We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food but long wait”
Review of PePPi PePPi

PePPi PePPi
Ranked #51 of 382 Restaurants in Townsville
Price range: $4 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Italian licensed restaurant providing authentin traditional cuisine with a modern Australian twist. All our pasta, ravioli, gnocchi, pizza baces & sauces are made on the premices. Takeaway & delivery meals are also available.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited this restaurant in mid November and it was crowded with diners. As we were on a large table of diners it seemed to take a long time to have our orders taken. The bruschetta arrived fairly promptly and was delicious. However we waited for over an hour for the mains. (Some of us waited longer than others.) I ordered Chicken & Walnut Insalata and was one of the last people to receive my main meal. My meal was beautifully presented and was very flavoursome. My friend ordered a Veal Cutlet and it almost covered the plate. I feel that if the servings were a bit smaller the prices could be made more affordable and there would be less food wastage. I would recommend to diners to go earlier on the weekends so they might be able to avoid a long wait for their meals to be served.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at PePPi PePPi, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your dining experience at PePPi PePPi in November 2013. We are pleased that you had a pleasant dining experience and that your large party thoroughly enjoyed their meals. We apologise for the longer than usual wait times, as you can imagine running up to the Christmas period we tend to get very busy with large parties and unfortunately we were short on staff, however we have now rectified the areas concerned. As a large party wait times are usually extended due to getting a large quantity of meals prepared from fresh and delivered to your table at the same time, so we suggest having a few starters to share which will break up the time between courses. We do recommend booking in advance for weekends, and especially for larger parties so that we can accommodate any requirements. Thank you for joining us at PePPi PePPi and we look forward to seeing you soon!

PePPi PePPi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for PePPi PePPi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I celebrated Valentines Day with a beautiful Degustation Dinner. Each course tasted amazing with the selected matching wines, and the servings were generous and beautifully presented. The staff were very pleasant and attentive, always making sure our drinks were topped up, and dishes were cleared as soon as we were finished. It was very busy when we were there and I expected it may get fairly noisy. But it didn't, and the relaxing, romantic ambience of our evening continued undisturbed. Will definitely be back real soon, and am waiting eagerly for the next Degustation dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TBundee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at PePPi PePPi, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hello,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts on your dining experience at PePPi PePPi. We are so pleased that you and your husband had a wonderful romantic evening at PePPi PePPi on Valentines Day. Our staff pride themselves on their pleasant and observant attitude and they really enjoy providing a fine dining service for our customers. We look forward to seeing you at our next Degustation Dinner which will be organised in due course, but for now we look forward to welcoming you back to PePPi PePPi to try our full menu.

PePPi PePPi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had an absolutely amazing degustation dinner on valentines day. Every meal was superb and matched perfectly with wine. The service was fantastic, always attentive and ready to assist. We enjoyed so many of the courses that we will definitely be back to have them as mains. It was great to have fine dining without having to go into palmer street for a change. I know that this degustation dinner was a first and we implore you to keep them going, we already have a group keen to come for the same as what we got! thank you again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank personwithname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at PePPi PePPi, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback on our Valentines Day Degustation Dinner. We are glad that you enjoyed each of the courses, you will not be disappointed by our full menu that we have to offer. We have spoken with Chef Brent and he has taken on board your comments about future Degustation Dinners. We think this is a great idea and it won't be long until we hold our next evening.. Also we are going to add a Degustation Dinner as an alternative option to our menu!
We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to dine with us!

PePPi PePPi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went to Peppi Peppi for valentines day we'd never been before so I was a bit excited. We were greeted by kind staff shown to our table given a free bubbly. The starter was amazing the main was even better but the pallet cleanser was a first for us it was a taste sensation it really cleanses the pallet and of course the dessert was pretty darn delicious! The whole evening was beautiful we will be back to sample the rest of the menu.
Thank you for having us..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at PePPi PePPi, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hello Katie,

Thank you for dining with us on Valentines Day. We are delighted that we could be the first to introduce you to the Granita, a tradtional pallet cleanser. If you enjoyed our selection of courses on Valentines Day you must come back and try our full menu, you will not be disappointed! See you again soon...

PePPi PePPi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

last nights valentines day meal was fine dinning at it's best the service was absolutely fantastic.The meals were delicious and the portion size very generous, the ambiance was calm and relaxing, overall a wonderful experience will definitely be back. grazie

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brownie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Owner at PePPi PePPi, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Hi Grazie,

We are thrilled that you had a lovely evening at PePPi PePPi on Valentines Day. Our aim has always been to make our customers feel at home away from home, somewhere you can enjoy good food and good company in a relaxing environment with attentive service. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

PePPi PePPi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PePPi PePPi also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to PePPi PePPi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing