We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bedarra Island Resort Bliss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedarra Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedarra Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedarra Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bedarra Island Resort Bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We returned to Bedarra Island to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. It was our 7th visit to the Island and after the devastating cyclones we had not expected to be able to return! The experience was fantastic. With only 7 villas reopened, the resort is much smaller now and much more relaxed and intimate. Sam and Kerri-Ann have done a wonderful job in the restoration and in the improvements with regard to sustainability. We did a background tour of the solar station with Ken and were amazed at what is possible. The research has really paid off! Chef Jimmy has returned and kept us well fed and all the staff were attentive and friendly. A highlight for us was the poolside BBQ Dinner on Sunday night with all of the guests mingling and dining together on a beautiful clear night...magical to say the least!

Room Tip: Pavillions get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiebell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
204
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

With two kids at home with the grandparents, and two on the way at the end of the year (!!), we were desperately looking for the perfect island getaway babymoon. We hit the jackpot with Bedarra Island! 4 nights later and we both feel completely refreshed, rejuvenated, and relaxed. It was truly the perfect spot for us - great villa (we had #12), delicious dinners, beautiful beach - intimate and peaceful, casual yet caring. Sam had an awesome vision to re-create this island resort and he and his team have done a superb job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettskiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We travelled to Bedarra for a long weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary in August 2013. It was a perfect weekend. The resort is small - only 7 villas - so the atmosphere is relaxed and intimate. The staff are attentive, friendly and knowledgeable, but still allow you to have your own space.
The resort is understated and casual. I would recommend staying in a villa with your own pool. The main resort pool is ok, but small and overlooked by the bar and dining area. The resort has beaches on both sides of the Island, which allows you to avoid the wind, depending upon direction.
Villa 1 is supposedly the pick as it has a plunge pool and deck that appear to be cantilevered over the beach, but we stayed in villa 14 which was lovely and much more private. Villa 14 has a fantastic view, a plunge pool, daybed and was very quiet. It also has the benefit of getting sun most of the day.
The beach drop with picnic was fantastic. You can be dropped to a beach, but we borrowed a resort boat and made our way to a nearby island for a picnic lunch - we did not see another soul until we returned to the resort. The picnic packed by Jimmy was fantastic.
Swimming from the main resort beach was lovely. We saw a small turtle in the bay.
The food was lovely at the resort, delicious and different without being too showy (no soils, smears or smoke, just fantastic food). The seafood platter for two is served on the pool deck overlooking the beach, which made for a special evening.
We flew to Cairns, then transferred to the island via helicopter (Cape York Helicopters). It was a bit windy on arrival and departure but the ride was great and the pilots were very professional and reassuring.

Room Tip: Villa 1 is the favourite villa with deck and plunge pool overlooking the beach, but for privacy cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Bedarra is a beautiful island, a well set up resort with good staff, good food, good wine and a relaxed atmosphere.

We took the Oceanview Terrace room and the loungers had a prime view over the bay and beach. We were also impressed with the room itself which was better than I expected from the pictures.

Bedarra’s pricing sets itself up as competing with top international resorts, although this is a very boutique place at the moment with only 7 rooms. On occasion I wondered if they could do with an extra staff member – particularly at breakfast when we sometimes were waiting a while, but I’m sure they’ll figure the best way to work it in time. Generally the staff were very helpful, pleasant but you were also given as much of your own space as you wanted.

We got very unlucky with the weather. The hour-long boat crossing was very, very rough and one of our party was pretty sick with the boat bashing around all over the place! We understand that it isn’t usually that rough.

Sea conditions also meant that the water was a churned-up grey colour and unsuitable for swimming or other activities such as kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkelling, taking a boat to other beaches etc.

Obviously the weather/sea conditions aren’t the resort’s fault but it does play towards overall enjoyment of the experience.

But we did get to do a lot of relaxing (loungers, comfy chairs, hammocks, sofa!) and eating good food! And the sun did come out on occasion to allow for island walks, beach strolls, use of swimming pool etc!

I imagine it’s an absolutely spectacular spot when its calm and the sea is blue! It was beautiful enough as we saw it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBedarra, Owner at Bedarra Island Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Waddler

Thank you for your review and I certainly agree with your comments in relation to the boat transfer to the island. Your day of travel was without doubt the roughest day on the ocean we have experienced so far this season but hopefully those days are few and far between.....

Thank you also for your feedback in relation to breakfast service. We are continually striving to improve the Bedarra Experience and every bit of guest feedback helps us in this regard.

Due to the personalised nature of Bedarra (a maximum of only 14 guests at any time) we do only have a small but dedicated team servicing our guests. Very occasionally when all our guests arrive in the restaurant at once we have experienced slight delays, however we are adjusting our staffing levels during dining services to help counteract this situation (including adding two extra team members!).

It was a shame the weather was not as perfect as it can be at Bedarra for your stay and we understand the weather plays a large part in our guests holiday experience. We do try and provide activities such as wine or cheese tastings and cooking displays during periods of inclement weather to add to our guests enjoyment of the island, however nothing quite takes the place of sunshine, blue skies and turquoise waters!

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback, and hopefully we can welcome you back to Bedarra soon.

Regards
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our experience on Bedarra was just amazing, Bedarra is exceptional from either mode of tranfer to the island the assembled groups of people are so friendly, professional and fun. Once on the island it just gets better, the villas are modern and stylist with every convience, the privacy and relaxed nature of the island is fitting of the surroundings while at all time you have the most beautiful dinging experience, three times a day being served by the most professional staff and always in a relaxed manner. Be sure do do an island picnic, as the picnic lunch is no ordinary picnic as is the surroundings.

Room Tip: All the villas have their own special charm, size and extra features are price based which is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We re-visited Bedarra Island in August after 4 years. It's setting - in the midst of a group of largely uninhabited islands, with views as Captain Cook would have seen them, and the marine life of the Barrier Reef all around you, is world class.

The concept of "barefoot luxury" pretty much sums it up...but the new owners go further than that to make you feel relaxed - there are no signs, there are no bossy notices or lists of things you can't do that you seem to find in many hotels these days. They encourage spontaneity...if there's a boat free, just mention it to one of the fantastic staff and off you go...racquets and balls sit by the tennis court..no need to pre-book.

In your room is an espresso machine and a tablet (amongst other things), so you don't have to wait for breakfast for a great coffee and browse of the internet "papers" ..(no need to bring your laptop!).

The staff are warm, friendly, welcoming, experienced, professional but never in your face, they use abundant quantities of local fresh produce, the wine list showcases some Australian and European boutique wines and the bar is always open!

All in all, if you are looking for a relaxing, unstuffy, utterly beautiful and comfortable getaway this is it. And one last thing, compared to other islands, the prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andthenthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days on Bedarra in early August 2013 and loved every minute of it. I thought I might go stir crazy on an island for that time but it passed very quickly. The food was fantastic - Jimmy is a gem and the highlight was the spotted mackerel cooked for us by Jimmy about three hours after it had been caught. Jimmy prepared it three ways, smoked, tempura batter and herb crusted - magnificent.
My only criticism was that the plunge pool at 21 degrees was exactly that - a plunge pool. Too cold for me but some other guests were happy with it. I had visions of sitting in there with a glass of champagne but that was out of the question.
Bedarra is pretty hilly and there are limited sealed sections to run on so a basic gym with a treamill and work stations would be good, especially to work off Jimmy's magificent food.
We will certainly return but probably in October next year when the sea is a bit warmer and more conducive to swimming.
The hamper on a deserted beach on a nearby island was one of the highlights as was the general privacy with only 6-8 people staying on Bedarra.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedarra Island
0.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lizard Island Resort
Lizard Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Lizard Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.0 mi away
One&Only Hayman Island
One&Only Hayman Island
#1 of 1 in Hayman Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qualia Resort
Qualia Resort
#2 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heron Island Resort
Heron Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Heron Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedarra Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Island Resort

Property: Bedarra Island Resort
Address: via Mission Beach, Bedarra Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bedarra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bedarra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bedarra Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst a backdrop of secluded hidden bays, majestic granite boulders, white sandy beaches, and towering coconut Bedarra Island is the ultimate definition of barefoot luxury. With just seven private villas, each with uninterrupted ocean views, this all inclusive sustainable island resort will ensure you find yourself in a sanctuary of complete solace and seclusion as you explore the tropical rainforest, beautiful beaches and fringing reefs. Our Executive Chef prepares gourmet meals daily and local produce and tropical fruits are a feature of our ever changing menu. The open terrace restaurant, bar and lounge are the heart and soul of Bedarra, where guests converge over a delicious and ever-changing menu, or to indulge at the legendary open bar. An exquisite menu is matched only by the sublime beauty of deserted beaches fringed by lush rainforest. Find your own table for two on the pool deck or terrace for an intimate dining experience or join the Long Table for a dinner party style congregation with your fellow guests and resort host.Although our ethos remains centred on relaxation, we do offer a number of less sedentary activities including kayaking, stand up paddle boards, snorkelling, fishing, tennis and self-guided interactive walks through the verdant rainforest. For the more adventurous and at an additional fee we can arrange deep sea fishing, scuba-diving, and scenic helicopter flights. We pride ourselves on offering each guest a unique experience. Whether it be a candlelit dinner for two on our private deck under the starry night, packing a gourmet hamper in your own dinghy for a romantic picnic on one of the nearby deserted islands, or booking the entire resort with a group of friends or family for a bespoke tropical island experience you will remember forever. Bedarra is situated seven kilometres off the coast of Mission Beach, Tropical North Queensland (approximately 140km south of Cairns). Scenic 35 minute heli-transfers are available from Cairns airport directly to our beachside heli-pad. Alternatively road transfers from Cairns take approximately two hours connecting with twice daily water taxi transfers from Mission Beach to Bedarra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Bedarra Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing