We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedarra Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bedarra Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedarra Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedarra Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have just returned from five nights on Bedarra and already wishing we were back there! When we arrived Sam said he wanted us to feel like it was our own beach house (albeit with amazing people behind the scenes making everything appear so effortless!) and we certainly got that feeling. We chose Bedarra as the thought of barefoot luxury appealled. After a very busy year and we needed to just unwind and this was the perfect place to do it. There is very little to do on the island so you don't feel like you have to make any effort... just sleep, eat, drink, read your book and maybe sleep and eat some more...

The food was amazing and John did a fantastic job producing new and interesting meals every day. We really enjoyed talking with him about food and watching him cook in the open kitchen. All the staff we talked with were relaxed and friendly and really contributed to making our holiday so wonderful. We liked the freedom to walk up to the fridge to help ourselves to drinks or a cheese platter and we had fun making our own cocktails before dinner!

Do
... take a boat to an island with a picnic
... have the seafood dinner
... make the effort to walk to the lookouts as you will appreciate the view.

This is not the island to choose if you want to be waited on hand and foot and dress in glitz for dinner. It is the place if you want to unwind, feel special and enjoy the company of your partner

Room Tip: Rooms with terraces and day beds are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bilnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
204
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Consistent with all of the other reviews I have read, Bedarra is a unique spot to relax and do very little. It is not a place to go to if you want a plethora of activities as there isn't much to do but eat, swim, sleep and drink, but that is precisely why it is so special because it does all of those things very well and in abundance. In a world which seems to be increasingly fast paced, it is a wonderful indulgence to put the brakes on and lounge around on a huge day bed or a lonely beach and become lost in your thoughts or that long neglected book that you have been dying to finish.

There are a number of highlights but accommodation was great and the food sublime. We particularly recommend circumnavigating the island on a paddle board or kayak as there are plenty of private little beaches and coves to explore and the exercise is great for working up an appetite. Motoring over to one of the nearby islands with a pic lunch was also fantastic fun.

Hats off to the Bedarra team for recreating paradise (and a sustainable one at that) after Yasi swept through the area in 2011 and threatened to spoil it for all of us. We'll be back.

Justin and Nikki

Room Tip: Bungalow 15 was awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at Bedarra for three nights and it was sensational. The resort only caters for a limited number of guests, so you feel as if you have the island to yourself. It is luxurious but not "over the top", and sits perfectly within its naturally beautiful environment. The owners and staff are welcoming and friendly and genuinely wanted to make our stay as enjoyable as possible without fussing over us or intruding upon our privacy. Everything about Bedarra seems to be about giving guests the freedom to relax - the lack of "rules", being able to help yourself to whatever you need during the day (food, drink, sports equipment) and the hammocks and chairs strategically placed in a secluded corner of a beach or garden throughout the resort. The meals are fantastic - fresh, creative and very tasty. The individual bungalows with private decks overlooking the water are large, very private, well appointed and fully stocked. A great getaway for a few days!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights in mid November 2013, and were thoroughly looked after by the owner (Sam) and the team, including Nancy who runs the water taxi service from Mission Beach to the island. The villas were great - don't expect glass and polished steel (this is a tropical island, after all!), but certainly very comfortable and private, with lots of amenities like an all-inclusive mini bar, WiFi access, a tablet for in-room use, TV with movies, etc. But who comes to a place like Bedarra to sit in your room?

The island was very private, and because the numbers of people on the resort are kept at a minimum, you hardly run into the other guests, except for dinner time. That being said, we had an excellent time chatting with the other guests when we did bump into them - everyone seemed to be super relaxed and on 'island time'.

There are two easily accessible beaches on the island, but my recommendation is to take a boat out to one of the surrounding islands, or one of the other beaches on the island. The boats they provide are very easy to operate, and don't require much more than a little bit of common sense, and a sense of adventure. They also don't go very fast, which I found disappointing...

The food was excellent. Jimmy (the chef) did a wonderful job, and I would have to say that the food was a highlight. There is also a very well stocked self-service bar, full of beer, wine, bubbles, spirits, mixers, etc. Absolutely no complaint whatsoever here!

Overall, a wonderful experience and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

The most magnificant weekend ever! Stunning views, amazing room (The Point villa!), friendly staff and fantastic food! If I ever have a last meal, it will be the seafood platter at Bedarra - simply mindblowing. The picnic at 'our own island' was the perfect place to get engaged, followed by the most romantic dinner for 2 on the beach. Individualised attention, quality food and wine, breathtaking views! What more can I say but Magic!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantatstic, but the Point is in a class of its own. And it has its own stairs to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful little resort with first class service. Just reopened & hosted by the owner Sam & staff. Great food & rooms & everything included.
Great fun...little boats you can take to out islands, kayaks, paddle boards.
Had a wonderful poolside barbecue one night...

Only major disappointment was that we went thinking we would be close to Great Barrier Reef & some of the incredible snorkeling in the Pacific. There is nothing to see anywhere in the Family islands due to cyclone a few years ago. I think they should probably not advertise as on the Great Barrier Reef as they are miles away.
As much as we enjoyed our stay here, I would not have chosen this because we really wanted to swim on the reef.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBedarra, Owner at Bedarra Island Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hi sstj

Thank you for your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Bedarra however I apologise if you were expecting a more comprehensive diving experience.

We do not promote ourselves as a SCUBA diving location, more just a beautiful place to relax, rest and unwind. We do offer snorkelling as one of our activities to help fill in your days however we do not proclaim it to be of the same quality experienced on the outer reef.

Unfortunately the reef fringing Bedarra and the other Family Islands do not offer the bright colours or intricate coral formations that can be viewed on the outer reef, however for a recreational snorkeller the experience can be quite interesting and rewarding with an abundance of marine life to view.

We can also arrange for snorkelling charters to the outer reef for guests if requested.

As an aside, we are quite comfortable making the representation that we are on the Great Barrier Reef as it is factually correct. There are 13 individual islands in the Family Islands group to explore and each has its own fringing reef system. There is a large number of reefs fringing Bedarra (including right off the resort beaches) that all make up part of the Great Barrier Reef.

Thanks again for your comments and we are happy you enjoyed Bedarra and our level of service despite the lack of SCUBA options.

Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Bedarra is truly a special place. There's not much more I can add to the reviews already made because they all capture the spirit of the experience that Bedarra is. My wife and I stayed at Bedarra for 4 nights in October 2013 and it ticked all the boxes for us.

I'm now back in my office dealing with an endless sea of e-mail and the turquoise waters of Bedarra are a world away. Highlights for me were kayaking with the local turtles in Wedgerock Bay to chatting with other guests at an impromptu pre-dinner catch-up in the guest bar – each day was simply perfect.

To sum it up, nothing is a problem on Bedarra – If you’re thinking of booking you should do yourself a favour and do it, I'm sure you deserve everything this wonderful escape has to offer. My wife and I will be back for more good times soaking up the sun and relaxing!

Stayed 18th of October to 22nd October 2013

Room Tip: The Point villa (#1) is stunning. You will have a private staircase to the main beach and a large ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_and_Taryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedarra Island
0.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lizard Island Resort
Lizard Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Lizard Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.0 mi away
One&Only Hayman Island
One&Only Hayman Island
#1 of 1 in Hayman Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qualia Resort
Qualia Resort
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heron Island Resort
Heron Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Heron Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedarra Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Island Resort

Property: Bedarra Island Resort
Address: via Mission Beach, Bedarra Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedarra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bedarra Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst a backdrop of secluded hidden bays, majestic granite boulders, white sandy beaches, and towering coconut Bedarra Island is the ultimate definition of barefoot luxury. With just seven private villas, each with uninterrupted ocean views, this all inclusive sustainable island resort will ensure you find yourself in a sanctuary of complete solace and seclusion as you explore the tropical rainforest, beautiful beaches and fringing reefs. Our Executive Chef prepares gourmet meals daily and local produce and tropical fruits are a feature of our ever changing menu. The open terrace restaurant, bar and lounge are the heart and soul of Bedarra, where guests converge over a delicious and ever-changing menu, or to indulge at the legendary open bar. An exquisite menu is matched only by the sublime beauty of deserted beaches fringed by lush rainforest. Find your own table for two on the pool deck or terrace for an intimate dining experience or join the Long Table for a dinner party style congregation with your fellow guests and resort host.Although our ethos remains centred on relaxation, we do offer a number of less sedentary activities including kayaking, stand up paddle boards, snorkelling, fishing, tennis and self-guided interactive walks through the verdant rainforest. For the more adventurous and at an additional fee we can arrange deep sea fishing, scuba-diving, and scenic helicopter flights. We pride ourselves on offering each guest a unique experience. Whether it be a candlelit dinner for two on our private deck under the starry night, packing a gourmet hamper in your own dinghy for a romantic picnic on one of the nearby deserted islands, or booking the entire resort with a group of friends or family for a bespoke tropical island experience you will remember forever. Bedarra is situated seven kilometres off the coast of Mission Beach, Tropical North Queensland (approximately 140km south of Cairns). Scenic 35 minute heli-transfers are available from Cairns airport directly to our beachside heli-pad. Alternatively road transfers from Cairns take approximately two hours connecting with twice daily water taxi transfers from Mission Beach to Bedarra. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing