to organise our meals and simply enjoy the time away.

For those looking for a longer stay here (say perhaps more than three or four days) certainly consider hiring a boat from Mission Beach Boat Hire (they are great) so you can enjoy the nearby islands and perhaps do some fishing.

Our recommendation is to ensure you know the isolation and island options before you go and plan accordingly. The beach at the Retreat is not for swimming but is beautiful. The combination of cyclone debris and tidal change makes it more of a beautiful view rather than a typical tropical beach. However, there are plenty of options nearby, including only a five minute walk to a great beach and having a rental boat opens up great options and some fun.

We highly recommend East Bedarra Island Retreat as it is truly lovely but simply recommend that if you plan to stay more than a few days make sure you consider options unless you are content with staying at the Retreat.

Sharon was very helpful and runs the place like a clock however the key to success is having a good chat with Colin and Elaine should you want more than a short-term stay.

Room Tip: Hire a small boat from Mission Beach to explore the nearby islands. There are very limited walking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wingz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

After such a busy time planning for our destination wedding at Misty Mountains Rainforest Retreat, with our family and friends who travelled over from the UK , we continued to have our much needed honeymoon at East Bedarra Island Retreat.

We were not sure what to expect when we arrived but it was simply breathtaking from the start. A warm and personal welcome was given at the stunning beach from our hosts Colin and Elaine. We could not believe the colour of the ocean when we got there, it was crystal clear and picture perfect. Just a few steps from the beach we arrived into our private villa….it was even more beautiful in person than the photographs we had seen.

With a complete week of perfect weather, we had truly escaped the gloomy British summer for the beautiful North Queensland winter where the sun was shining everyday at around 27 degrees - it was true paradise.

The only thing when booking I was a little hesitant about was the self catering element, however when I spoke to Sharon she assured me that this is part of the privacy and freedom to eat when ever at any time of the day or night and she was right it was so simple and I’m pleased we did it. We would have missed out on such an amazing experience having staff and other guests around like in most hotels. The fact that we had the entire place to ourselves gave us the privacy and freedom to really relax and enjoy every moment .

The sunsets were out of this world and the stars each night gave us a romantic setting for just the two of us, we really didn’t want this honeymoon to end. I loved seeing the turtles pop their heads up, we could see them clearly from the deck throughout the day. I thoroughly recommend getting up for a sunrise paddle ski - Set you alarm!

Thank you for making our honeymoon truly unforgettable - maybe we will be back for our babymoon soon!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djl_tm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

"Absolutely Amazing" pretty much sums it up!
East Bedarra Island Retreat was a truly magical place to stay for the start of our honeymoon late April - early May earlier this year.
Picture perfect weather, fantastic views, very private, and truly relaxing.

Everyone made our honeymoon something we will never forget. From the service during booking, Sharron was so accommodating and understanding, to the water taxi personnel, and of course Colin and Elaine - the most caring and welcoming caretakers ever! Our experience would not have been the same without them.

We enjoyed relaxing on the deck, swimming in the plunge pool, walking on the beaches and exploring the different areas and wild life around our part of the island. We loved our fish bowl (ocean) off the deck and the not so recommended rock climbing over on the other side of the island.

East Bedarra is something we will always remember and of course we are going to return for an anniversary in the near future!

Thanks everyone!!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

East Bedarra Island Retreat – what an amazing, beautiful, romantic place.
We stayed here in March 2012 where my now fiancé proposed after a beautiful romantic dinner on the deck.

The retreat is very secluded and has the most stunning water views, we spent most of our time relaxing on the deck, this really is a place to unwind! There is every amenity you could possibly need and the caretakers were most welcoming and made our stay extra special.

We can attest to how much Sharon’s professionalism and accommodating nature ensured our engagement was unforgettable. After meeting with Sharon following our stay, we can see just how much love and attention to detail has gone into making this retreat truly memorable.

From initial enquires, bookings, water taxi and to the caretakers, each and every detail is dealt with the utmost professionalism and we cannot recommend East Bedarra Island enough. We cannot wait for our next stay!!

Thanks again Sharon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

For four blissful days the world simply stopped. No clocks, no phones... couldn't bring ourselves to switch on the TV. From every perspective the panoramas were breathtaking. A genuine retreat, where your time is your own, no intrusions, at high tide we literally walked into the ocean at the end of the garden path.
One complaint, however, and we are sure it's a common one... we had to leave!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedarra Island
12.6 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
160 reviews
9.3 mi away
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
19.9 mi away
Cardwell at the Beach
Cardwell at the Beach
#3 of 5 in Cardwell
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Cardwell Beachfront Motel
11.1 mi away
Sealords
Sealords
#5 of 11 in Mission Beach
90 reviews
9.9 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#2 of 22 in Mission Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Bedarra Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Bedarra Island Retreat

Address: Bedarra Island, Queensland 4852, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bedarra Island
Price Range: $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — East Bedarra Island Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private, luxury villa accommodation for couples is set on one of Australia's most coveted waterfront locations on the Great Barrier Reef making it one of the best honeymoon destinations in Australia. Escape to a tropical island, where rainforest meets reef and blue oceans caress unspoiled beaches. A private retreat and luxurious oasis, where love and romance are a celebration and nature is your host. Whether it's just the two of you barefoot on the beach, or an intimate gathering, Bedarra Island is the perfect island wedding location to exchange your vows. Large wedding receptions of 200 guests can be accommodated on nearby Mission Beach, leaving the newlyweds to enjoy a private island honeymoon.May through October is known as the dry season in Australia’s tropics, with perfect temperatures (20°C/68°F) and clear blue skies. So if you’re feeling the winter blues, escape to the East Bedarra Island for a romantic winter getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your East Bedarra Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Bedarra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing