We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One night stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House Motel
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Hillam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One night stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well located standard motel.
Very good rating based on location, a couple of hours free wi fi, a friendly welcome, and their willingness for us to leave the car parked there after checking out whilst we spent a few hours exploring before we moved on.

Room Tip: Different rooms different options. ie family rooms and more spacious doube rooms. Look round whats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappytravellerHillam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    29
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
29
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a couple of nights here in August. The couple running the hotel couldn't have been more helpful, calling ahead for us and booking an additional night at our next accommodation. Perfectly places for restaurants etc on The Strand and within easy walking distance of the Ferry port for Magnetic Island. Very clean and comfortable accommodation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifetraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We chose this motel as it was the most affordable accomodation we found right on the Strand. As it turned out it was perfectly situated, 5 minute walk to the pub, restaurants, coffee shops, ice cream shop and fish and chip outlet. Supermarket and bottle shop were also a short walk away. The room was clean and comfortable although the configuration left a little to be desired. The queen bed was right up against the wall so we had to pull it away and in doing so made the room quite small. The lack of power points in the main room was also annoying. The room was fine but you wouldn't want to spend too much time in it.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room that looks down the driveway.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank haphol-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed overnight at Beach House Motel prior to an early flight and we couldn't have been more pleased that we booked it. The staff bent over backwards for us and were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The whole place looked freshly painted, the room was very clean and smelled so fresh. We had a family room with two doubles and a single and there was plenty of space for everyone. The location is spot on, right on the beach and close to shops and restaurants. We strolled to the Aquarium via the Marina and had a lovely day. This is top class basic accommodation, and the staff really make it. Very highly recommended if you want comfort and cleanliness at a very reasonable price. Thank you!

Room Tip: I was told by another guest that upstairs rooms are quieter. We had an upstairs room but next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

I researched a lot of locations for our quick one night stay, and this was a great choice! Right on the beach, and a short walk to parks, pools, and the kids water park, as well as a great array of cafes and restaurants. We paid $130 and had a room with a queen and a double bed. The room was quite small and basic but clean, pleasant and comfortable. We all slept well, and Theresa in reception was lovely. I would highly recommend this motel.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed here for three nights Jan 2011, and were offered those at very reasonable price, compared to what we had paid at other places throughout Australia. Theresa offered us the keys to three rooms so we could pick what we wanted and all three were immaculately clean and comfortable looking. We really enjoyed our stay here as Theresa and John took a real interest in what our plans were and helped with advice on how to achieve the best at the least cost (Australia is VERY expensive just now!) . Theresa also advised on reasonably priced places to eat in the near vicinity and we ate like kings whenever we took her advice. They even helped us find and book our accommodation at our next stop in Cairns. Can only speak for ourselves, but find the previous posting very unlike the people we got to know and watched dealing with their guests daily. Have already recommended the Beach House to people we met on our travels and to friends who are heading to Oz in the next few weeks and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YelselWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were a bit put off by the shabby appearance of the motel but we wanted to be on the strand. It was a bit overpriced for the standard of room - but it was clean. Had a fabulous Thai takeaway dinner on the beach across the road, absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyce_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.0 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#12 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#6 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
1.1 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Motel

Property: The Beach House Motel
Address: 66 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach House Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Beach House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing