We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location was Key!”

Ocean Breeze by the Strand
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Breeze by the Strand
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Location was Key!”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We flew in to Townsville to begin preparations for 10 days of sailing-- including recover from jet lag and provision our sailboat. The Ocean Breeze was exactly what we needed as we were close to the beach for relaxing and walking, close to several liquor stores, and a full-service grocery store, including bakery. Our 2 BR 2 BA apartment was equipped with a nice sized kitchen where we prepared a couple of dinners for four and had everything we needed to do so. We also had a nice size living room with a flat panel TV on the wall and a small desk where we set up our computer and had wi-fi internet access. We also had a washer/dryer, which was great as we had 4 days worth of laundry by then. Also, it was great to have medical services less than a block away, as it became necessary to see a physician for a prescription. From the apartment, we took a nice long walk from the apartments to downtown and found yet another grocery store that we also used for provisioning the boat-- it was easy to catch the local "red bus" to get back to the apartment (be sure to note the two directions, or like us you may come right back to the same spot!). The marina was also within walking distance, but we used a "maxi taxi" to transfer our provisions and luggage to the boat. The staff was great and saw to most any need we had. We would highly recommend the Ocean Breeze if you're in Townsville for one reason or another!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This is the spot! With two small kids our usual trip to visit the family in Townsville took on a whole different angle. The Ocean Breeze Apartments are serviced apartments run by some very good people. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The apartments are located just off the famous Townsville Strand, about halfway between the rock pool and town. 200 metres to great coffee shops, shopping centre and a lots of restaurants, pubs etc. The good thing is that they are just off the main drag, so was very quiet at night.
The accommodation was well maintained and very clean. Apartments had everything you could think of, and some. I cannot think of any negative points to mention - there was not one. We stayed at a similarly priced place after these guys and boy, what a difference.

Strongly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thebigcutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

I stay there for business and we have our interstate guests stay at the Ocean breeze.
Its very clean, bathrooms are spotless, security is very good, decent fridges and utensils in the rooms. Best of all a good nights sleep in the beds as they are comfortable and clean. Quite location but still with plenty of restaurants, tale aways and a well stocked super market near by.
Could be improved with breakfast packs for a quick start in the morning and perhaps the option of getting a TV dinner when arriving late, Oh and a cold beer in the fridge.
Good staff, however on one occasion there was a grumpy old bloke and his missus at the reception! but over all the staff are great, I get a call on my mobile if i am late to make sure I get the security code to get in.
I'm not easy to please and have given another "Superior Hotel" a 1 star report.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happycamper13333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My partner and I only stayed here for one night last November. We had a late arrival so the office was closed, however I had been given instructions by the staff over the phone. If you are due to arrive ouside office hours make sure you call them as they do not explain the key collecting policy on your booking. They close really early on a weekend which is annoying as there is nowhere to store your luggage, we had to pay at the Ferry terminal. We had been upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom apartment and it was suprisingly big! The apartments are equipped with everything you could possibly need and there is a supermarket about 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miss_Gorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Recently stayed here overnight whilst in Townsville for business. The studio room was clean, however a couple of gripes - one station on the tv was in black & white which was a bit annoying after a long day. The shower pressure was pretty dismal & the towels had some holes in them. Good location though - great fish n chip shop around the corner on the Esplanade.

Pity the staff couldnt be friendly either - on more than one occasion they were exceptionally rude.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed at this property for 4 nights in November. It is located on a side street just off The Strand, very good location. We had a studio which was very spacious & extremely clean. There is also a lovely pool & underground parking with lift access to all floors. The studio accommodation does not have it's own laundry facilities but there is a laundry rooms & all the bigger units have individual machines. Townsville is a very relaxing, clean city & is very much underrated in the guide books.

  • Liked — Sense of space & very well kept
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#15 of 41 in Townsville
396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze by the Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze by the Strand

Property: Ocean Breeze by the Strand
Address: 81 Mitchell Street | North Ward, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Townsville
Number of rooms: 176

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing