We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service on a saturday night, but food tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Porchetta - CLOSED

La Porchetta
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Slow service on a saturday night, but food tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not much of an atmosphere in terms of decor inside, they would benefit from a bit of a revamp by an interior designer, but the food is good. I had the veal parmiagiana with vegetables and it was a winner. Massive portion, good sauce, good veg ratio. starters of calamari was too oily for me however. It was full on a sat night but we did need to wait a long time for our food and drink after it was ordered, so be prepared for that, and obviously if time is a factor for you, you may want to go elsewhere. will go back for that veal though! yum!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bamboozla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    10
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
854 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
“Family atmosphere let down by poor attitude”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been to several La Porchetta family restauramts in Australia, usually for a family meal and chose LP I'm Townsville for an extended family meal.
The restaurant premises were clean, airy and spacious with an indoor kids area.
Initial table service was average with the young waitress doing OK until she ignored taking the order from one of our group. When our meals arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the generous servings and overall, the food quality was up to our expectations. But then came the ice cream dessert from the Kids Menu - it was going rancid and from it's texture had obviously melted and been refrozen. We spoke to the waiting staff who spoke to the kitchen but the response was a take-it-or-leave-it answer ........ " that's all there is". The serving certainly would not have passed a food inspection, but I think they totally missed the point.
We also spoke to the cashier but she couldn't care less either. In summary, good premises, reasonable service and good main course, but any good work was destroyed by staff attitude on very inexpensive and easy to fix child desserts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Visited La Porchetta for a rare dinner out with 3 small children to celebrate a birthday. It was loud, there were 2 large dead cockroaches in the disabled/babychange toilet, (which also had no seat) and a small live cockroach on the wall behind our booth, (which I had to squash in a serviette as it was freaking out my 3 year old son). Pizzas were well priced but ordinary, mains very ordinary. The only upside were the staff who were lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank haybarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Poor table service, average meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Ordering took far too long, table service for drinks was abysmal and the wait for the meal was attrocious (over an hour).
When the meals finally arrived, the waitress had to be lassooed to get our second round of drinks (in an hour and a half) and when the drinks finally arrived, all but one of us at the table had finished our meals.
Food was okay but I certainly wouldn't rave over it, taste was average until enhanced with a touch of salt and pepper but had no other spices or flavours really to speak of.

Haven't been for a while, not intending on a return any time soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good quick cheap meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you want a quick generous meal at a very reasonable price, this is the restaurant for you. We went there last Monday night after an exhausting day at work. Had a large pizza, half meat lovers & half chicken BBQ. Very generous size. My husband & I are not small eaters. Wine list was well priced. The whole meal was $50. Very reasonable. Service was quick & friendly. Have been coming to this restaurant on & off for many years & always happy with service, food & the fact that they open at 5pm is fantastic. We can basically go straight after work. They also do takeaway & I'm pretty sure they deliver.

Helpful?
Thank Carmie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Porchetta also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
Townsville, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing